We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding experience at The Capella” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capella Washington D.C., Georgetown

Save Saved
You added Capella Washington D.C., Georgetown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Capella Washington D.C., Georgetown
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1050 31st St NW, Washington DC, DC 20007 (Georgetown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Outstanding experience at The Capella”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying at The Capella during our first ever visit to Washington. We were equally impressed by both the city and the hotel. Rooms 303 and 302 overlooked the canal and were super luxurious. Very spacious and comfortable. The bar and pool on the roof were superb as were the staff there. In fact, the staff throughout the hotel were outstanding taking a lot of time to make us feel special and very much looked after! We were travelling for a month across South and North America staying in hotels like Four Seasons, Sheratons and Sofitels and in all honesty, this was our favourite. I can't rate it highly enough.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaWashingtonDC, General Manager at Capella Washington D.C., Georgetown, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Greetings QuincyYork,

It brings me great satisfaction to read about your incredible experiences you encountered during your most recent stay at our hotel. I am so pleased you were able to enjoy our private rooftop space and found your guest rooms so spacious and comfortable. Thank you for being a loyal guest of Capella and I can only share my excitement and gratitude for choosing us and hopefully we have the pleasure of serving you and your guests again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Marco Bustamante
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    9
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
55
10
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Laurel, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Excellent from start to finish! My husband and I stayed for one night for a getaway after returning from a Ritz Carlton beach vacation with our kids. Our expectations were high especially since the Ritz Carlton experience was very good. We felt this was as close to sophisticated and elegant as it gets. The staff, especially Esther, made us feel welcomed and carefree. I simply can't say enough good things. Capella delivers exactly on what luxury and boutique mean. We will return!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaWashingtonDC, General Manager at Capella Washington D.C., Georgetown, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Greetings EP90,

Thank you so much for your incredible feedback regarding your recent stay at Capella Washington, D.C. with your family. I am so proud and thankful to hear that our hotel exceeded your expectations. The Capella service we provide will always be warm, genuine and caring and personalized for each of our guests. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to show you how amazing your experience can be in our Nation's Capital. We are very much looking forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Marco Bustamante
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My partner and I stayed at Capella for our close friends wedding. They booked the rooms so we did not know much about Capella or this particular hotel. We have stayed in top of the line hotels all over the world and Capella made a great impression. From the moment we arrived, we were impressed with the attentive staff as well as extremely comfortable and luxurious rooms. We were upgraded to a corner suite overlooking the canal. The room was very tasteful and well appointed.
What we really loved about the property was its small size. The fact that they only allow guests to access certain areas, most importantly the rooftop bar and pool areas, was a huge plus. There was always a place to rest, sun and have a perfect cocktail with someone always greeting us to make sure we were well taken care of.
Overall, we highly recommend Capella. It is a good value when compared to comparable larger hotels in DC. Given the successful stay, we are now booking my partner's family vacation at Capella Pedregal in Cabo for next Spring. Very happy to now know about Capella Hotels....very impressed!

Room Tip: Choose _01 rooms...should be a corner suite with canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaWashingtonDC, General Manager at Capella Washington D.C., Georgetown, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Greetings Kirk R,

Thank you for taking the time to craft this beautiful and kind TripAdvisor review regarding your most recent stay at our hotel in Georgetown. We are so pleased your close friend was able to refer you to us and create such a memorable, long lasting experience for you and your partner. You can always expect to return to Capella and receive world-class service and comfortable luxury. I am sure you will love the Capella Pedregal and thank you for being so loyal to the Capella Hotels & Resorts brand. When your travels next bring you to Washington, I certainly feel confident that we will be seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Marco Bustamante
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

I cannot say enough about this hotel. This was my second stay here and the level of service is like no other hotel. The first time I stayed here with my daughter while visiting colleges and it was the perfect location between Georgetown and George Washington. It was a perfect mother/daughter getaway. Just brought my husband for the weekend and he was blown away by everything about this hotel. The hotel is quiet, perfectly located and again words cannot describe the level of service. Hoping my daughter gets into college in DC so we can return more often!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaWashingtonDC, General Manager at Capella Washington D.C., Georgetown, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Greetings deckes1,

It brings me great joy and pleasure to read your incredible feedback. I would like to thank you, your mother and husband for choosing Capella and giving us the opportunity to create loving, lasting memories at our beautiful property and location in the heart of Georgetown. I agree and hope that your daughter chooses to receive her education in Washington so we can host you for all the family and parent weekends that come throughout the year! Wishing you the very best.

Sincerely,

Marco Bustamante
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San francisco, California, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I had a superb experience here. The rooms are well appointed and the staff goes above and beyond to please their guests. ALL OF THE STAFF in the restaurant are knowledgeable, diligent and helpful. The location is perfect as well!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaWashingtonDC, General Manager at Capella Washington D.C., Georgetown, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Greetings traveldude225,

Thank you for your wonderful review. Capella strives to exceed every guests expectations and create memorable, ever lasting experiences. I am so pleased you felt this connection with us and find our hotel so perfect. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Marco Bustamante
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

If you want a perfect experience from the time you enter the property, checking in, clean and comfortable rooms, excellent dining experiences, staff that cares and a memorable stay, this is the place. We felt that special experience from every staff member we encountered. This is definitely worth the treat.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaWashingtonDC, General Manager at Capella Washington D.C., Georgetown, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Greetings Sheri R,

I wanted to tell you what an exceptional treat it was to have you and your husband stay at our hotel. Thank you for your generous and kind words regarding our accommodations, restaurant experiences and warm, genuine staff. We always strive to make our guests feel special with unobtrusive, gracious service. We are very much looking forward to your return, hopefully in the near future!

Sincerely,

Marco Bustamante
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The artwork on the walls, the beautiful floral arrangement, reminds me of Europe...every Thursday's, a guitarist creates a relaxing atmosphere, lovely tones for those who want to relax at The Rye Bar or dine at their restaurant. You will be spoiled in style. Enjoy an Apple Martini with fresh granny apples...cheers!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaWashingtonDC, General Manager at Capella Washington D.C., Georgetown, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Greetings Sadaf K,

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience on TripAdvisor. I completely agree with you. Capella is a truly beautiful property full of modern architecture and European design elements. Our Thursday evening guitar ambiance on the outdoor terrace is outstanding. We wish you could be here more often to experience the change of seasons, decor and experiences. We hope that you will return and give us the opportunity to create even more ever lasting memories.

Sincerely,

Marco Bustamante
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capella Washington D.C., Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capella Washington D.C., Georgetown

Address: 1050 31st St NW, Washington DC, DC 20007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Capella Washington D.C., Georgetown 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Georgetown along the historic C&O Canal, Capella Washington D.C., Georgetown presents an intimate & luxurious 49 guest rooms & suites, meticulously designed to provide you with a soothing haven from the day’s activities. Our prime location offers guests premium access to Washington, D.C.’s vibrant cultural center, rich with museums and galleries, specialty shopping and unique dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Venere, Tingo, Hotels.com, Escapio, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Capella Washington D.C., Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capella Washington D.C., Georgetown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.