We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located for a short trip combining business and pleasure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1729 H Street N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 15%
Ranked #7 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Well located for a short trip combining business and pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I stayed in this hotel to attend a conference close by. It is conveniently located two blocks from a metro station. The decoration is simple, yet modern, and the room was clean and spacious. The room was well lit. It had a big window, but in our case did not have a good view. I did not find the bad view to be a problem since I did not spend much time inside. The hotel offers complementary hot breakfast that was fine. It had omelets, waffles, fresh fruit, beagles, bread, etc. I did not find it particularly delicious, but it was good to start the day. The White house is just three block away, and the area is safe to walk around even at night (9:00 p.m). The only bad thing about the area is that there are not many restaurants open late, so if you are looking for dinner at 8:00 p.m you will only find a McDonalds... or you will have to walk about eight blocks east (towards Chinatown). I will recommend this hotel for those on a business trip with limited time that want to take a look at the White House and the Mall.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    180
    39
    8
    3
See reviews for
286
193
31
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

The hotel is very nice, the lobby is very modern and the staff is very friendly. Diana (the sales manager) greeted me every morning during breakfast and asked how my stay was going. Only one morning did I overhear someone say something minor was wrong and she quickly had it fixed.

Room Tip: The rooms that end in *04 are bigger rooms on the corners with double beds.
See more room tips
Green Features: They have recycle bins everywhere and do not take towels that you hang up so that you can reuse them.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I stayed here early January for a week with my family. This hotel is beautiful and worth every penny! It's a few blocks away from the White House and other monuments, which was perfect for my trip. The rooms were cozy and cleaned spotless daily. What stood out the most however, was the front desk and breakfast staff! Everyone was so friendly. My family and I fell in love with Portia at the front desk. She helped us with dinner recommendations every night, tour info, directions, cab service and she even gave my kids gummy worms once we checked in! I was blown away by how helpful and pleasant she was. I must say, if we are ever in the DC area again we will definitely stay at this Hampton Inn! And because of the wonderful service, my family and I will only stay at Hampton Inn's..PERIOD!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear ShayanaO,
Thank you for sharing such wonderful comments on our hotel and staff. It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your visit - including the Portia :) I will be sure to share your feedback with the rest of our team. I know they will enjoy it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wylie, SC, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

The service in this hotel is excellent and that includes every employee I dealt with-front desk, valet and baggage, breakfast, cleaning. The manager is doing a fantastic job. Portia at the front desk is fantastic. The value of the facilities and convenience are excellent. Great lobby and breakfast area, very clean rooms and hallways, nice amenities. Close to White House and Washington monument and metro. Many restaurants in the area. I recommend Siroc (Italian) on 15th and Blackfinns on 16th.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

The Hotel stay was very welcoming. Upon my arrival Portia & Joe greeted me with a smile and personalized attention. When traveling on business all you want to do is get to your room. They let me know where I could get something quick to eat, where everything was located, and remembered my name every time I walked past the front desk! Hotel room was very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Ebony B
We’re glad that you enjoyed the hotel, rooms and the staff! We agree that the team is absolutely superb. Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to D.C.
Jadranka Belajic
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

My experience began with a warm, sincere, look me in the eye greeting from both Joe and Portia at the front desk. There's nothing like authenticity and true caring shines through both of these terrific individuals. The hotel is really nice. Stylish and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and both ladies running the breakfast area were super professional and friendly. It was quite crowded and they handle the guests with grace and smiles. The room was comfortable and quiet despite being very close to the elevator. Every person I encountered demonstrated and "extra mile attitude" from the valet/doorman to front desk to breakfast support team to the kind, enthusiastic manager who came by to see if we needed anything. My colleague and I were overwhelmed by this unforgettable experience. The highest levels of customer care and a true WOW factor can be found at the DC White House Hampton Inn. Thank you and I will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC, United States
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Upon arrival during winter storm I was greeted by a very friendly and very helpful front desk agent. The room was very clean and well appointed. The free breakfast was better than expected and was clean and well stocked.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Walter D
Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Please come see us again soon.

Jadranka Belajic
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House

Address: 1729 H Street N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.