We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Design Hotel, Very Close to the White House” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1729 H Street N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2x Points on Weekends!
Ranked #6 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Modern Design Hotel, Very Close to the White House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Hotel has been converted from a Newspaper office building to a hotel. It has a new modern look to the lobby and rooms. Valet personnel are waiting at the door for arrivals. It is valet parking only. The parking garage across the street.
Rooms are large, we had the king size bed. The pillows were large and hypoallergenic. We were on the 11th floor overlooking the back alley and the buildings behind the hotel.
Ice machines are located on the 3 – 7 floors. 8 – 11 have to go to the other floors. Unfortunately, 6th & 7th floor ice machines were not working either!
Breakfast is the normal fair of eggs, meat, cereals, breads, Danishes, fruit, juices, teas and coffee.
Only a block away from the White House. Easy walking distance to the National Mall and Metro.
Some annoyances, cyclic buzzing sound coming from the roof. Ran the fan on the A/C continuously to drowned out the noise. Garbage truck pickup noise every morning between 4:30 – 6:30 AM.
Overall we were very pleased with the hotel and the location.

Room Tip: Floors on 3 through 7 have ice machines. Rooms in the back of the building will hear the garbage tru...
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel has recycle bins in the hallways by the elevators and separate waste baskets in the rooms to recycle.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    148
    29
    7
    2
See reviews for
240
145
27
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was a great place to stay, particularly if your goal is to use your room just as a place to sleep. The rooms are modest, but very clean and nicely decorated. We walked to all the sites easily and the front desk staff was very helpful with directions. Joe, in particular, was so professional, welcoming, friendly and helpful. A true professional and exceptional at his job. Breakfast was a nice plus. Highly recommend this hotel and will go back the next time we go to D.C.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STL
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We checked in for a recent long weekend, intent on sightseeing. We chose this hotel primarily for its location close to metro stops and it's proximity to Pennsylvania Avenue and the National Mall. We arrived by AMTRAK at Union Station, strolled over to the Red Line Metro, and in minutes were just 2 blocks from the Hampton.

Everyone on the staff was extremely friendly and helpful from check in to check out. We had a few questions and minor problems, and each was dealt with quickly and with professionalism. We loved the comfortable lobby, and it was so nice to sit there when enjoying the well presented breakfast. There's a coin op laundry area in the lower level. Easy to use, and a great convenience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Very good stay. Location was fabulous. Hotel and room was clean, price was reasonable. Complimentary breakfast option was a plus. Staff was friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay in this location our next trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I obviously booked this hotel based on location which worked out great. The staff was was very helpful. My biggest complaint would be the breakfast. For such a "premium" advertised hotel would have liked to seen a better offering. The scrambled eggs for example were not really edible and obviously not made fresh or maybe made from powder. Just would think a better menu would be in order for this higher end hotel. Great stay otherwise would recommed

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Valley, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is a great hotel for a number of reasons. It appears new and very clean and the location is about a block from the White House. The staff is exceptional. I travel a lot and the staff can make or break a stay, this staff made my stay. This will be where I stay when I travel to DC in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I will start with we left from Texas August 16th at 6:08 am had a delay in Atlanta of 3 hours arrived at the hotel around 5:30 our room was not ready. We were all tired and just wanted to unwind, they told us it would be 1 to 2 hours before we could get a room. I was upset however Diana did get us into 2 seperate rooms. The next day we went to Baltimore for the entire day arriving at around 5:30 to the hotel we had to move into another room which was fine so our family could be together. Diana went above and beyond to help us move our belongings which was great since we had a long day. Diana is a wonderful example of a hotel manager in the making. You need more people like her that go above and beyond.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House

Address: 1729 H Street N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.