We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and value for downtown hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1729 H Street N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2x Points on Weekends!
Ranked #6 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Gatineau, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“great location and value for downtown hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed 2 nights. Booked here expecting usual good standards of Hampton Inn, in a location easy for walking tour of DC. It far exceeded our expectations. Brand new and therefore very clean property, nicely decorated and modern. Had an issue at check in, needed 2 beds for family of 4, and room had only one. Took a little time to resolve, as hotel was quite booked, but the management did find us another room. Excellent staff, always trying to help. Room was simple and nice. Pool, yes, was very small, but adequate and refreshing after long day walking. Breakfast was usual Hampton fare - cereal, toast, yoghurt, waffles, eggs and sausage. Parking, at $30 per day is pricey, but the total daily cost is still very reasonable for this quality accomodation in this location. Definately recommend, hard to find better value in the area.

Room Tip: Booked away from elevators, they were noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    417
    139
    27
    6
    2
See reviews for
227
130
25
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

excellent location , just a couple of blocks to the White House and 2 subway stops within a short walk. good breakfast as well and newly done hotel . free wi fi also great. Staff were very courteous , informative and helped out very much .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Good customer service, decor was modern and rooms well sized. Hotel has a pool, virtually unheard of in DC for hotels, and complementary hot breakfast for guests. No in-room dining service but plenty of great restaurants and quick food joints near by. Will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaysville, Utah
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We are HiltonHonors members and stayed in this hotel 5 nights of our 2 1/2 week trip from Boston to DC. Most all hotels we stayed in were Hamptons. This one needs some work. The first issue we has was that their laundry is not finished (hotel is 2 weeks new when we stayed). We needed to wash clothes because of our long vacation.We asked if they could get permission for us to do it at another Hilton/Hampton close by. We had to walk with all our laundry to the metro plus another 2 or 3 blocks past the metro stop. When we arrived at the other hotel with our laundry we were treated very rudely at the front desk. They said it would breech the safety of their other guest. We did not back down and they finally relinquished. We had to wait in line to do our laundry and it took our whole evening. The other unsatisfactory thing is the size of the room-no chair or sofa to relax in-king room but way way too small. In the middle of the night around 2 am we would wake to a loud BANG- a garbage dumpster being dropped in the alleyway between the hotel and the building next door. Then the loud banging would occur about every two hours until 7 am.We were on the very top floor. The hotel valet out front sent us on a wild goose chase in the wrong direction, we were meeting friends and ended up walking two complete city blocks all the way around, out of our way. The front desk had no maps of the city to help us. Also the front desk clerk put us on hold for a long time while she looked up a number for us, kept getting back on the line forgetting what we had asked.The pool is about the size of a hot tub and they do not have a hot tub.The hotel does not offer in room movies other than what is on TV. On the flip side it was a very convenient location-right between two metro stops and within walking distance of the white house. there's a 711 just around the corner where you can get cheap sandwiches and snacks. The breakfast is wonderful. The art work in the hotel is amazing. The price is high for the value you receive.Of all the Hampton Inns and Hiltons we stayed at during this trip far exceeded our expectations except for this one.

Room Tip: room 1111 is extremely small. (King room) The elevator and the AC are very noisy all night as well a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Very nice hotel, friendly and helpful staff, stylish lobby area and the rooms were simplistically furnished. My stay here exceeded every expectation I had. No doubt: -the best Hampton Hotel I have ever stayed at!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganville, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Staff was great and hotel was very clean. The hotel was very nice and probably will be great when it is complete. However, we were going to use the laundry room, and there was none there. It was not completed. Also, the pool was freezing, and did not include the hot tub or spa that was advertised. The first ice machine we went to on the 7th floor was broken. The hook on the back of our door turned around so the towels fell right on the floor. The hot water handle on the sink kept coming off. Looks like the hotel was rushed to be completed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

It was a hampton. we booked on line and got a great deal to offset the parking rate. The staff was warm and friendly, however the breakfast staff on Saturday was not enough for a full hotel. Although they were extremely friendly they could not keep up with the volume. The hotel is supposedly only 1.3 miles from Holocaust museum it felt longer? Overall clean, centrally located and again a Hampton. Plan dinners ahead of time and get tickets for Holocaust museum before you go. Bring shoes to walk 5 plus miles a day! Really walked 12 miles one day!

Room Tip: Our room was on the tenth floor clean quiet even though close to elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear grlsensitiveone
Thank you so much for your honest feed back. We take these comments very positively as they enable us to make sure that we improve our service standards as per our guest's staisfaction expectations. Your experience with Hampton Inn DC-White House gives us opportunity to review our guest service standards so that we can identify the areas needing improvement.
We thank you for your business and assure you best of our services.
Jadranka Belajic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House

Address: 1729 H Street N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.