We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Mexican in DC, heat lovers try the Burrito Mojado” 5 of 5 stars
Review of District Taco

District Taco
1309 F St NW, (between N 13th St & N 14th St, Washington DC, DC
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #133 of 2,495 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
448 reviews 448 reviews
313 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
“Delicious Mexican in DC, heat lovers try the Burrito Mojado”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Went to District Taco during a recent visit to DC. I went to the Pennsylvania Ave one in SE DC but I didn't see an option for that so i'm reviewing here! Anyways, the menu is sizeable but not too big, and they have a good amount of burrito and taco options. I tried the Burrito Mojado. Not only was it huge, but extremely delicious and had a nice kick of spice to it as well. I also liked the salsa bar and the Boylan's sodas that were offered, which were a nice change of pace from the usual Coke and Pepsi products. My friends and I got an order of chips to go with our meal, which we didn't need at all but they were still tasty. Overall, I really enjoyed my experience at District Taco. For Chipotle, Qdoba and Moe's lovers or anyone who just likes good Mexican, I would definitely give District Taco a try.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    53
    14
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
leftcoast
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food that I expect to find in the Southwest, not the East”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I've made two visits to District Taco in the past six months. Both on Sundays...when they have fish tacos on special. Simply amazing...but their carnitas, steak, and pollo tacos are great too. The medium salsa is really good. The tomatillo green salsa was rather pedestrian though. The place seemed pretty crowded, but I guess that just describes DC.

District Taco is in the Qudoba-Chipotle-Baja Fresh market niche...and tops them all.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Very good tacos! Packed with people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I visited with a friend who lives in the area. This is the first place he took me to. Great tacos. This place was packed with (what I assume were) locals. This is usually a sign of a great place!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Best Taco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We visited District Taco for lunch If you really want authentic hot spicy thing you will get it here.I am also posting picture of their kitchen so you can better judge for Mexican Food More they have everyday special so you will enjoy whatever way you like to taste.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Just had take out dinner from District Taco (the F street location). After hearing all the buzz about this place, I understand where they are coming from. The food is very similar to what you can readily get in southern California. The bonus is that it's available within the DC area. The price of the food is more than reasonable, the burritos are tasty and, the biggest surprise to me, they have Boylan's fountain sodas. Nothing like having a taco here along with a Boylan's birch beer. Note that you can also order in advance online and forego the line (but the line moved pretty fast tonight).

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed District Taco also viewed

Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to District Taco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage District Taco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.