We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Day Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DC Lofty

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added DC Lofty to your Saves list
DC Lofty
815 7th Street NE, Washington DC, DC DC 20001 (Logan Circle/ Shaw)   |  
Hotel amenities
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“4 Day Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed at the hostel for 4 nights. It has all the facilities that you would need if you were travelling a lot. There are washers and driers, a tv, free computer access, outside area to sit in and plenty of organised events. The staff were all really helpful and very friendly. It was very easy to get around and in a good location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    39
    26
    13
    8
See reviews for
4
9
40
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I booked two nights and when I arrived there was no AC in my room (as advertised as an amenity) and after traveling for over 40 hours all I wanted was a hot shower and a bed. I got the bed at least but without AC I was miserable. A few hours later the manager came in with a handy man to install an AC but it kept shorting out and the manager left for the night and left our room without AC all night. Ended up opening the fire escape door for some air movement but that still wasn't enough and I had to sleep on the fire escape to avoid overheating. The second and final night the AC unit was installed right next to my bed and dripped on my mattress all night. I woke up soaked.

I've stayed in hostels all over the world and AC hasn't been an issue. If a $5 night hostel in a 3rd world country can provide it then a $37 night in DC shouldn't be such an issue. The guests comfort was not a priority at all and I will be requesting a refund.

Other points: dirty overall, kitchen cleanliness left a lot to be desired. But the location was pretty good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

the big pros are the convenient location and the friendly staff. now, or course there we need to adjust our expectations when we go for budget accomodation. so if ot was just for the walls badly needing a coat of paint and the rundown carpet, this prperty would get four stars. But then the very uncomfortable matress in the private room i stayed (room 6) would drop it to three. And then there was the issue of hot water in the shower.... lasted for some 2 minutes on my first attempt to take a shower and less than1 minute on the second day (no, i was not taking a looooong shower). and the other problem was to find left over candy wrapers behind the door in my room, showing that the cleaning staff is not that carefull... and these brought it down to the2 star eveluation.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

The staff were really friendly and helpful, helping to organise trips and activites in the hostel if you wanted to and give advice. The hostel isn't buzzing though, activities only run if people say they want to do it. The atmosphere is nice, everyone is pretty friendly and chatty.
I loved having the kitchen (although there is no oven so we baked brownies in a grill!). The location is okay, 11 blocks from The Mall and close to restaurants, supermarkets and laundrettes. The rooms are bright and relatively spacious.
I loved my time at DC Lofty. The weather was great, the staff were on hand to take us to the jacuzzi and roof top pool, they helped us cook BBQ and watched basketball playoffs together. It's clean, there's some free food, cheap activites, beautiful location street and house. Win win!

Room Tip: All rooms come with an ensuite and there's always a bathroom on the floor you're staying on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Had a pleasant stay at this hostel. I didn't bring a lock or have money to buy one but all my possessions felt perfectly safe in the 8 bed mixed dorm i was staying in.

a bit of a bother moving from one building to another during the winter to get to the kitchen. Also the door code resetting could have gone more smoothly (some kind of warning before it happened so everyone didn't have to ring the bell to get in)

But most of the staff were nice and the other guest were friendly. great location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Great astmophere. Staff are very friendly and immediately gets you into the flow of things and how everything works.brigette does a good job of making sure your stay is the best quality possible. Having relationships with the staff and others who stay makes your stay better. I have a feeling during my next two nights the place will grow on me and it may become a second home.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Brgette and mich are the best people you well ever meet in the hostel business

all they do is helping and making the hostel close to home

good service , good manager and good area to stay

Stayed here for 3 nights and loved it!

Room Tip: all the room are crazy good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to DC Lofty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DC Lofty

Address: 815 7th Street NE, Washington DC, DC DC 20001
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your DC Lofty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DC Lofty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.