We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and informative” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smithsonian National Mall Tours

Smithsonian National Mall Tours
1400 Constitution Ave., NW, National Museum of American History, Washington DC, DC 20560
+1 202-384-8516
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 157 Activities in Washington DC
Type: Segway Tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ride beside history! Prepared in consultation with Smithsonian experts, this premiere Segway tour highlights the architecture, art, culture, and history of Washington, DC's National Mall and many of Smithsonian's famed museums. Hear the many stories behind DC's landmarks and most famous national treasures on this three hour tour. Covering over 1,000 acres of the National Mall and Memorial Parks, this is DC's only tour that departs directly from the Mall at the National Museum of American History. Must be at least 16 years old to participate. (Min. weight 100lbs, max 260lbs).
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun and informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Our family took the Segway tour from the Smithsonian museum during our recent trip to Washington D.C.. Our guide (Lee Robinson) was very informative and a lot of fun. He taught us how to ride the Segway in just a few minutes and then we immediately began the tour. Lee was exceptional at giving us the history of the monuments, buildings and other sites along the way. We covered so much in 3 hours it was hard to believe. This is a "must do" in D.C.!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    4
    2
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Must do sunset tour!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Someone suggested we see the monuments at night. The smithsonian was offering a Segway tour at 7pm. It is a MUST do!!! It was cooler, there were no crowds and it was amazingly beautiful. John was our tour guide and he was GREAT.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Segwaying in Style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Wow! The Smithsonian Tour was one of the best experiences my girlfriend and I ever had. I have traveled to DC many times before, and can't believe I ever walked the Mall. The tour was very organized, and guide was very professional. Top notch!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Tour Ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I was a little nervous about riding the Segway, but after about 2 minutes I felt like a pro. DC has to be one of the best cities to tour by Segway. Great experience! Would do it again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“Great tour of the Hill.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Had a really great time on the segway tour and our guide, Lee was super informative. The three hour tour is plenty to see everything on the Hill and the segways are just the way to see it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithsonian National Mall Tours also viewed

 

Been to Smithsonian National Mall Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smithsonian National Mall Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.