We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late night Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Rinconcito Cafe

El Rinconcito Cafe
1129 11th St NW, (between N L St & N M St), Washington DC, DC
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 2,700 Restaurants in Washington DC
Cuisines: Mexican, Salvadoran
Restaurant details
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Late night Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

After arriving in DC late on weekday night I was happy to find this place open. If you are looking for fancy decor and a scene this is not the place. This is more of a local stop where spanish soap operas are showing on the television and locals are sitting at the bar gossiping. As for the food it was fantastic. Even at 10 at night I was able to get a freshly prepared meal. I would definitely visit again.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    22
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, OH
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“!Que rico!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I was at a conference at the Convention Center and a friend and I were looking for a quick meal between sessions. He googled this place and off we went; really close to the convention center but a little shady looking from the outside. There were very few non-Latinos in the place; always a good sign. I haved live in Latin America and am fluent in Spanish so no biggie.
Very complete menu and a full bar. Mexican and Salvadoran specialties. I'm a vegetarian so I got fried plantains and the BEST chimichanga I have ever had. The place is very small--seems like it mostly does a take-out business, but the food was superb. Nothing fancy, but big, delicious portions. I would definitely go back when I'm in DC again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
green4859
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“What a find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I was looking for an authentic and good Mexican restaurant near where I work for lunch and did some web searching and found this place. And I'm glad that I did! They have an extensive menu full of good stuff. I ordered the Bistek Encebollado. It was so delicious!!! I would definitely come back again but I think I'll just order take-out. The place is small and not many seating. A lot of people come in to dine so it gets kind of tight.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Find near Thomas Circle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Came here alone at the end of my snow-lengthened visit (canceled flights!). Excellent food, friendly staff, and a bar!! And a bargain, too. Feels like you could be in Central America, but with DC snow outside the door.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Cracking Food for Great $”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Serve fantastic generous sized meals for extremely reasonable prices. Three of us had entree, beer and mains for $52. Win.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Rinconcito Cafe also viewed

Washington DC, DC
 
 

Been to El Rinconcito Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rinconcito Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.