We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stylish home near the worlds political centre of gravity” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1729 H Street N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2x Points on Weekends!
Ranked #6 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Bergen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A stylish home near the worlds political centre of gravity”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Very nice hotel, friendly and helpful staff, stylish lobby area and the rooms were simplistically furnished. My stay here exceeded every expectation I had. No doubt: -the best Hampton Hotel I have ever stayed at!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    374
    121
    25
    6
    2
See reviews for
198
119
25
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morganville, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Staff was great and hotel was very clean. The hotel was very nice and probably will be great when it is complete. However, we were going to use the laundry room, and there was none there. It was not completed. Also, the pool was freezing, and did not include the hot tub or spa that was advertised. The first ice machine we went to on the 7th floor was broken. The hook on the back of our door turned around so the towels fell right on the floor. The hot water handle on the sink kept coming off. Looks like the hotel was rushed to be completed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

It was a hampton. we booked on line and got a great deal to offset the parking rate. The staff was warm and friendly, however the breakfast staff on Saturday was not enough for a full hotel. Although they were extremely friendly they could not keep up with the volume. The hotel is supposedly only 1.3 miles from Holocaust museum it felt longer? Overall clean, centrally located and again a Hampton. Plan dinners ahead of time and get tickets for Holocaust museum before you go. Bring shoes to walk 5 plus miles a day! Really walked 12 miles one day!

Room Tip: Our room was on the tenth floor clean quiet even though close to elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear grlsensitiveone
Thank you so much for your honest feed back. We take these comments very positively as they enable us to make sure that we improve our service standards as per our guest's staisfaction expectations. Your experience with Hampton Inn DC-White House gives us opportunity to review our guest service standards so that we can identify the areas needing improvement.
We thank you for your business and assure you best of our services.
Jadranka Belajic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed one night in DC and wanted to be somewhere close to all the main attractions but not overpay either. I was very pleased with the reasonable price and also that we were within walking distance to everything. Right from check-in the hotel staff was very welcoming and helpful with recommendations for restaurants. The rooms were very clean and have free wi-fi. Good complimentary breakfast in the morning. Even upon checkout the staff made recommendations on where to visit on our way out of town. Thanks to Joe and Diane at the front desk for being so helpful! We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear JenBal3,
Thank you so much for your generous review. We are delighted that you had a enjoyable stay at Hampton Inn DC-White House. We will be more than happy to have you with us again whenever you are in the area.
Kindly,
Jadranka Belajic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Va
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice, new hotel. The management needs to work on a lot of glitches if the want to keep getting good reports. Even though it is new, a lot of the glitches were from poor training and poor management. I would try it again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Annie72
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I would like to discuss your experience and hope for an opportunity to serve you again in the future. Please call me at 202-296-1006 or email me at jadranka.belajic@hilton.com. I look forward to speaking with you. Thank You,
Jadranka Belajic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Yes, we are HitlonHonors members and we do try to stay in a Hilton property hotel whenever we travel, but this hotel is to be commended to everyone for the service it provides. We checked in on June 24th for 4 nights and were given a room on the 11th floor. Within 5 minutes of being in the room, we noticed a very loud noise right outside the window. It was a large fan attached to the building next door and even with the A/C on, we felt the room would have been too noisy for us. We were given a room on the 7th floor which was not near the outside fan, and was much quieter, even though our room faced the front.
Friendly employees, decent breakfast (Starbucks right next door if you want a good cup of coffee, the coffee at the breakfast tasted watered down, not much flavor). A nice touch was the chilled drinking water and warm chocolate chip cookies at the check in desk served in the afternoon. So refreshing after a long day of sightseeing! The only (minor) complaint I have is the lack of a small refridgerator in the rooms to keep beverages cold. Otherwise, I can't find any faults with this nice hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms located in the back tend to be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This hotel is brand new. Rooms are clean and comfy. Staff is friendly and helpful. Complimentary coffee and breakfast. Location is prime. Short walk to White House and Farragut North and Farragut West metro stations. Good price. Would highly recommend and stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher level floor to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House

Address: 1729 H Street N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.