We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place! Nice location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DC Lofty

DC Lofty
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added DC Lofty to your Saves list
DC Lofty
815 7th Street NE, Washington DC, DC DC 20001 (Logan Circle/ Shaw)   |  
Hotel amenities
Blacksburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place! Nice location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were staying here once in a Deluxe Double Bed Private Ensuite.
Wow....that room is something)))))) nice design, very cozy, huge window..
It was our last minute change of plans to stay overnight in DC and we found this place available! We were so happy we changed our plans. Had a very nice rest after long traveling.. It was so homy that we almost forgot that it's a hoStel!
Amazing staff! Always smiling, joking, friendly, cheerful..
No-shoes policy keeps the place very clean and neat. We also got our DC-Lofty sleepers ))) that was a nice addition to our stay :)
In the room we had a cool dresser, TV, fireplace...bathroom with mood lighting..))) just like another honey-moon haha :)
It's not too far from China Town, main attractions, Union Station (best by taxi - 7-10 min ride).
Very peaceful residential area in the city center!
Great great great!
We'll definitely stay there again and recommend it to everyone (:

Room Tip: Great location. The Private Ensuite is perfect for couples!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    32
    23
    11
    7
See reviews for
4
5
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Location seems to be bit shabby, but neighborhood is really friendly.
Metro station is really close, walk like 6-7 minutes and need not to fear the people there!
Rooms were really large, hadn't expected this with the low prices!

Small negatives: toilet not the cleanest in the world (broken seat), shower need a really long time to heat (if at all) and the front door seems like it was broken several times (a sign reads, it will be repaired).

Overall I'd definitely recommend it and would stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

It is a very comfortable hostel, with a great kitchen, located in a very convenient part, walking distance form the Mall and Dupont Circle and 18th Street...if you like walking though:)
The guys seemed very friendly and helpful and for the price, it is of great value...would stay there again...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Was there for 3 nights as part of a solo travelling trip around different places in the states.

First, the location is good, but not great. It's takes about a 7-minute walk to the metro station, and from there, about 4 minutes to the National Mall. 15-minute walk to Chinatown and Gallery Place.

The hostel cleanliness is remarkable, and frankly speaking, I'm impressed that they disallowed shoes in the rooms and all, making it a much pleasant experience. My only problem is that my room is in the basement, right next to the window where at nights, the rowdy crowds may throng pass and disturb a good night's sleep. The floorboards creaked like crazy when someone is in the first floor common area.

For the cost, I would say that this hostel is worth visiting, but I will definitely explore other places before revisiting DC Lofty.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

They have advantages and disadvantages. The advantages are: (1) They are close to a subway station; (2) Staff are friendly; (3) Their rate is reasonable; and (4) Rooms are clean. The disadvantages are; (1) They have two buildings and one of them doesn't have a kitchen;(2) You must take off shoes in the buildings; (3) They have some house rules and if you break a rule, they may deduct $10 from your credit card; and (4) A lounge was not heated, so I had to wear a jacket there. I don't recommend this hostel to everyone, but it's OK for a budget traveller.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I stayed at DC Lofty in Oct 2012 with a friend for 5 nights. The living area with couches, a huge TV and computers (free for every guest) and the kitchen with a big stove, fridges and enough storage space were excellent. There was also a dishwasher, so you didn't have to do your own dishes after eating. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. For me, it was strange to see so many old(er) people staying at the hostel, while they're looking for a job in the city. We stayed in a 8 person dorm room in the basement. There were lockers but not much space to put your big suitcase, which was a bit inconvenient. The shower and toilet were down the hall but only one shower and one toilet for 8 people is not enough. And because we slept under the entrance, we heard everbody coming in. Also late at night. The location of the hostel is good but not perfect. It was approximately a 20 min walk to the Mall (the main site of Washington DC). There was a supermarket nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a dorm upstairs if you're a light sleeper and wake up easily by footsteps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed at DC Lofty in early November. Things started on a poor note - I had emailed them to inform them of a change in my arrival date (from 10th to the 14th), but my credit card was still charged for the night of the 10th. Their booking system had not reflected the changes so our room was given to someone else.

the manager Roma was very understanding and amended the booking to give us the original double bed private room we booked.

be warned that this hostel does not have any elevators. There are three flights of narrow stairs, so if you're carrying heavy luggage you'll need some help.

the toilets are very clean, and that's a big plus point.

the hostel was also under renovation when we were there, so some of the common walkways were boarded up - this means that if you want to go to the kitchen, you have to go out the back door and into the other building from the outside. kitchen was also clean and facilities there were adequate.

the rooms are clean and comfortable even though the hostel feels old. i didn't like the location very much - it's a bit of a walk to get to the nearest Metro but there are plenty of convenience stores along the way if you need groceries or food.

overall i'd say the hostel is just okay, but your options for accommodation are limited if you're on a budget.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DC Lofty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DC Lofty

Address: 815 7th Street NE, Washington DC, DC DC 20001
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your DC Lofty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DC Lofty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.