We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a secret jewel in DC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University to your Saves list
Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Florida Ave. NE, Washington DC, DC 20002   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 136 Hotels in Washington DC
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“This is a secret jewel in DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for the first time about 5 years ago. I found it by looking for hotels in DC that didn't cost an arm and a leg but was clean. We love this place. The rooms are clean, quiet and roomy enough. The staff goes out of the way to assist you. This visit was not planned because my son had a health scare and we went to be with him. The staff was concerned and remembered to ask about him each day.
The breckfasts were good and fresh. We did not eat there for any other meal.
It is easy to get to the Hotel and the parking garage was close. There are shuttles to the Metro.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    67
    30
    9
    17
See reviews for
59
32
14
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Hotel provided most things you could want during a short stay. Rooms were spacious and clean although the air conditioning could not be turned off. We would have preferred to open a window. Staff were very helpful at all times during our stay. The free shuttle service to Union station was excellent and the grounds of the university beautiful as was Washington itself.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised at the beauty of the area. It is well kept and the hotel itself is perfectly fine for a stay in Washington. I was most impressed with the barkeeper/cook who operates the facilities in the second floor 'lunch area'. He is a one man show and keeps the place buzzing. I would have to concur about the remainder of the staff however: They are less than pleasant. I asked questions of the shuttle driver only to be rebuffed and told to <read the sign!>. If I was asking, it was only because the instructions about the free shuttle service were not clear. Same goes for the breakfast buffet that I was told was included in our room fee only to discover a 50$ surcharge on our room bill. The staff took no notice that we had been told that it was included.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The hotel is located on the campus of Gallaudet University, which appears to be designed for the deaf community. It is wonderfully safe, while the surrounding neighborhood doesn't appear to be all that savory at night every entrance to the university is shut except the one that goes by the guard post. Also, the room was very clean and well-stocked with amenities. Several restaurants deliver here, including Italian Kitchen on U which does a very good cannoli. The hotel is in a good location with an easy 20 min walk to downtown DC.

Room Tip: Ask for 5th floor... pretty views of the beautiful historic buildings on campus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

They are very cleanliness, friendly, service, room and many more. I love their bed like a heaven! This Hotel is almost 5 stars! I had been going there for almost 5 years to presents. They are my second home. - Ken Elks, MSSDAA President

Room Tip: Deaf Friendly and quiet at Gallaudet University
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed there for two nights, family of 4.
Good quiet location. Outdated, but clean room.
Front desk personal--well, could do a much better job...at times it felt like they were doing us a favor.
Continental breakfast--just don't bother. It was horrible...horrible to the point that even though we had a deal for it for free--we didn't eat anything there!!!
Best part is that hotel provides free transportation.
They have two shuttle routs--one regular, that leaves about every 15-20 minutes and can take you to Union Station. Second one is a small 6 passehger van that leaves the hotel every hour and if you manage to book it a day before, it can even take you to Reagan Airport--free!!! Or anywhere around National Mall...driver is a great guy, don't forget to tip him. He went out of his way to even pick me up from the Mall on the way back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

As this was our first time to DC, I was overwhelmed when searching for a hotel. For a family of 5 (three kids ages 9, 8, and 6), it was very expensive. Luckily, I stumbled across this property and the pictures online looked nice enough. The reviews I found gave the hotel good reviews and the price was perfect. $130/night which included parking and breakfast. I did realize that the hotel was actually on the University's campus. The campus is absolutely beautiful. The hotel was very nice and the rooms were modern and clean. It would have been nice to have a microwave and fridge in the room, but other than that, we were very pleased. We stayed two nights, Saturday and Sunday. We were going to take the metro into DC, but found on Sunday, free curb side parking was abundant and were only steps to all the museums we wished to visit. The hotel was only a ten minute drive to all our destinations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Days Inn Washington, DC - Connec...
#109 of 136 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 1,039 reviews
Windsor Park Hotel
#112 of 136 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Windsor Inn
Windsor Inn
#113 of 136 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Capitol Skyline Hotel
#104 of 136 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 915 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#101 of 136 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University

Address: 800 Florida Ave. NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your event deserves the best. At the Kellogg Conference Hotel, we understand. We've earned an international reputation as one of the most respected convention center hotels in Washington DC by going beyond the expected with award-winning conference facilities, gourmet catering and the five-star accommodations and service of a leading Capitol Hill hotel. As you explore the location of your next event, discover why the Washington DC's leading corporate, government, wedding, social and third-party planners have made the Kellogg Conference Center the location of choice for outstanding corporate, educational and government conferences, destination weddings, family gatherings, recognition events and family celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Groupon, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kellogg Conference Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.