We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Position perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1729 H Street N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 15%
Ranked #6 of 131 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Position perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

The rooms was great apart from a noisy air conditioner and a fire escape door that yes used occasionally and was right next to our room. The staff was helpful and the position perfect...we walked everywhere with ease. The included breakfast is a great idea however I felt it catered for sweet tastes. I appreciated the chilled water afternoon cookies and coffee on tap.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    158
    34
    7
    3
See reviews for
263
170
29
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sergeantsville, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

From the gentleman who helped get our bikes off the roof of the when we arrived to the great staff at the front desk and the help on the floors the service was wonderful. We had the "founders room" which was spectacular. And the locations was great we rode our bikes to all the sights.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We just stayed in this hotel and we were glad that we chose this place to spend our time while in the DC. It's close to everything, it's just block away to the WhiteHouse, few blocks from major tourist destinations like Dupont Circle and the Mall. It's very accessible to public transportation, few buses and subway stop in the vicinity. I feel like they just renovated the hotel, the lobby is nicely designed, perfect choice of color pallet which adds to the whole patriotic feel of the trip experience. Perfect size rooms and very clean bathrooms, the complimentary breakfast is a huge bonus as well. Check in is supposedly at 4PM but they allowed us a little earlier than that. Would definitely recommend it, 4 to 5 star experience for the price of 3 star hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

My wife and I spent a weekend visiting my daughter (who was a Senate intern), and we found this to be a great choice. Everything in the lobby, breakfast area, and room seemed clean and fairly new. It's a 5-10 min. walk to the Red or Orange/Blue lines. Plenty of places to eat within a 15 min. walk. Breakfast was more than adequate in the hotel, but they could use a little more seating at peak times. Rooms are all slightly different shapes and sizes (304 is one of the smaller ones).

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear smithatnt
Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and found the location to work out so well for you. We hope you will come see us again in the future. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This was a wonderful experience the location of this hotel was #1. Loved many things about it security elevator, staff outside building to help with taxi, etc. desk staff was wonderful. I only stay at Hampton Inn Hotel and I rate this #1 of all of them.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Geraldine F
Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Please come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We have always had good experience at Hampton Inn and this one is no exception.

It is almost like heaven arriving at this hotel, when we just had a horrible experience at the Sheraton Toronto Centre right before it (please see my other review on that hotel)

Location is fantastic. We walked every where - from the hotel to the white house, then to the WWI memorial, the lincoln memorial, then back to the Washington Monument, followed by the museums at the National Mall and the Capital state building. Even my 6 and 8 year old could handle the walk at 30+ degree celsius. It is impossible to park anywhere near these sight seeing places so having a hotel close by is a big bonus.

There is iced water and fresh fruit at the lobby all the time. Rooms are clean and modern. The bonus feature is they also have coin laundry which helped a lot when we were on the road for over two weeks. However, there is only ONE washer so it could be a fight.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would not hesitate to return myself neither

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stayed overnight from Friday to Saturday. As soon as we arrived, the valet guys quickly approached to take our bags for us. We were early, so they tagged our bags to put them aside. We wanted to explore the Smithsonian while they prepped our room.

The hotel is well decorated, looks modern. Everything was super clean. They even provide a full bteakfast in a beautiful dining area. During the day, they have complimentary fresh cookies and lemonade out. The hotel is located within walking distance to the White House. There are several excellent restaurants nearby as well.

The staff was above average. They were highly attentive and professional. The valet guys (Endale and natane?) were wonderful. They offer to flag down a cab, etc. The desk staff was also friendly and helpful. Justin? printed information about cruises for me and helped with our dinner choice. Everything ran seamlessly there. I never felt like I had to wait too long for anything. I will certainly return there and won't bother looking at other hotels the next time I'm in DC.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear avam3
Thank you for sharing such wonderful comments on our hotel and staff. It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your visit . I will be sure to share your feedback with the rest of our team. I know they will enjoy it. Thank you again and please come back to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House

Address: 1729 H Street N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 131 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.