We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1729 H Street N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2x Points on Weekends!
Ranked #6 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Kansas City, Kansas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I stayed for business, at the Ronald Reagan International Trade Center. Very conveniently located near multiple metro stops. The room was an acceptable size and very clean. The staff was very helpful in identifying restaraunts and the service was excellent. The lobby was comfortable and the staff gave us internet access the afternoon after we checked out while we waited for our flight. I left my keys in the room and the staff found them for me before I left. The free breakfast in the morning was helpful as well. Stayed on the 4th floor and there was some street noise.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    377
    121
    25
    6
    2
See reviews for
199
120
25
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We chose to stay in the Hampton Inn Washington DC because of its location with respect to the White House and the museums, and we were not disappointed in our selection! It’s only a one block walk from Farragut West metro station, so it provides easy direct access from Reagan Airport in only 15 minutes. From check-in to check-out, the staff provided friendly service above and beyond expectations. The lobby is very bright and spacious with many different and intimate sitting areas, extremely comfortable and relaxing. Our room was well appointed with a large flat screen tv and an abundance of channels to watch, most of them in HD! Very comfortable beds made for a great night’s sleep after all the walking throughout downtown DC and the museums. Earlier reviews suggest higher up floors facing H street to avoid street noise and this is a good recommendation. Although we could hear traffic, we were up early so it wasn’t an issue. Each morning we were also serenaded by a street musician, playing patriotic tunes, how fitting! Breakfast included tea, coffee, juices, pastries, yogurt, breads, cereal, waffles, oatmeal, meat selection and alternating egg options each day. I skipped the scrambled eggs, a little work needs to be done on these (sorry guys). Hot apple cider and fresh baked cookies nightly made for a cozy warming up as it was a bit chilly during the initial part of our stay. Cookies go fast, so be there early if you crave one. Wired internet in the room worked great, as well the WIFI throughout the hotel. No complaints here. Pool is small, but if you want to just get wet, go for it. Kudos to Joe, the front desk manager, for being extremely professional and attentive to our needs and thank you to his entire team including: Rachel, Daphne, Alex, La Mar, La Tonya and Portia. Well done! Hope to be back in DC one day.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed here for four nights this week. We found the rooms clean and certainly spacious enough. Nice hot and cold breakfast buffet with lots of variety. Good location two blocks from the White House. 5 Star service from the staff- whether from Alex, Joe, Portia or the breakfast or front door staff-what an amazing, wonderful, helpful group of people! Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This hotel is in a great location for all the DC attractions. The front desk staff was very helpful with giving us information on public transportation & places in the area to eat. That said there are very few places to eat in the immediate area if you are looking to stay close to the hotel at night after a busy day of siteseeing, but the pizza from around the corner hit the spot and they delivered. The Rooms were very clean.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, NJ
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I found this hotel when I looked up Tripadvisor reviews and happened on a excellent rate. Perfectly located, a block away from the Metro, next to a Starbucks, and in a good neighborhood. Our room was a nice size but I noticed by the fire exit chart on the door that your mileage can vary. Windows have two shades, one for room darkening and one to allow light but give privacy. Oddly enough one of the best features was the deep window sills in the room - very convenient for everyone to have their own to put personal items, metro passes etc on. Ear plugs are thoughtfully provided in case city noise is disturbing to you. There is some nice furniture to put suitcases on - as often when we travel someone ends up with their case on the floor. Internet was fast. Breakfast was a comfortable arrangement on the lobby floor, well stocked, and well arranged for maximum seating. As stated, this is not a typical Hampton Inn, as I learned this has only been open since June. Its the newest look for Hampton, with real thought for the traveling guest. A small store is downstairs, tea, coffee, hot chocolate and newspapers are available all day. We used the valet parking, but you'll also find a parking garage is across the street and around the corner. We were pleased to hear we could load our car at checkout, and have the car returned to the garage until we left later that day. Would we stay here again? Absolutely!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear
We appreciate your enthusiasm and endorsement of our hotel. We think it’s pretty awesome too! We’re so glad to hear that you enjoyed the location and the rooms.
We hope you will come see us again in the future. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here while we toured downtown Washington DC. The hotel has valet parking ($30/night) and is a short walk from the White House. Our room had 2 queen beds and was very large and spacious for a down town hotel. The room was clean and well appointed. The front desk staff were VERY responsive, and the staff in the morning running the free breakfast were equally helpful. The free breakfast includes hot food like omelets, bacon and hash browns and a waffle maker, plus the usual cereal, oatmeal, yogurt, pastries and even fruit.

There are a number of good restaurants in walking distance.

My only complaint was that the AC was a little noisy, but this is fairly common in hotel rooms!

Room Tip: Get the highest floor you can to stay away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Julian M,
Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Please come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I booked our 3-night stay at this hotel as part of a surprise birthday trip for my boyfriend. I called the night before to ask about the area and was pleasantly surprised by Joe's willingness to assist and give great recommendations. When we arrived the next day, Joe checked us in and I complimented him on his helpful assistance the night before.

When we arrived at the room and started unpacking, my boyfriend noticed that he had left his cell phone in the taxi. Eager to begin sightseeing, we felt more than comfortable asking Joe to assist with our dilemma. We left Joe with enough cash to cover the cab fair and tip and when we returned several hours later Joe happily returned my boyfriend's cell phone.

The remainder of our stay couldn't have been better. The Hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to almost everything you would want to see and only a block away from the Metro for those attractions a little further away. The decor is clean and modern. But best of all, the full hot breakfast in the morning energized us for a full day of sightseeing and the comfortable beds eased my aching feet and refreshed me for another full day of sightseeing.

Unfortunately, we were too busy to take advantage of the pool or fitness center.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Amanda M
Thank you for sharing such wonderful comments on our hotel and staff. It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your visit - including the Joe :) I will be sure to share your feedback with the rest of our team. I know they will enjoy it. We look forward to welcoming you and boyfriend back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House

Address: 1729 H Street N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.