We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   515 20th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20052 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very clean and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Front desk was very knowledgeable and accommodative. Our room was ready super early. The hotel is in a great location near the mall.
The room was very clean and modern. Highly recommend. Valet parking is only option but typical in DC. Free wifi is also a plus

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    54
    19
    2
    1
See reviews for
42
22
6
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, WA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed at this property before when it was a Doubletree, significant upgrades to room, service and benefits. Greeted warmly every time we came through the front door and all our needs were met. The breakfast and evening reception are great and satisfying. The room upgrades with the full kitchen are great. Two blocks to the Metro and three blocks to Whole Foods provides for easy transportation and great food shopping.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have same layout, higher rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I booked 3 rooms for our group of 7 and everyone was happy with my selection. The hotel is only 9 months old and it looks great. The hotel location is good if you like to walk. It is about a 10 minute walk to the White House and the mall. The staff was friendly. They only have valet parking and it isn't cheap. There is a Starbucks, Subway and Dunkin Donuts right outside the front door but there are not a lot of sit down restaurants close by. We walked to M Street in Georgetown and it was about a 1.5 mile walk. We did not take the Metro but it looks like it is about a 10 to 15 minute walk. I will definitely stay here again. I love staying at new hotels.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I stayed at courtyard Marriott foggy bottom for 2 days.

They were very kind enough to accommodate early check in and do late checkout for us.

This hotel has excellent location if you are visiting Smithsonian in washington DC.

Most of the memorials and museum lies within 1-2 miles walking distance.

Also there are nearby metro station which lies within .5 miles.

Ambience of the hotel was quite great and overall feel is quite comforting.

Staff is very courteous and helpful.

Definitely recommend this if you are visiting washingtion DC for its famous museums and memorials.

And don't miss "ZOO LIGHTS" as they say :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We had a great stay at the Courtyard. The service was friendly, and the concierge was very helpful and warm. Even after we checked out, the concierge made a balloon animal for my son while we were waiting for our car. The valet service was very patient and understanding. The room was very well organized.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

There was nothing all that wrong with the hotel and the location was good for what I needed to do on business, but the first morning there I had maid service and after they were gone, the library book I had brought with me was gone. I declined service the rest of the stay and notified management but the book did not turn up. Very disappointing (and expensive to buy a hardcover book from the library) so I will be looking for other accommodations on future trips to D.C. If others choose to stay here I would decline housekeeping and your stay will be fine.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I made a trip to D.C. on the spur of the moment, and called this hotel from the Reagan airport. The taxi ride to the hotel was short, around 10 minutes. I was very pleased with the cleanliness of the room. My first thought--"was this newly renovated?" There was no "hotel smell" at all. The bathroom decor was pretty. The following morning, I had breakfast downstairs. The two women running the breakfast area were so pleasant. I would definitely come back here again. This is an excellent hotel for GWU parents.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Address: 515 20th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20052
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make the most of your business or leisure trip in the nation's capital when you choose Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, one of the most innovative Foggy Bottom hotels Washington, DC has to offer. The new state-of-the-art lobby provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests and a welcoming atmosphere unique among Foggy Bottom hotels near George Washington University. At the center of it all is The Bistro, your restaurant destination for a great breakfast or drinks and dinner during the evening. You'll also enjoy inviting, flexible spaces where you can work or relax, free Wi-Fi throughout this DC Foggy Bottom hotel, and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard technology. Plus, our well-equipped fitness center and indoor pool will help you stay refreshed and energized. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, your stay at Courtyard is sure to be more comfortable, more productive and more enjoyable than at other hotels in Foggy Bottom near Metro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.