We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paul's Bakery

Paul's Bakery
1078 Wisconsin Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20007
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #349 of 2,710 Restaurants in Washington DC
Cuisines: Bakery, French, Café
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Townsville, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Set right in the middle of Georgetown, near the canal. Atmosphere and display were impressive......so much choice. Fresh baked breads looked and smelt delicious. Shared a hot dog and cheese baguette (fresh and crusty) with a hot chocolate made with milk chocolate and followed up with the most delicious custard slice.....belisimo!! Prices extremely reasonable, tables inside upstairs and outside and the service refreshing......Enjoyed the whole experience!!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    24
    12
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Delicious Macarons”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Was traveling in DC on business and decided to stop here for one of the mini Macaron trays to take back home. It took all of my willpower to not by one of each of the delicious little pastries. I didn't get to try them till I got home and they were all delicious. I think my favorite macarons were the coconut and chocolate. The person waiting on me was very nice and helpful.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Yummy Decaf Coffee and Tasty Pasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We enjoyed Paul's Bakery and spent several afternoon coffee breaks there enjoying an apricot tart and elephant ear pastry. The decaf was very tasty and the atmosphere relaxed. The customer service was friendly and high quality.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Merci, Paul's!!! Les Omelette perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Tuesday, 09-24-2013, while traveling on our way to DC, wife mentions she wants a tasty omelette for breakfast the next morning. Wednesday morning, without any clue or knowledge of Paul's Bakery or knowing the location, we find ourselves on Wisconsin Avenue in search of said tasty omelette. After nearly an hour of an almost fruitless endeavor, suddenly there appears an encouraging sign on the horizon. Upon spotting a plate containing eggs of a seemingly satisfied restaurant patron seated at an outdoor table at Paul's Bakery, we decide to go inside for further and closer investigation. And, I order two Les Omelette plates for us. Needless to say, 24 hours later, my wife is still raving about her delicious Paul's ham, mushroom and cheese omelette. Paul's is a quaint, delightful and cozy café which offers outdoor and upstairs dining. Wife and I both agree. The omelette we enjoyed at Paul's was absolutely perfect!
Thank you Paul's! Merci!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great food, nice looking bakery, really bad service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The food is great, and the bakery is nice looking, and the location (Farragut) is good. But the staff, not at all. The girls behind the counter seemed annoyed that we didn't complete our order under a minute (even though we were the only people in line). After ordering our first item (a small quiche), the cashier had already rang our order -without any drinks- and seemed quite annoyed about having to wait for us to order more food (a small quiche is not enough for 3 people). They both kept rushing us only to stand behind the counter and do nothing. We didn't get to order the macaroons in fear of upsetting them even more. The service at the Georgetown location was much better.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paul's Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Paul's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paul's Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.