We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option for business hotel near the Whitehouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1729 H Street N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2x Points on Weekends!
Ranked #6 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good option for business hotel near the Whitehouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013


Funcional, no non sense business hotel. Free wifi, a bloc away from the Whitehouse, the Hampton Inn is everything a business traveler and tourists would need: Clean, comfortable, safe, well located near restaurants and Government buildings. The staff is efficient, helpful and kind but not overwhelming. The only downside is the lack of parking space in the hotel building. There is valet parking at $30 a day located in a building right in front of the hotel which is a bid odd considering that you have to wait about 15' for yor car the be brought from the parking space. Other than this, I would recommend this hotel.


Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    375
    121
    25
    6
    2
See reviews for
199
119
25
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

This was our first experience staying at a Hampton Inn & Suites and we were not disappointed. The hotel is located in the business district so it was quite in the evenings but the location cannot be beat. Close to a subway station and walking distance to the White House and monuments. The rooms were clean and everything was in working order. The service here was great. The complimentary breakfast was sufficient with a wide variety of hot and cold items. The WIFI worked well. Our room was facing the front street side and we did not encountered street noise. We will definitely stay here again if our travels bring us back to D.C.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

The Hampton Inn near the White House is just what the tourists ordered. It's a prime location to experience a lot of the downtown area. You're within walking distance of a lot of key monuments and great historic buildings. The staff was very friendly, polite, and accommodating! I would recommend to family and friends too.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I have stayed at this Hampton Inn twice now for business, and I love it. The staff is friendly, polite, professional, and (best of all) helpful. Its location is ideal and I have found I could walk almost everywhere I needed to go. Being able to get a quick breakfast in the morning is a great way to start the day. Both times I have stayed I have left my bag at the hotel while I completed meetings, and then returned to depart for the airport. That experience has been seamless, and having a cab waiting makes travel that much easier.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Have to say that we are having a great time. I'm not one that often writes review but I just have to about this place. We are a family of 4 and staying for a few days in that DC area. We weren't looking for an over priced room with all of the amenities but we wanted to be comfortable. Clean hotel from the rooms to the common areas even pool area is spotless. I can't say enough about the staff either so glad we pick this motel out.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Missouri
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Rooms are basic but modern and comfortable with lots of plugs and good internet. Excellent breakfast. Near lots of restaurants and within walking distance of many sights, such as the White House and Smithsonian museums. Shower and bathroom roomy. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was somewhat noisy because of street traffic but I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Request a room away from street traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Utah
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Just got back from Washington, DC and I have to say, The Hampton Inn was one of the best hotels we stayed at in a long time. Very clean, friendly staff, valet service was perfect. The beds were comfortable, room was modern and the pillows were fabulous. The price was great for the area and only a block from the Metro and a few blocks if you want to walk to the Mall and Museums. The grandson swam in the pool and the pool area had towels and was neat in appearance. We checked out the fitness area and found that to be clean also. Very impressive. Will definately stay again on our next trip!

Room Tip: We were on the fifth floor and had no noise whatsoever. Close to the elevators and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House

Address: 1729 H Street N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.