We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in DC- or anywhere?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capella Washington D.C., Georgetown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Capella Washington D.C., Georgetown to your Saves list
Capella Washington D.C., Georgetown
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1050 31st St NW, Washington DC, DC 20007 (Georgetown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
San Francisco
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in DC- or anywhere?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We had a marvelous stay at the Capella. From the moment we arrived until we left they took fabulous care of us. My wife misplaced her purse which we eventually located at a nearby restaurant where we'd dined the night before. It was the morning of her Mother;s funeral and she was upset. Everyone at the Capella pitched in to look, and made her feel much better. In the course of the search they found broken glass in the trunk of our car where we had broken a photo the night before- cleaned it all without a comment. They found the purse during the funeral and when we came back it was sitting in our room - they had gone and fetched it from the restaurant and everyone beamed at my wife when we came back.

We also found a nice note from management expressing condolences with pots of special calming herb tea and snacks set up at night in our room before we went to bad- which was the perfect touch.

Rooms were lovely, the apogee of luxury - excellent electronics, espresso/tea maker, comp soft drinks in the fridge, nuts and madelines set out as snacks each day, comfy bed,nice linens and pillows, quiet rooms, great waterfall shower- when we asked for a room with a tub, voila! Lovely designer tub in bathroom. I love the ability to check in and out when you please- all high end hotels should adopt that policy.

Great bar with interesting beverages- try the concoction in the giant beaker made of cognac, herb liqueur and other ingredients- very tasty after dinner drink-

lounge on roof looks great weather permitting- tables outside restaurant on canal would be wonderful in Spring and summer- breakfast at restaurant superb, first perfectly cooked French style omelet I've had in States in a long time, just delicious -

We are from DC and grew up in Georgetown and was strange to come back and stay in a hotel- but Capella was simply the cherry on top- superb. As global travelers who have sampled many a fine lodge we must say Capella was as good as any on Earth- maybe better!

Thank you again to everyone from the doorman to the managers and staff who made us so welcome .

Room Tip: parking is expensive- on weekends its possible to find a spot nearby on the street later in the even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaWashingtonDC, General Manager at Capella Washington D.C., Georgetown, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Greetings Ramblingman50,

First and for most we want to thank you for sharing with us your incredible experience on TripAdvisor, even after suffering from the loss of your wife's beloved Mother. Again, we would like to express our deepest condolences to you and your family during this tough time. I am so pleased to hear that your wife's belongings were recovered and placed back into your guest room safe and sound and that you both loved the calming herb tea that hopefully gave you a sense of home away from home.

At Capella Hotels, we promise to deliver reliable, genuinely caring and timely service superior to our competition, with respected and empowered employees who work in an environment of belonging and purpose. I am honored that you and your wife were able to experience exactly this concept from the moment you arrived to the moment we bid you farewell. We are especially thankful that you chose our hotel given that you are both locals in the Georgetown neighborhood. We look forward to the day you return, when we have the gracious opportunity to serve and delight you both for many years to come.

Sincerely,

Alex Obertop
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    9
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
29
64
11
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
West New York, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed the weekend and had a fabulous experience. Staff was friendly and addressed me by my name. Loved their contemporary décor. Was upgraded to nicer room upon arrival. Bedding and pillows were heavenly ! Great location, close to M street with tons of shopping, restaurant/bars. Rooftop was great. Wish I would've brought my bathing suit to hit the heated infinity pool. Well , I'll just have to go back in the spring.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaWashingtonDC, General Manager at Capella Washington D.C., Georgetown, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Greetings Maria V,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback regarding your most recent stay with us at Capella Washington, D.C. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your luxury guest room accommodations, personalized greetings from our Personal Assistants, and incredible location in the heart of Georgetown. We will look forward to your speedy return this spring when you have the opportunity to try out our infinity pool!

Sincerely,

Alex Obertop
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We had dinner at the Grill at this elegant new hotel in Washington, which was almost empty at 8:30 pm. The staff is as friendly as one would expect in a very expensive hotel and the lobby is sleek. The food was good, but ridiculously expensive. We were greeted by a friendly champagne sommelier who offered us a variety of champagnes, never mentioning the prices which went to $48 per GLASS. The main courses were fine - the braised short rib especially tasty - but there was not a one on the menu for under $32, and nothing light. The menu could use expanding - especially for a sunday night supper. We won't return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaWashingtonDC, Manager at Capella Washington D.C., Georgetown, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Greetings mkg2805,

Thank you for your sincere feedback regarding your most recent visit. I am delighted to read that you enjoy our properties luxurious decor, friendly service team, and cuisine; however, I am terribly disappointed to learn that the rest of your experience fell far below your expectations.

I regret to learn about the series of inconveniences you encountered regarding your check, especially with regards to the lack of communication regarding pricing of champagne and menu items. I am terribly sorry that these valuable lessons have come at your expense.

I would like the opportunity to personally apologize to you and discuss what we can do to amend our mistakes and have you visit with us again. I can be contacted at will.rentschler@capellahotels.com, or alternatively, my direct number is (202) 617-2422.

I look forward to the opportunity to regain your faith in our ability to properly serve you and our locals in Georgetown and Washington, DC.

Sincerely,

Will Rentschler
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stayed at the Capella for 2 nights and would most definately love to return. The staff just couldn't do enough for us, they were very smart, friendly and very professional.
I've stayed at quite a few hotels and this is probably the one that stands out the most for me. It has a home from home feel to it. The lounge is lovely if you have had a busy day, here you can just sit and relax with a drink. The restaurant offers amazing food and equaly fabulous service by staff.
Rooftop bar is great after being out during the day too, unwind on one of the many couches they have.
The hotel is very clean and the room offers everything you need from tea, coffee, soft drinks, bath robe and slippers.
I must say it is a nice change from the larger chain hotels as the Capella has a slightly more personal touch to it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaWashingtonDC, General Manager at Capella Washington D.C., Georgetown, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Greetings Pierce22,

We highly appreciate your generous review and kind feedback of our hotel on TripAdvisor. I am thrilled that we are able to create such a unique and personalized experience for you. Thank you so much for giving us the pleasure to graciously and efficiently assist you throughout your stay. I will be sure to pass along the wonderful feedback you mentioned about our service team. We will look forward to welcoming you back very soon to celebrate many more occasions when your travels next bring you to Washington D.C.

Sincerely,

Alex Obertop
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights at Capella for a work trip slash personal getaway. I was impressed at every turn --
The beautiful lobby, bar, rooftop, rooms...
The impeccable service and cleanliness, they do not overlook the details like so many hotels do...
The over the top hospitality, including catering to your every whim and even learning our names...

We decided to give a Georgetown boutique hotel away from the masses in DC a try, and simply could not be happier with that choice. We will absolutely be back!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaWashingtonDC, General Manager at Capella Washington D.C., Georgetown, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Greetings Ania W,

It brings me great pleasure to read that you and your guest chose our hotel during your most recent stay in Washington, D.C. We highly appreciate you taking the time to experience and enjoy our beautiful hotel, world-class service and ultra luxury accommodations. Thank you so much for giving us the pleasure to graciously and efficiently assist you throughout your visit. Your loyalty and support are highly valued and appreciated. We will look forward to welcoming the both of you back very soon to celebrate many more occasions hopefully in the near future!

Sincerely,

Alex Obertop
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Understated and warm, Capella is a delightful surprise and a reason to look forward to trips to the nation's capital. Tucked a few blocks away from the main commercial drag of Georgetown, it exercises restraint in typical hotel operations and branding: it feels like a pied a terre with a luxe but cozy living room, a minimal roof deck with lounge chairs and a simple 3ft pool that is a romantic place to retreat at night. The bedroom doors are big/shut kind of loudly, making them difficult to not disturb a sleeper but most of the other interior decisions (beautiful drapes, wood floors, desk with plugs) are spot on. The bathroom has generous Acqua di Parma products and matching yellow lilies and both tubs and showers. Great choice if you like nice staff and calm and warm luxury that is not ostentatious and in your face.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaWashingtonDC, General Manager at Capella Washington D.C., Georgetown, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Greetings Wanderlustc,

Thank you so much for this gracious review regarding your most recent stay at Capella Washington D.C. It is with great pleasure that we were able to provide you with professional service and world class accommodations that made your business trip even more successful. We look forward to many more occasions when we have the opportunity to serve you when your travels next bring you to our Nation's Capital.

Sincerely,

Alex Obertop
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The property is a small boutique hotel in Georgetown, close to lots of nice restaurants and not that far from the Washington Mall. The rooms, even the entry level rooms, are large. The difference between the Superior room and the Deluxe rooms is that Superiors do not have a tub. Most of us don't use tubs anyway, so no big deal there. The suites are all very nice with nice furnishings and amenities. Nice coffee makers in all rooms and free internet which is a big issue for me. The bar at the top of the hotel is very cool and you can have a continental breakfast up there with a great view. This hotel is not a bargain by any stretch, but you get what you pay for - great rooms, fabulous attentive service and a wonderful setting. The pastries are very good which gives you a clue that the kitchen staff knows what they are doing as so often you take a bite of a croissant and it tastes terrible so you stay away from the rest of the pastries which is probably a good thing to do anyway!

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaWashingtonDC, Manager at Capella Washington D.C., Georgetown, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Reumann,

Thank you very much for your delightful review regarding your most recent stay at Capella Washington, D.C. Your kind remarks pertaining to our spacious accommodations, guest room amenities, attentive service team, and fresh pastries are highly appreciated. Your loyalty to Capella means the world to us! We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the near future.

Sincerely,

Alex Obertop
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capella Washington D.C., Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capella Washington D.C., Georgetown

Address: 1050 31st St NW, Washington DC, DC 20007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Capella Washington D.C., Georgetown 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Georgetown along the historic C&O Canal, Capella Washington D.C., Georgetown presents an intimate & luxurious 49 guest rooms & suites, meticulously designed to provide you with a soothing haven from the day’s activities. Our prime location offers guests premium access to Washington, D.C.’s vibrant cultural center, rich with museums and galleries, specialty shopping and unique dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Tablet Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Escapio, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Capella Washington D.C., Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capella Washington D.C., Georgetown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.