We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The focus is on the drink and the shortest skirts...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Del Frisco's Grille

Del Frisco's Grille
1201 Pennsylvania Ave, Washington DC, DC
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Del Frisco's Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #426 of 2,710 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“The focus is on the drink and the shortest skirts...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Looked like a hoppin place, however, the focus seemed to be on the drink and not the food.
Ordered the Pork Chop, but it was super thick and pink/soft/undercooked in the middle...served with grits or mashed potatoes (supposed to be garlic mashed - but no flavor) and no vegie...why not for $26?? Did not eat it (pork being subject when undercooked)...so that was ONE costly potato. The servers are in a competition for the shortest skirt possible and it just sort of felt like a meat market - not a serious restaurant. Room was PACKED with after hour people standing in the bar and outside - all fine, but again - focus is on alcohol and the "pick up"...not on fine dining. Still in search of a decent meal in DC on our 6 day trip...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    46
    12
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Average Dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Don't expect Del Frisco's quality at the Grille. This aspect was a bit dissapointing to our party. Great wine list.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville MD
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“the best best best service i've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

and it was because i (not anyone or anything else) screwed up!

i had made a reservation before a show at the Warner (Russell Brand, who was different than i thought he'd be, but amazing) at 6:45. plenty of time to have a nice dinner and get to the show on time, right? wrong. i underestimated the drive from my house to the parking garage. instead of taking 45 minutes it took us an hour and 15 minutes. so, of course, i was freaking out. i was hungry, aggravated with the traffic, and late. great.
i kept in touch with the restaurant through the latter part of the journey, keeping them apprised to when we would actually arrive.

we finally got there at 7:15 and were seated at 7:20. by 7:25 we had ordered and at 7:30 our food arrived.....no joke. meanwhile, EVERYONE on staff was attending to us, making sure we had water, calming us, getting our food done, making sure it was done right, etc. the manager made sure everything was right, our waitress could not have been more efficient and friendly, the hosts came by to check on us....you get the picture.

we were done and paid at 7:50 and enjoyed the show immensely with full bellies.

oh, and the food was really good....i had a lamb burger and sweet potato fries.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Convenient but loud”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

After spending the day on Capitol Hill, we went to wind down it was extraordinarily loud happy hour very difficult to hear table mates and our server. There us one private room. VIP cocktail tasty. Ordered filet mignon medium well, one corner was burnt. Table shared a tray of desserts which was a wonderful idea.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincs, England
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Good for food or just a drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Just across the road from the old post office and a five minute walk from our hotel we found Del Frisco's grill. There is plenty of seating both inside and out. Staff were attentive and food was good. We started with the flatbread but wouldn't bother with it again. I had steak which was cooked well. A good choice of wines and beers. If you're in the area give it a try.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Del Frisco's Grille also viewed

 

Been to Del Frisco's Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Del Frisco's Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.