We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rasika West End

Rasika West End
1190 New Hampshire Avenue, NW, Washington DC, DC
202-466-2500
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Rasika West End is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 2,710 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: New Hampshire & M Street
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I visited D.C. in March for the first time together with my dad. I had read about this restaurant, because it also offers a lot of vegetarian options and I am a vegetarian. Also, this restaurant is located straight across from the hotel where we were staying. We arrived in D.C. at the end of the afternoon and booked a table for later in the evening. The restaurant atmosphere is very modern and chic and very busy. Staff were all very friendly and helpful! We ordered the palak chaat to start with because of all the reviews I had read that were raving about this dish. Let me tell you, it is probably one of the best dishes that I have ever had in my life! And my dad absolutely loved it as well. I'm pretty sure we ended up ordering at least 2 extra orders to go with the rest of our food (which was also very good). I had the Kaminee cocktail, which was so nice with ginger and Pimms and went very well with all the food we had. If I ever visit D.C. again in the future, I will definitely come back at least once to enjoy some more of this amazing food!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    72
    23
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“very good Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Rasika is a bit pricey, but the food is good and the atmosphere is pleasant. Attentive, professional service. A good place for a business lunch, one that I would happily pay a return visit. Parking in the area is hard to find, particularly in the middle of the day. But if you're staying at one of the hotels nearby, this is a place that you should seriously consider going to.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Wonderful Flavors-Gluten Free Haven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Our first experience at Rasika was a very good one with impeccable service and superbly fresh food. Only one minor complaint: in both the Mango Shrimp and the Rockfish Aleppey Curry, the seafood was slightly overdone for our taste. Jonathan, our waiter, easily and confidently pointed out the gluten-free options for my Celiac wife, immediately putting us at ease. (There are many choices. For GF diners visiting DC, this would be a wonderful stop). When asked for advice a couple of times, his recommendations were spot-on: the unique crispy spinach dish Palak Chaat and the incredibly flavorful and perfectly prepared Tandoori Lamb Chops. Zoe, the knowledgeable and charming sommelier, chose a wonderful small winery Pinot Noir to complement the meal. (The wine list could have included a few more options that were less expensive. But on this particular night, we really didn't care). There was a vibrant but not overbearing buzz inside this clean, open restaurant. We sat outside along the sidewalk and people-watched, one of the great joys of living in this international city. A lovely evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not Stellar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Given all the accolades, not as stellar as expected. We did the pre-theater menu before going to the Kennedy Center. We had Achari Tikka and Malai Seekh Kebab appetizers, and Chicken Tikka Masala and Railway Lamb Curry as main courses. All were very good, but nothing outstanding. The best thing was an unexpectedly nice Chardonnay, Emphasis.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville CA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Best Indian food I've ever had and best service experienced at any restaurant. I'm not generally a fan of Indian food, but booked a table at this restaurant because my sister had said it was the best food she had experienced in DC. It does not disappoint.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rasika West End also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Rasika West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rasika West End, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.