We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with reasonable prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   515 20th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20052 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #62 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Gatineau, QC
Level Contributor
219 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great location with reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is a brand new hotel really close to the National Mall. The prices were really reasonable considering the location. The rooms are brand new with great sound proofing. I was a bit surprise to see the Wi-Fi charges on my credit card as it wasn’t really clear those were extras. The staffs were really helpful. I would recommend this place to anyone visiting Washington that which to stay close to downtown.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    118
    36
    4
    3
See reviews for
88
56
17
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

New hotel, great location - next to Foggy Bottom. Restaurants were within walking distance - have to go to Founding Farmers on Pennsylvania Ave !! It was a bit of a haul to Jefferson Memorial or the Capitol building, but otherwise, just great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here for Memorial Day Weekend. There isn't a whole lot to do immediately around the hotel, which is good if you are looking for a peaceful hotel. It is an easy walk to the National Mall and monuments and a decent hike to two Metro stops, its a 10+ minute walk so give yourself time. The hotel itself is nice and the style is pretty typical of newer Courtyards. The service was hit or miss at the front desk. Some were great others came off a bit rude. All and all if you are looking for a bit more peaceful and quiet hotel, for a reasonable price in the city, this one is an ok bet.

Room Tip: Not a lot of great views, West rooms face directly to a brick wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed here May 11 - 18 on vacation with my wife. Asked for and got a really quiet room. It was modern, very clean and everything worked. Nice bright bathroom with excellent showerhead spray with hot water on demand and the King bed very comfortable. Staff here friendly with thanks to David and Devin at the front desk. The noisy elevator issue reported by previous visitors has been resolved. Hotel location next to The Mall, 5 blocks from the White House and about a 20 minute walk to the Kennedy Center. The Foggy Bottom subway station is a 13 minute average walk to 23rd Street. A number of restaurants located in the subway station area too. There's a Subway eatery next door, a full service Starbucks next to it and CVS drugstores nearby. The hotel does serve Starbucks coffee. Thankfully, self-serve washer and dryers are conveniently located in the hotel and free laundry soap was provided. The hotel is located in a quiet university neighbourhood with "Quiet Zone" signs everywhere. We really loved this location. Call-in handling needs improvement as friends always had trouble getting through to our room. The $36 a night valet parking is brutal but no bangs or scratches after a week of parking. A very good full breakfast for 2 cost us $23 with taxes. Happy hour needs improvement. All in all, we recommend this Marriott but just remember it's not a full service hotel. It's a Courtyard.

Room Tip: We stayed in a 6th floor inside courtyard room but because of the hotel location, we don't think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Connecticut
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

I was looking forward to the stay hopeful that the new hotel would be clean and fresh. There was a broken light fixture on the floor of the hallway in the corner, and carpet moulding not finished with rolls of it in the hallway.

In the room no coffee cups, hair on pillow and sheet, vent fan in the room had a quiet squeak, just enough to be heard when trying to sleep.

I didn't drive but kinda expensive for on site parking. No cell service in room because back side of hotel is boxed in by buildings so no signal. I had to go outside to use phone.

Overall not my best marriott stay, as a gold member I expected better.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princess Anne, Maryland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is so convenient to all DC attractions. Rooms are very clean. We were able to get a great deal via Priceline. Easy access to Metro and restaurants on I street. Only disappointment was the first day we did not get maid service and we had to call three times to get clean towels.

Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The property itself, which opened in Feb 2013, is just what you would expect of a brand new Courtyard. So no complaints about the property. The location is on the GWU campus and just a few blocks from the White House. But as some have pointed out, it isn't a neighborhood where taxis roam. Onsite parking is an outrageous $36 per night, but sadly what it costs to park at most hotels in the area.

So much for express check-in. I am a lifetime platinum member with Marriott, and check-in still took almost 30 minutes.The way the front desk clerk typed away, I thought maybe he was writing a novel. Why weren't my rooms assigned before I arrived? All it should have taken was a credit card swipe.

One night at about midnight, I received a call from a credit card scammer. Told me the hotel systems had failed and they needed to re-register all of the guests. For my inconvenience, I would receive a 25% discount. I just needed to provide my address and credit card info. I hung up, but the next day we learned several other guests were victimized by the same scammer and provided their credit card info. Why did the hotel operator allow repeated calls to guest rooms at that hour from an external caller? Was it an inside job? The front desk said simply "oh, that's a scam" and went back to what they were doing. No apology. No expression of sympathy. No curiosity about the details. It all felt very shady.

I rarely complain about service in my reviews. But this Courtyard has the worst overall service level I've ever experienced. Check-in took forever. The restaurant was slow. Housekeeping complained that "everyone wants afternoon service" to clean the rooms. Just seems like everyone hates working at this place, or they just don't care.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devin D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay with us was not all that it could have been, and apologize on behalf of our staff for your experience.

As you know, our hotel recently opened and we value your feedback and take this as an opportunity to provide additional training to our staff to ensure that all guests experience a welcoming, friendly and productive stay with us. With regards to the phone call incident, please know that it is our hotel policy to never ask for personal information over the phone, and we have taken additional steps with our phone system to prevent this from happening again. At Marriott International, our first priority has always been the safety and comfort of our guests, and we take this very seriously.

Rest assured that this is a very unusual incident, and I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you so that I can extend my regrets to you personally. I can be reached at 202-296-5700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#50 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,123 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
JW Marriott Washington DC
#77 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Fog...
#36 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 512 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
George Washington University Inn
George Washington University Inn
#24 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 616 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#29 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Address: 515 20th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20052
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make the most of your business or leisure trip in the nation's capital when you choose Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, one of the most innovative Foggy Bottom hotels Washington, DC has to offer. The new state-of-the-art lobby provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests and a welcoming atmosphere unique among Foggy Bottom hotels near George Washington University. At the center of it all is The Bistro, your restaurant destination for a great breakfast or drinks and dinner during the evening. You'll also enjoy inviting, flexible spaces where you can work or relax, free Wi-Fi throughout this DC Foggy Bottom hotel, and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard technology. Plus, our well-equipped fitness center and indoor pool will help you stay refreshed and energized. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, your stay at Courtyard is sure to be more comfortable, more productive and more enjoyable than at other hotels in Foggy Bottom near Metro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.