We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DC Lofty

Save Saved
You added DC Lofty to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
DC Lofty
1333 11th Street NW, Washington DC, DC DC 20001 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel amenities
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Safe and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Had a pleasant stay at this hostel. I didn't bring a lock or have money to buy one but all my possessions felt perfectly safe in the 8 bed mixed dorm i was staying in.

a bit of a bother moving from one building to another during the winter to get to the kitchen. Also the door code resetting could have gone more smoothly (some kind of warning before it happened so everyone didn't have to ring the bell to get in)

But most of the staff were nice and the other guest were friendly. great location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
1
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

This hostel certainly is in a great location, with the metro close and a great supermarket down the street. There is a great kitchen with plenty of fridge space, a microwave, and stove
top. However the actual hostel was just OK. Staff was friendly, but there were only 1 or 2 working toilets in the whole place, which was really inconvenient for those on the third floor. Overall, an OK hostel, but I will probably look elsewhere the next time I am in DC.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madurai, India
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

A decent hostel with nice living area and a kitchen.

The staff at the front desk is friendly and helpful..

The shoes have to be removed inside the hostel permises, which is a bog off for me... :(

However I can recommend this place for large groups..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I booked in for three nights. One of those nights was for a double room as a single was not avail. Checked in and it was so charged at a lower rate. Good instructions on how to get to the place,

Office staff unwilling to inform what is open or closed with regard to the government shutdown.

I have stayed in many hostels over the years. I would say their attention to cleanliness is commendable. It is the small things that they do not do or repair that make it an average hostel instead of a good one.
I had a small room with bedlight near head which I kept bumping.

The window was facing the road. The blind would not go down fully so you have constant yellow light streaming in from the 10 cm or 4 inch gap. Could not find someone the second morning had to wait until the evening. They said the blind was too short. Item repaired using a towel by me after receptionist provided it to me. Light also came I from between the blinds. It came onto the wall where your feet were so it was difficult to get a good nights sleep.
Toilet seat was broken upon check-in. On the second night it was the same. It kept coming away so you had to take it off.

There was no hot water third and final morning and no secure luggage facility you just leave it in a room.

The Walls were heavily marked
The hostel is two building which you reach by walking outside and connect with other. A lane is nearby and you do not feel you have safe protection.

No maps offered to help with orientating yourself. The ditrections to get there fomr the airport are very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hostel is well located (close to Mt Vermont metro station, with good neighborhood), the staff is friendly, beds and rooms are clean.

If I'm coming back to Washington DC on a budget or know someone that plans a visit there, it's the place I would turn to.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Not sure I understand the whole "take your shoes off" thing as this is the only hostel Ive come across so far that has this policy. But the hostel was clean and tidy and the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful and can point in the right directions. The kitchen and lounge well maintained. Not quite walking distance but on an easy to use bus route.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We had rang up the day before we arrived to ask to check in early around 10am which they said was no problem (check in is supposed to be at 3pm but our booking confirmation told us that you could check in from 10am if you rang in advance to ask them). When we arrived, no staff were in the hostel at all and we had to make another phone call and then wait half an hour for someone to come over. We were literally greeted with "what are you guys doing here? You're not supposed to be in here till after you've checked in and take your shoes off, you aren't allowed to wear them in the house." There was no apology for being late, no "welcome to DC" and no introductions as to who he was (otherwise I would be naming and shaming). After this he told us we couldn't get into our rooms until 3pm and that early check in simply means that you can come and pay at 10am. This is quite different to my opinion of 'checking in' and after telling him so we managed to get into our rooms at around 11.45am.

The rooms were ok, and on the plus side every bed had its own lamp and two plugs. However the beds were infested with fleas or bed bugs or something as we all got bitten every night. The lockers were very small, not big enough to fit our 65 litre rucksacks in, and they were very easy to break into - we had three different locks between us and only one of them locked the locker properly so that you had to use the key to open it.

The bathrooms were filthy, there was no soap or hand towels in the toilet and the shower looked like it hadn't been cleaned in weeks. The floors of the whole hostel were also filthy which made the 'no shoes rule' completely pointless.

Overall I hated my stay here and couldn't wait to leave. The only reason I have given it a 'poor' and not 'terrible' review is because the location was fairly decent (10-15 min walk to central DC) and there were free computers to use.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DC Lofty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DC Lofty

Address: 1333 11th Street NW, Washington DC, DC DC 20001
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Specialty lodging in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your DC Lofty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DC Lofty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.