We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service by a Great Team” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University to your Saves list
Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Florida Ave. NE, Washington DC, DC 20002   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Service by a Great Team”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

We stayed for 5 days in this Hotel visiting from the UK. The location is outside the main city centre, but the shuttle services provided are excellent, with the drivers being very helpful. The main service is from the hotel to Union Station, but at request they will take you to near enough anywhere in the city.
We stayed during the flight suspensions to the UK and the reception staff were very accomodating and helpful. The rooms are ok with some modernisation due in some areas. I would reccomend this hotel as great value for money, and fantastic customer service.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    61
    24
    6
    10
See reviews for
44
28
13
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristow, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

When I was looking online for an affordable but nice hotel for a recent visit to D.C., I came across the Kellogg Conference Hotel. Previous visitors had given it such great reviews that I booked it immediately--and I was not disappointed!! The hotel is on a gorgeous, historic college campus, within easy walking distance to Union Station and the Capitol Building; the campus is gated and multi-level parking for hotel guests is just a few steps from the hotel. All of the staff were friendly and helpful, and my room was cozy and luxurious; the beds were extra comfortable and had really luxe linens and pillows, and the quality furnishings made it feel like a room in someone's home! I felt so lucky to find such welcoming, affordable accommodation in D.C., so conveniently located to the event I was there to attend--I have already recommended the Kellogg to family and friends, and have planned another stay there again myself!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

I stayed at the hotel with my father Nov 3rd for three nights. The hotel is a nice hotel to stay at. the rooms are average, the price was excellent and the service was fine. the front desk staff were very nice and we utilized the shuttle all three days we were there. The shuttle driver even came in early to shuttle us to the Supreme Court at 7AM. Parking was free and in a covered garage. Our room was not fancy, but it was clean and the a/c and heat worked fine. There was coffee in the rooms. the bathrooms are all handicap access and are not luxurious but basic hotel bathrooms.
The location is not desirable for walking to D.C. attractions b/c of the area, but a taxi from the smithsonian was $10 on two different occasions.
This is not a Hyatt or JW marriott level hotel but it is safe, quiet and cheap to stay if you don't make taking a shuttle and/or cab everywhere you don't want to drive to. It is not a dump but it is not luxury either. A good bang for your buck when all the other hotels are much higher.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

Whilst the hotel facilities aren't bad (although there is nowhere to eat in or around the hotel after breakfast) and the rooms are a good size we left feeling disappointed.

The neighbourhood is NOT good and certainly not safe after dark. Whilst the regular metro shuttle and complimentary hotel shuttle go some way towards overcoming this it is still a major issue. There is no shuttle after 9.30pm and planning your day around the irregular timetable really is a nuisance.

Aside from one member of reception staff all other hotel employees were incompetent, inefficient and bewildered by any request of any kind. For example, our shower handle was clearly stuck and there was no hot water, the engineer insisted it must be a boiler issue (despite there being hot water in the sink) and duly disappeared. All calls to reception on this issue were met with the same lack of concern. The issue was only resolved after we insisting on moving rooms just to have a hot shower.

Overall I would recommend paying a few dollars extra and staying somewhere in town (Dupont circle, Georgetown etc.). This hotel is not really designed for tourists, more as a thoroughfare for conference-holders and the staff attitude is in line with this.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

The setting is beautiful, calm.

The shuttle to the metro is the best thing - It runs bang on schedule - make sure to get a transport pass at reception when you check-in. You can take the bus to Union station, or walk to NY Ave station if you miss the bus - about 10-15min to walk.

Though breakfast was additional, we got complimentary coupons for the continental breakfast, which is pretty good - fresh fruit, cereal, tea/coffee, toast/pastries.

The only thing is if you arrive late the day you check in, you can't just find something to eat across the street. But they'll give you a pizza delivery menu with coupons!

All in all, really liked it!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

We choose this hotel based on the reviews I read on Trip Advisor. We were looking for somewhere reasonable to stay close to the Amtrack Station. This hotel was perfect for that. Quiet location within the University and we also took use of their shuttle service which was great to get to the metro. Neighborhood was not good and we were told numerous times not to walk outside of the gates. This would not be the place to stay if you were visiting longer or wanted to walk to Metro.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

Spent two nights, very comforatable rooms, view of the capital building from room.
Center provides a shuttle to and from Union Station or cab service was only around $10 each way, after shuttle hours.

Safe covered garage to leave your car, no charge for parking. Neighborhood is depressed but campus is gated with really nice grounds. Good continental breakfast included with room

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University

Address: 800 Florida Ave. NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your event deserves the best. At the Kellogg Conference Hotel, we understand. We've earned an international reputation as one of the most respected convention center hotels in Washington DC by going beyond the expected with award-winning conference facilities, gourmet catering and the five-star accommodations and service of a leading Capitol Hill hotel. As you explore the location of your next event, discover why the Washington DC's leading corporate, government, wedding, social and third-party planners have made the Kellogg Conference Center the location of choice for outstanding corporate, educational and government conferences, destination weddings, family gatherings, recognition events and family celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Booking.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kellogg Conference Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.