We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to GWU and the Washington Mall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   515 20th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20052 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #58 of 136 Hotels in Washington DC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Close to GWU and the Washington Mall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Excellently located hotel with reasonable sized-rooms. The hotel is small and maybe a bit cramped but the fresh interior spaces that were clean and well-appointed overshadowed the smallness of the rooms. There is a Starbuck's 100 yds from the front door and the Washington Mall starts just a short 5-10 mintute walk from the hotel. Breakfast was not great and somewhat expensive. I am not sure I spend my time or money ther if I stayed there again. For families visiting the area to see GWU, this was a great option at a reasonable price. Front desk people were helpful, but the valet was a little rude and not very responsive to getting your car.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    125
    36
    4
    3
See reviews for
92
59
21
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This Courtyard Marriott opened 7 months ago and is awesome. The location I'd perfect, within walking distance or short metro to all DC sights and in the heart of George Washington University. The rooms are perfectly designed, plenty of outlets in all the right places, free wi fi , and most rooms have balconies! The rooms are very quiet. The staff is extremely welcoming and helpful, and always available. Checking in and out a breeze. Competitive rates. This is now my #1 choice every time I return to DC.

Room Tip: Request a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Nice hotel, very clean, nice size rooms and convenient parking. It’s walking distance to GW Campus but a much longer walk to the museums and other main site seeing. No one to help with luggage, so if you have a lot, it may be a pain. The only other comment is if you looking for views of Washington outside your window, you won’t find it here. All and all it was fine for the overnight trip.

Room Tip: No one to help with luggage so if you have a lot it can be a pain. Not right in the middle of the ci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
89 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

staff was friendly, room was spacious and beautiful... very clean, new, stylish. i loved it. i drove, so being far from the metro was not an issue for me... but it should be noted there is only valet parking available. very near to the white house. wifi was free & worked great. my stay was very quiet. to me, the biggest asset of this hotel is the nice rooms.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
138 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Overall, this property was okay. Near all the monuments and white house, but a solid 10 minute walk to the nearest metro station. Bike share was right across the street. The main problem with this hotel is the inadequate use of noise proofing materials. Interior and exterior noise is excessive. The room was clean, comfortable and well appointed with free Wi-Fi. TV was too small and I found the bed to be less than ideal (although not bad). The fitness room is great but the pool is tiny. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. Overall, I guess I'd stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a newer Courtyard but still shows some signs of wear (moldy calking in the shower etc.). We had a room on the backside with a stunning view of the side wall of the dorm next door. Check-in was easy and they were able to accommodate an early check-in (9:30am). Hotel café was expensive $$$ with the dining room seemingly infested with fruit flies. Location is about 0.5 miles from Foggy Bottom Metro station and the White House. Its in a college neighborhood (George Washington University). Valet parking only.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

This is a hotel to which in will return. I felt welcomed from the time I walked in the front door. The room was not only attractive and spacious, but it had everything I needed to work- large desk with ample plug-ins, a table on wheels for more space, a TV on a swivel and a coffee maker and frig. The lobby cafe was the perfect place to carry out a salad. Everyone was helpful and friendly.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#47 of 136 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,158 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
JW Marriott Washington DC
#75 of 136 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Fog...
#39 of 136 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 520 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#27 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 789 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Address: 515 20th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20052
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 136 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make the most of your business or leisure trip in the nation's capital when you choose Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, one of the most innovative Foggy Bottom hotels Washington, DC has to offer. The new state-of-the-art lobby provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests and a welcoming atmosphere unique among Foggy Bottom hotels near George Washington University. At the center of it all is The Bistro, your restaurant destination for a great breakfast or drinks and dinner during the evening. You'll also enjoy inviting, flexible spaces where you can work or relax, free Wi-Fi throughout this DC Foggy Bottom hotel, and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard technology. Plus, our well-equipped fitness center and indoor pool will help you stay refreshed and energized. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, your stay at Courtyard is sure to be more comfortable, more productive and more enjoyable than at other hotels in Foggy Bottom near Metro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.