We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Long Walk and a Late Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cusbah

Cusbah
1128 H St NE, Washington DC, DC 20002 (Formerly Casbah)
2025061504
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #540 of 2,710 Restaurants in Washington DC
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Long Walk and a Late Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We had planned on going to Toki Underground for a late lunch upon arriving, but after a 2 mile walk (red line was down) from our hotel, we arrived to find that they didn't open until 5p - doh! Our own problem of course. So we went to the next best think - Cusbah.

The jalapeno margarita was extremely refreshing and I enjoyed the mixed appetizer platter with its veggie goodness. The Hubster survived the Vindaloo and wished he had the recipe.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great authentic Indian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We've lived in Bangladesh & India, and are picky with Indian food, but this place really provides the real thing. We've been there three times, and after a slump, at our recent visit the food was again great and very reasonably priced. Also they have a good beer selection.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great outdoor seating area, warm beer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Food is good, the seating area outside has a great atmosphere, but they served us warm beer and the server didn't really care when we complained.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Very Good Indian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Above average Indian food. Great atmosphere and reasonably priced! Make a reservation if you can because it is kind of small.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VT
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I was happy I checked the address ahead of time and didn't head to H St NW, an area I'm familiar with. I'd never been to this neighborhood, on the way up and shortly to really take off with the advent of the trolley. The exterior is not well signed, particularly on a grey evening. The hostess was very welcoming. It's a small restaurant with a nice bar along one wall. The service was good, although it took the entrees a bit longer to arrive than expected. It's essentially Indian food, and I had the paneer makhni, a solid choice. My husband had the seekh kabob. Although the kabobs were not served as hot as they should have been, he pronounced them quite good. Cusbah should be well situated to benefit from neighborhood development. Next time I'll take the trolley

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cusbah also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Cusbah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cusbah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.