We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Fun Change of Pace” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Range

Range
5335 Wisconsin Ave, Washington DC, DC 20015
+1 202-803-8020
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Range is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #528 of 2,768 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: In 2011, after opening three well-received restaurants in Frederick, MD, celebrated Chef Bryan Voltaggio launched his first concept in the nation's capital with RANGE. This spacious 14,000 square-foot restaurant, located in the Friendship Heights neighborhood, includes over 300 seats and 9-kitchen stations, including a raw bar, salumeria, wood-fired grill, pasta station, rotisserie, and bakery. A culmination of all his experiences as a chef, Chef Bryan Voltaggio offers inventive American cuisine inspired by regional mid-Atlantic flavors and ingredients. RANGE-named after the various foods available from local ranges within the Chesapeake watershed-focuses on serving a variety of dishes from an extensive menu of nearly 100 a la carte items. RANGE also shares space with Aggio, Voltaggio's Italian restaurant-within-a-restaurant.
Worldwide Traveler
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Super Fun Change of Pace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Absolutely huge place.... very vibrant.....very loud. We enjoyed the bread basket and spreads; too die for bacon marmalade; along with the garlic sausage and pork terrain. All of these selections were delicious. We also enjoyed the pork sausage pizza, which was major spicy. We ordered sides to go for dinner later that evening: brussel sprouts and roasted potatoes, again totally delicious......and both went nicely with the bacon marmalade.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    73
    50
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“And now for something completely different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Four adults arrived promptly for a 6:45 reservation and were quickly seated at this modern, energetic, huge restaurant. Drinks soon arrived and we settled in to try to understand how the system worked. The most important thing to know is that the menu and the service requires you to share many small plates with you fellow guests. This would not be a place to go by yourself. Four seems a good number but there were much larger groups who were obviously enjoying themselves. This is also not fast food. The server was friendly, well informed about the numerous dishes available, and as fast as the kitchens allowed. Nevertheless, we did not leave the restaurant until almost 10:00. One final piece of advice - leave room for dessert. Lots to choose from and some delicious chocolate creations.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frederick, maryland
Top Contributor
400 reviews 400 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
461 helpful votes 461 helpful votes
“Superb and fun dinner experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We came here with high expectations and were not disappointed. We were with very good friends who share our adventurous spirit but we stopped short of ordering the whole rabbit, the veal heart, and the sweetbreads. What we did order was delicious - mostly small plates shared around and rounded out with some espresso and a single shared dessert. We shared scallops on the shell served with a nice garnish, skillet corn bread with a delicious bacon marmalade, yellowfin tuna crudo, liver pudding (well, two of us enjoyed this very much), little gem lettuce with a light bacon and blue cheese topping, pizza (surprisingly tasty and a perfect compliment to the other dishes), halibut over asparagus risotto, brussel sprouts (very good), baby octopus (least favorite preparation), oyster and shitake mushroom (my favorite dish). Two of us tried the vegan sacrifice cocktail - unusual and very good, but not for everyone. We had a nice white grenache with the meal.

We were in a very noisy portion of the restaurant near the entrance and the glass window facing into the mall. In an exploration of the restaurant and the multiple kitchens, dessert and coffee counters, etc., we discovered many quiet pockets, something to specifically request in future visits. We stayed for several hours and throughly enjoyed the meal - more fun that Volt!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A different Bryan experience but highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Let me start by saying I'm a HUGE fan of Bryan's so I'm biased. That being said, I enjoyed every aspect and moment of my dinner. I was a bit thrown by the fact that the resturant is in a MALL(?) next to a Cheesecake Factory. That, compared to the serene little house that is "VOLT" was an immediate contrast that caught me off guard. However, the resturant is a large space with clean lines and beautiful glass around the front. We were situated in the back (per my request) and it was cozy and quiet. The meal was small plates - perfect for sharing with my guest - and we did an all vegetarian meal. For those of you who enjoy meat - there was plenty of beef heart and lamb and other assorted fish dishes - so no worries there. We had the beet salad and their version of hummus (with chick peas and pita). Our "meal" was a ravioli altered to a non-meat pesto sauce. We had a cheese plate on a beautiful chunk of tree and finished with an array of tropical, lemon, passion fruit yummy things (per the suggestion of our waiter). While the hummus was "Ok" - everything else was a true delight. The thing that still haunts me today was the cauliflower with golden raisins and the brussel sprouts with a fish sauce and fried onions (shallots??). I could have eaten bowls of both and I will admit that neither are my favorite veggie.
The wait staff was professional, helpful and pleasant. We had several different folks bring us water, food, etc. but our main waiter (sorry, didn't catch his name) let us sit quietly for HOURS (4 to be exact) and enjoy the company, the ambiance and our wonderful selection of delightful food. Definately to and definately make reservations. It was packed when we left (on a Tuesday night!). ENJOY

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Every Bite and Sip Was Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

5 of us went and shared excellent meat and cheese boards and a host of veggie sides and pasta and meats. Everything including the cornbread with a bacon infused marmalade was very tasty. The sommelier was very knowledgeable, helpful, and not extortionist. Too boot, Range markup on wines is only about +50%. Keep in mind the place is bit noisy. The service is very attentive and friendly but still professional but not pretentious. Casual overall atmosphere for eaters.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Range also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Range? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Range, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.