We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1729 H Street N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2x Points on Weekends!
Ranked #6 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Comfort and style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Amazing hotel! Fantastic design and decor combined with the comfort of accommodations and great breakfast. Location is perfect, staff friendly and helpful, especially Joe (night shift). It's a perfect stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    149
    31
    7
    2
See reviews for
251
159
28
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limeira, SP
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

The location is terrific, two blocks from White House, walking distance from the memorials of Wars and Lincoln memorial.
The room is big and very clean, the bathroom is spotless.
The staff is really friendly and helpful. The breakfast is included and very good.
There are lots of good restaurants near the hotel, the best is Café Soleil, one block from the hotel, there is too the Elephant and Castle, an english pub very nice and the food is very good.
On the evenings when we arrive from street, there is hot cider and cookies, a lovely touch in a cold day.
The only negative thing about this hotel is the heat that is very noisy, and during the nigth when the temperature drops the heat works automaticlly, is strange a new hotel has a noisy heat in the room.
I love Washington and intend return in the future and certainly I´ll stay in this hotel again
Cida

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

This is a great hotel. Nice clean rooms, good gym and small indoor pool. Great breakfast and business center. Front of hotel you do hear a lot of street noise so try to get a back room. The hotel is not very big but what a great location. It is just a few blocks from the White House. Everything is in walking distance. Pay for parking online before arriving at nearby garages. The hotel parking is very expensive.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scituate, ma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Easy walk to White House, public transportation nearby and very reasonably priced hotel. Great front desk staff. Many different places to eat for kids and adults (fast food to fine dining). Breakfast was free and good (included oatmeal with fruit, eggs, bacon and homefries).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you very much macmac,
We are grateful for your compliments toward our team and property and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Jadranka Belajic
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This is a great hotel for the price, and you can't beat the location and convenience. It's near Farragut West metro station, and within close walking distance to the White House and various other sites. And the staff, especially the evening team of Portia and Joe, are simply amazing! They are so helpful, so friendly, and made everyone so welcome! I would come back to this hotel for my next DC trip, no doubt!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We were married at the Hampton Inn/White House in January 2014. From the moment we contacted the hotel, our event went flawlessly. Diane Falco, Director of Sales, helped us with blocking of rooms, setting up for our wedding, music, and storing and receiving items for the wedding, as well as our many other needs. She and her staff assisted us with locating places to dine and socialize.

Every member of the Hampton was helpful, pleasant and very caring. The event was so much more just because of the care and effort that the hotel staff put out. We are extremely grateful for all that they did to make it such a wonderful event.

The hotel has a large lobby/eating area that is split into two areas and was easily blocked off for the wedding, creating a private setting. There are a couple of options in setting up the room, depending on the number of guests but up to 35-40 guests can probably be accommodated.

Again, we were extremely pleased from the moment we contacted the hotel until after we left. The staff is amazingly kind, caring, effective and efficient. We highly recommend this venue if you are planning on having a small wedding.

Sincerely,
Mary and Suzie from Kentucky

Green Features: Seemed very environmentally friendly, including: Education for guests on green practices ENERGY STAR kitchen appliances Staff training on green practices Energy-saving lighting controls ENERGY STAR windows ENERGY STAR guest room appliances
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you very much Suzie S!
We are honored that you chose to celebrate your wedding with us and appreciate you sharing the experience. We are delight that you enjoyed the hotel and our location. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you again and congratulations on your marriage.

Jadranka Belajic
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

What a great mid size hotel, it was very refreshing to see that a hotel can be clean and modern in this world of boring worn out hotels. The staff are just fantastic here always treating you with a smile as you come and go. The morning breakfast that is supplied is great and a fantastic start to the day. My day always started with a walk to Starbucks on the cnr a few doors down and then back to the hotel to meet the family for breakfast.
The hotel is very well located with the White House only a few blocks away and lots of small resturants and bars with in a few blocks.
One thing i really noticed was how ammaculate and clean the bathrooms were.
They have a really nice area just inside the main door where you can sit and relax but what was missing was an area where you could just sit back and enjoy a wine at the bar at the end of the day.
All in all a great place to stay and i sure would go back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House

Address: 1729 H Street N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Venere, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.