We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, location and service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1729 H Street N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Weekend Getaway Package
Ranked #8 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Thousand Oaks, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great value, location and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel was perfect for our family's 4 day visit to DC. It was close to restaurants, metro stations and trolley stops. The rooms were beautiful, clean and very comfortable. Everyone at the front desk was incredibly helpful, especially Joe, who went out of his way to make sure that we had everything we needed. The free breakfast was good, and very busy, but the spacious lobby allowed enough room for everyone. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great value in DC.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    199
    43
    8
    5
See reviews for
311
212
37
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairlawn, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Hampton Inn. The price was very reasonable, even with the $30/night valet charge. The complimentary breakfast was very tasty and plentiful for a hotel breakfast. The pool is small, but it is perfect for cooling off after a long day. The bed was extremely comfortable. This hotel has fantastic decor and I found myself admiring many of the furnishings in both the lobby and our room. Even the bathroom was luxurious. The Metro is very close. We also found some great restaurants within walking distance.

Many of the previous reviews regarding both noise level & A/C issues are correct. I had requested a room on a high floor, away from the elevator. Due to a shortage of available rooms when we checked in, we were given a room on a high floor but right next to the elevator. Being on a higher floor helped because not many people were riding up that far, but when they did we could hear and feel the elevator's vibrations. Also, it seemed like the air conditioning in our room would mysteriously shut off between 2am-6am each night. No harm done though, because we both slept pretty well regardless of these issues.

Room Tip: Request a room on a high floor, away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Baltimore, MI, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I stayed here with my husband, nephew, and nieces on a recent trip to DC. We had a good experience. The hotel is within walking distance of red line and blue/orange line stops. The service was friendly, and the complimentary breakfast was perfectly fine. The swimming pool is probably the smallest I've seen in a hotel, but I didn't think that was a big deal. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This hotel was great for our recent family trip to Washington DC. Extremely close to the White House. Rooms were clean, quiet, and a nice size. Complimentary breakfast was nice to have. There is also a coin operated washer and dryer for use, which was helpful since we were traveling on to another city. My only complaint was that roll a way beds were not available, but the house keeping staff went out of their way to provide us with extra linens.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Great location. Within two blocks of the White House. New hotel. Small but nice rooms. Very small pool but refreshing after a day of touring. Very helpful staff. Would recommend this hotel. Try the BlackFinn restaurant nearby. Reasonable prices.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Awesome hotel, brand new as it opened June 01, 2013. Was previously an office building, not a hotel. Staff is awesome, especially Joe. Location is just five blocks from the mall and five blocks from DuPont Circle. Plenty of restaurants very close and Starbucks is on the corner of the same block. Breakfast is much better than most Hamptons. Valet parking is $35 per night but well worth it, especially compared to the cost of nearby hotel rates not including parking. Mixture of business and leisure customers, but about 90% tourist families with children in the Summer. We walked to Ford's theater and to Georgetown Cupcake with no issues. Cabs were also plentiful when needed for longer trips. Also close to three Metro stations. Extremely clean and nicely decorated. As with all Hampton Inns, be to breakfast by 8:00am or suffer the consequences. Highly recommend!!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Booked this hotel in feb2013 stayed for a 5 night stay in July. It was a bit of a gamble as there were no reviews when we booked. The hotel rooms are large with proper black out blinds and net blinds, the beds are really comfortable and serviced everyday. The location of the hotel has its positives and negatives, because it is so central it is great to walk everywhere, but it also has all the traffic noise including sirens at 2am. the hotel supplies earplugs! Breakfast had plenty of choice, never ran out, always had free tables and was open till 10am during the week. The swimming pool was a nice surprise but the water was very cold. The staff were very friendly, especially as Expedia booked a single king room instead of a double queen. Would we stay again? definitely.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House

Address: 1729 H Street N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.