We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly delicious food, many vegetarian options” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rasika West End

Rasika West End
1190 New Hampshire Avenue, NW, Washington DC, DC
202-466-2500
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Rasika West End is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 2,768 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: New Hampshire & M Street
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Incredibly delicious food, many vegetarian options”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We returned to one of our family's favorite restaurant in DC (along with its older sibling, Rasika, Penn Quarter) after an absence of several months and found the food even better than before. One of our party of four is a vegetarian; there were so many wonderful choices for her that our three omnivores all decided to concentrate on non-meat options this time. (We've loved the black cod and other seafood and chicken options in previous visits.)

Palak chat to begin,of course but then several other wonderful veggie choices: a layered eggplant and potato first course, superb smoky lentils (amazing sauce had us scraping the bowl with Nan), an okra and tomato dish, potato dumplings (also in incredible sauce, with apricots), rice, more spinach, the bread basket with added kulcha with goat cheese and a good, moderately priced bottle of wine.

Service was attentive, although our server latched onto our son as his favorite conversation partner, chatting with him each time he visited our table, with little acknowledgement of the two females. We like sitting in the raised library section, but on this hot day, two of our chairs were directly under the A/C unit that was blasting cold air, so if this is a concern, ask to be seated elsewhere. Despite the chilly air, it was a superb meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    82
    24
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlee, Montana
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best Indian Food on the Planet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This was hands down one of the best meals I've ever eaten. We found it on yelp or an app like that and followed the directions. It was hot...so hot...and we considered not staying because without reservations we had to eat outside. But a couple emerging from the restaurant overheard our ambivalence and convinced us to stay. So glad we did.

All I can say is, amazing! This genius mixing of flavors and textures in every dish was an incredible experience ... and believe me, I do not usually feel this way about food! We shared the crispy spinach appetizer... possibly the most insanely delicious thing I've ever eaten. Ever.

I had the railway lamb curry. It was delicious. My friend got the tandoori chicken tikka and it was even more delicious. Like, incredibly delicious.

The desserts are out of this world. I didn't order my own but had bites of others'.

Service: Impeccable. Our server was considerate and careful in his explanation of each dish. The attention to our table lacked nothing. After he learned we were all award-winning teachers, he brought us complimentary champagne!

The prices were also totally reasonable! The server actually split the shared dishes up so we each had a percentage of those - I've never seen this done on separate tickets before. I drank water but had parts of two appetizers plus my lamb dish and chai, and my ticket was $39.

Read my other reviews ... I don't usually use so many superlatives. I will definitely return to Rasika when I get back to DC.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneva switzerland
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“excellent food !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

we walked in for an early dinner and got a terrace table on the spot (pavement terrace) .. the food was excellent ! we had one nan bread, 1 starter, 2 mains and a coffee for ~USD 75 .. however best butter chicken EVER ..

not cheap but not overly expensive either - european capital city prices - but i don't mind that when it's gooooooooooood ! .. service was fine ..

we tried to go back the next day but they were fully booked ..

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zashaari
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Not spicy enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We had the lobster pulao, dhal, shrimp curry and fish. All were good though not spicy enough for my M'sian taste buds. The pulao was a little over salty.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando, fl
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Overpriced, small portions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We wanted to eat Indian for dinner and out of all the choices near our hotel, this one had the most reviews, most of them positive.

We got there before the after-work crowd so we were seated quickly outside. Inside seating would have been a longer wait.

We had 6 people in our party, 4 adults and 2 children.

We ordered drinks, appetizers, and dinner.

I highly recommend the mango shrimp. Tasty and subtle flavors and cooked to perfection. But you only get 4. Our server recommended the Palak Chat, which was also very good. Baby spinach that is lightly fried and served with yogurt chutney. Again, very small portion.

For dinner, we ordered Tandoori Chicken Tikka, Grouper Nimboo, Andhra Chicken Curry, and Chicken Pudina Korma. For breads, we ordered the Bread Basket.

The tandoori was dry - and again, only 4-5 small pieces. For $17, that's a lot for nothing. The fish was very good and interesting combination of flavors. The fish was cooked well. The other two chicken dishes tasted fine, but really nothing special. The chicken had clearly been pre-boiled and just dropped in the sauce before serving to us. The chicken had not had time to absorb the flavors of the curry.

The bread basket was good, but just not enough to justify the price.

I wouldn't recommend this restaurant for dinner. Maybe just for the appetizers and people watching.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rasika West End also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Rasika West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rasika West End, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.