We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop for some refreshment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Cafe

Castle Cafe
1000 Jefferson Drive S.W., Washington DC, DC
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,129 of 2,562 Restaurants in Washington DC
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Lock Haven, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
106 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great stop for some refreshment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The day was hot and we had already been walking a lot with our three young children so the castle was a lovely reprieve! The gardens outside were beautiful and provided some great photo ops. The castle itself was beautiful. Need refreshment in the form of food? air conditioning? a place to sit down? bathroom? souvenirs? this is the place. It was very crowded. On the way out, you could view the remains of Smithson which was cool. It was a quick stop and we did not eat here. We were determined to eat in an actual restaurant and the food at the many vendors outside was much more affordable when we just needed something to hold us over.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    21
    19
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice, but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This café offers a very nice variety of good healthy food, but it is rather expensive. It was a nice surprise to be able to sit and grab a drink on such a hot day. I just think it is too expensive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Café In The Castle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We were delighted to find a lovely café in the castle building of the Smithsonian. It offers lots of healthy food options and a good selection of beverages.

My niece enjoyed a spinach salad with grilled chicken, walnuts, and dried cranberries that was excellent. My sister and I split a large sliced turkey, gouda cheese, tomato and lettuce sandwich. The price was about $9 per item and might seem high, but a percentage of the café sales go to the Smithsonian museums.

Also in this building is an Information Desk where we picked up a free small easy to carry map that showed all the Smithsonian buildings as well as all other important buildings you might want to visit on the Mall.

Be sure to stop by the gift shop in the castle across from the café and brows their beautiful offerings. Lots of interesting books are available there as well. If you are a Smithsonian Museum member, you will receive a 10% discount at the gift store.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Defiance, OH
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice place to waste time before the museums open on the mall.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We got to the mall early after riding the metro to the castle. We ate a continental breakfast here, dh had a muffin and ds and I had a banana, and I bought some gummy bears to snack on throughout the day. We were able to ask questions at the information desk and picked up a couple souvenirs at the gift shop. They had T-shirt hat combos for around $25, boy did those hats come in handy that day with the sun beating down on us. They had one exhibit in there that takes you back to when everything was solely housed in the castle which was also a nice informative time waster until 10 am.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A valuable tool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Start your visit here and your life will be so much easier. An extremely helpful venue to assist you in facilitating an most effective Washington visit.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle Cafe also viewed

 
 

Been to Castle Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.