We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An AMAZING educational experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Private Tours of Washington

Private Tours of Washington
Washington DC, DC 20015
+1 202-505-1035
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our expert guides and black-car service will make you feel like a Washington insider the minute you enter your chauffeur-driven limo or an SUV. With over 50 years of combined experience, we have introduced Washington - its fascinating past and present - to hundreds of business people, diplomats, professional groups, families and students. At Private Tours of Washington we are committed to making your tour a one-of-a-kind experience, full of remarkable sights and unparalleled insights. All tours are by reservation only.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An AMAZING educational experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

With two jet-lagged children ages 5 and 8, I thought we'd be one of Bill's biggest challenges yet. This was not the case as we hit the ground running on our private tour. He designed the trip to not only intrigue and keep the little ones interested, the adults had a lesson in US history that won't be forgotten anytime soon.
With a wonderful sense of humor and adaptability to the short attention spans we were dealing with- Bill kept teaching and engaging our kids with interesting facts that they could comprehend. From the White House, the Capitol, Lincoln & Jefferson Memorials, Library of Congress, and even Thomas Jefferson's personal book collection - we had a non-stop history lesson that was for all ages.
Thank you, Bill. For sharing your incredible knowledge and for inspiring my daughter to get a book that describes each president. My husband and I feel that your time with us was our highlight of our 10 days in Washington, D.C.
I would highly recommend this to anyone interested in having a safe, comfortable and highly educational experience in our nation's capitol.
Thank you, Bill!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Owner at Private Tours of Washington, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
I could tell the minute we started planning your tour over the phone that your children would love it. There are so many inspiring things to see in Washington. One of them is Jefferson's personal collection of books in the Library of Congress. Glad to hear the experience had such a profound effect your daughter. Thanks for the great company.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An enthralling and outstanding guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

A charming, engaging and very knowledgeable guide! Bill gave us a fantastic experience. We cannot recommend him highly enough. His knowledge of the city, the sites and the history set him apart. A must do for anyone in Washington. Marcus

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Owner at Private Tours of Washington, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Marcus, I'm glad to hear you and your family enjoyed your tour of Washington. It's was an absolute pleasure meeting all of you. And thanks for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My family and I joined Bill for a tour as part of my mother's 80th birthday celebration. It was definitely the highlight of our DC visit, the combination of Bill insights and flexibility made the entire experience a real pleasure. We were able to see and learn about a number of attractions in a relative short time even though we had some physical limitations to accomodate in our group.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Owner at Private Tours of Washington, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thanks for the kind words. What an inspired way to celebrate your mother's 80th birthday. It was a privilege to be part of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“4 hour tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

OUTSTANDING! This is one of the best tours I have ever been on! Bill has quick and great communications skills and went well beyond our tour itinerary. We had a group of 4 of varying ages and interests, yet Bill managed to keep all of us interested as well as entertained. He is extremely knowledgeable about past and present Washington D.C. He even went the extra mile after our tour and took pictures of one of our relative's names at the Veteran's Memorial as we did not have time on our tour. It was very humid on the day of our tour and he and his driver always make sure that we were well hydrated and tried to keep us as cool as they could. Bill is fabulous and is well worth the tour cost. We all highly recommend Private Tours of Washington!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Owner at Private Tours of Washington, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Paula, Thanks for such a thoughtful review. It was an honor helping your relatives connect with a loved one whose name is inscribed on the Vietnam Veterans Memorial. It's such an emotional place for so many people. I'm glad I could play a small part in allowing your family to experience the memorial through pictures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour for all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

On short notice, Bill took our family reunion on a tour of D.C. He was fabulous. Everyone on the tour, regardless of age, took quite a bit away from the tour and all rated it the highlight of the weekend--even the people in the group who live in D.C.!

Bill is very knowledgable and is truly expert on D.C., US history and politics. He's got a great way about him and didn't "talk down" to anyone in the group at all.

He also gave us plenty of tips on what to do in D.C. with our remaining time there.

One other thing to consider if you have a group is that Bill is not that much more expensive than what you'd pay for a standard hop-on/hop-off bus tour, and for those you don't get to design your own itinerary nor do you have an expert guide like Bill.

This trip will be the highlight of your trip to D.C.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Owner at Private Tours of Washington, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Paul, Thanks for the opportunity to meet you and your family. Showing you Washington by night was a delight. Your son's knowledge of the presidency was amazing! I don't know what they're doing in Singapore schools, but they need to be doing it here, too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Private Tours of Washington also viewed

 

Been to Private Tours of Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Private Tours of Washington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.