We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in DC, but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University to your Saves list
Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Florida Ave. NE, Washington DC, DC 20002   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Hillsborough, NC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in DC, but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The Kellogg is a great facility with beautiful rooms, easy parking, great breakfasts, very 'green', all amenities, and a fantastic setting on the Gaulladet campus. It's reasonably priced for the area, as well. The only problem is reservations and check-in. Either their system or their staff are not up to the task, but it was a nightmare, and I really wasn't confident that we'd actually be in a room until we were. All in all, I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    61
    22
    6
    8
See reviews for
41
27
13
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Koronowo, Poland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Hotel is in the university area. It's realy quiet and safe place but the nieghbourhod of university isn't. I'd be afraid to go out after 11 pm outside universty zone. Perhaps that is just my feeling. But anyway it's quit a long way from hotel to city center. Hotel provides free shuttle bus to union station but it runs only in the morning. Rooms are very spacious, clean and quiet. Breakfast also realy nice. All in all quite good hotel but long way from ciaty center - perfect for buissnes trips, not so much tourists.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement G, Manager at Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy and honored that you have chosen to make the Kellogg Conference Hotel your choice hotel when you travel to the DC area. Please know we do not take your decision for granted and will continue to work hard to exceed your expectations.

Many of our guests enjoy having the option of walking to the Metro/mall or taking the complimentary shuttle.

Thank you again for your review and for your recommendation. We look forward to your return! As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

I appreciate your time –


Clement S Gomes
Rooms Division Manager
Clement.Gomes@gallaudet.edu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We were not sure what to expect but honestly the hotel was lovely. Initial impressions were not good, it's not a Holiday Inn, Best Western or Premier Inn, the room felt a bit tired BUT it was clean, quiet and all the staff were extremely helpful. Hot water when required WiFi in all areas and best of all the regular transport from the hotel direct to Union station where we then saw the sites of Washington from. We only had to get a taxis back to the campus once and that was only €15, all the other times we used the return shuttle from the bus station, all FREE, so all in all a fantastic base to see Washington with the ability to have some peace and quiet after a busy day site seeing, try it, you won't be disappointed.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement G, Manager at Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are fortunate to be in such a convenient location for all the reasons that you mentioned. Many of our guests enjoy having the option of walking to the Metro/mall or taking the complimentary shuttle. I am glad our location was convenient for your needs.

Thank you again for your review and for your recommendation. We look forward to your return! As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

I appreciate your time –


Clement S Gomes
Rooms Division Manager
Clement.Gomes@gallaudet.edu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

We arrived early afternoon and was greatest by a nice guy at the front desk. I think he was new but attempted to be very helpful. Parking was easy but 18 dollars and the university mostly empty. The room was nice. Probably like a 3 star. This am we grabbed some coffee and did not realize we were in a area for a conference. Had a very rude lady tell us to go upstairs to pay. But with that said a lot of nice people along the way. Overall convinence was amazing and I appreciate all the help.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement G, Manager at Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy and honored that you have chosen to make the Kellogg Conference Hotel your choice hotel when you travel to the DC area. Please know we do not take your decision for granted and will continue to work hard to exceed your expectations.

I am glad to hear that front desk was helpful to you. I am really sorry to hear about the attitude of the F&B outlet. This is absolutely not our standard. I have relayed your message to the concern manager and we will be taking corrective measure to improve the situation.

Thank you again for your review and for your recommendation. We look forward to your return! As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

I appreciate your time –


Clement S Gomes
Rooms Division Manager
Clement.Gomes@gallaudet.edu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We had a work project requiring 20 rooms. This property, on the campus of Gallaudet University, suited us well. The hotel is far from fancy and is probably closer to upscale dorms. But it's clean, the staff was very helpful, the wifi was fast and the free shuttle to Union Station was appreciated. If you are coming to see the sights of Washington, it's not exactly where you want to be. It's quite safe since you are in the middle of a campus, but the surrounding neighborhood is iffy. Using the shuttle would be recommended, especially at night.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement G, Manager at Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad to read that you had a positive stay experience. We understand traveling can sometimes be a hassle so we strive to offer a stress free stay to all of our guests.

I am glad that we have met your expectations. The hotel caters a lot of groups and events in a year. Many of our guests enjoy having the option of walking to the Metro/mall or taking the complimentary shuttle.

Thank you for your nice compliments of our conference staff. I will certainly relay your message to our concern manager.

Thank you again for your review and I hope you return soon! As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

I appreciate your time –


Clement S Gomes
Rooms Division Manager
clement.gomes@gallaudet.edu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Set on the campus of gallaudet this peaceful hotel is comfortable and clean. Most people here are deaf. But very welcoming
More of a business center than recreational. Shuttle bus to union station is free.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement G, Manager at Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review so others can benefit from your experience.

We are fortunate to be in such a convenient location for all the reasons that you mentioned. Many of our guests enjoy having the option of walk inside the campus. I am glad our location was convenient for your needs.

Thank you again for your review and I hope you return soon! As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

I appreciate your time –


Clement S Gomes
Rooms Division Manager
clement.gomes@gallaudet.edu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

The location of the Kellogg Conference Hotel is beautifully located on the Gallaudet campus. The hotel was very quite and would have been beautiful to run through campus had it not been down pouring the entire trip. Amenities in the hotel were sufficient, staff was attentive, and food was delicious. The conference I attended was 4 days long and the event staff worked tirelessly to make it run smoothly from the space to the food service. When I wanted to leave the campus a shuttle was conveniently available to go to Union Station to do some shopping, sightseeing, or get on the metro. On our last night, instead of heading into the elements, My friend and I decided to eat in the lounge/bar and the server was friendly, made great cocktails, and we watched him make our appetizers from scratch. It was a great place to hold a conference nod I would certainly plan on staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement G, Manager at Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review so others can benefit from your experience. We are fortunate to be in such a convenient location for all the reasons that you mentioned. Many of our guests enjoy having the option of walking to the Metro/mall or taking the complimentary shuttle. I am glad our location was convenient for your needs.

Thank you for your nice compliments of our conference staff. I will certainly relay your message to our concern manager.

Thank you again for your review and I hope you return soon! As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

I appreciate your time –


Clement S Gomes
Rooms Division Manager
clement.gomes@gallaudet.edu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University

Address: 800 Florida Ave. NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and BookIt.com so you can book your Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kellogg Conference Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.