We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So far so great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DC Lofty

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added DC Lofty to your Saves list
DC Lofty
815 7th Street NE, Washington DC, DC DC 20001 (Logan Circle/ Shaw)   |  
Hotel amenities
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“So far so great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Great astmophere. Staff are very friendly and immediately gets you into the flow of things and how everything works.brigette does a good job of making sure your stay is the best quality possible. Having relationships with the staff and others who stay makes your stay better. I have a feeling during my next two nights the place will grow on me and it may become a second home.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    39
    26
    13
    8
See reviews for
4
9
40
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Brgette and mich are the best people you well ever meet in the hostel business

all they do is helping and making the hostel close to home

good service , good manager and good area to stay

Stayed here for 3 nights and loved it!

Room Tip: all the room are crazy good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

This hostel certainly is in a great location, with the metro close and a great supermarket down the street. There is a great kitchen with plenty of fridge space, a microwave, and stove
top. However the actual hostel was just OK. Staff was friendly, but there were only 1 or 2 working toilets in the whole place, which was really inconvenient for those on the third floor. Overall, an OK hostel, but I will probably look elsewhere the next time I am in DC.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at DC Lofty. The bunk beds were comfortable, the bathroom and kitchen were clean, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the common areas provided enough space to read a book and relax.

*My only complaint is that an older man on the premises, who I assume to be part owner/investor, was very openly nasty to the staff working there, to the point that it made my boyfriend and I very uncomfortable to be in the same room. I am including this in my review because vile, unprofessional people like him need to be accountable for their actions and recognize the disservice they do themselves.

Room Tip: Notify reception if you will check in after 10pm ($10 fee charged) and they will provide you with co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandviken, Sweden
Level Contributor
113 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

A decent hostel with nice living area and a kitchen.

The staff at the front desk is friendly and helpful..

The shoes have to be removed inside the hostel permises, which is a bog off for me... :(

However I can recommend this place for large groups..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I've stayed in a variety of Hostels and have found them all to be nice and manageable. That was until I walked into DC Lofty. From the moment my group walked in, the girl behind the desk said "I wasn't expecting five of you." Apparently there was a mix-up with the order. We booked 5 guests for an 8 bedroom mixed dorm and it came up as only one person. So right there 4 of us are left without a room and reservation. She then proceeds to split us up into the most dodgy rooms she could find: a basement with no room to move around and a closet that would shame Harry Potter's cupboard under the stairs. Minutes after showing us our room we asked to be refunded. She says since "we" made a reservation she could not refund us completely. Either we booked a reservation for five in the one room or we didn't and were separated--we weren't getting out of this. In the end, we found a much cheaper room at Embassy Suites for the five of us and loved it.

On a side note: a nice quiet girl in line behind us asked the girl behind the desk about her sheets being taken from her bed and whether or not she still had the room or not. The girl behind the desk avoided answering her and told her "Isn't it nice to have your sheets changed for you." Not sure if the girl actually had her room in the end.

Room Tip: Do not let them put you in a closet. Ask to see your room before you book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I booked in for three nights. One of those nights was for a double room as a single was not avail. Checked in and it was so charged at a lower rate. Good instructions on how to get to the place,

Office staff unwilling to inform what is open or closed with regard to the government shutdown.

I have stayed in many hostels over the years. I would say their attention to cleanliness is commendable. It is the small things that they do not do or repair that make it an average hostel instead of a good one.
I had a small room with bedlight near head which I kept bumping.

The window was facing the road. The blind would not go down fully so you have constant yellow light streaming in from the 10 cm or 4 inch gap. Could not find someone the second morning had to wait until the evening. They said the blind was too short. Item repaired using a towel by me after receptionist provided it to me. Light also came I from between the blinds. It came onto the wall where your feet were so it was difficult to get a good nights sleep.
Toilet seat was broken upon check-in. On the second night it was the same. It kept coming away so you had to take it off.

There was no hot water third and final morning and no secure luggage facility you just leave it in a room.

The Walls were heavily marked
The hostel is two building which you reach by walking outside and connect with other. A lane is nearby and you do not feel you have safe protection.

No maps offered to help with orientating yourself. The ditrections to get there fomr the airport are very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to DC Lofty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DC Lofty

Address: 815 7th Street NE, Washington DC, DC DC 20001
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your DC Lofty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DC Lofty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.