We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University

Save Saved
You added Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Florida Ave. NE, Washington DC, DC 20002   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The room was clean, the beds were comfortable. It's a quiet location on the college campus, away from traffic noise. Close to the Capitol hill. Parking is in a garage and was included in a package we purchased, otherwise it would be $18/night. The staff was friendly and helpful. Have free shuttles to the next metro station and back every 20 min.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    47
    17
    6
    5
See reviews for
32
23
12
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stragihtforward unproblematic hotel: pleasant average size room, good wifi, friendly staff, OK breakfast.

Aspects that I think were not mentioned in earlier reviews:

* There is now a bar/cafe for light meals (typical dishes in 2013 $11) that may post-date some of the earlier reviews. The hotel guide also lists phone numbers of local delivery fast food places if that's what you fancy.
* The breakfast has two options - full American ($13, gets you bacon/potatoes/scrambled egg) or Continental (cheaper, but just porridge, muffins, Danish pastries etc.) - not the European idea of cereals, cheese, etc. Minimal bread options - some sliced white and a toaster.
* Quite a few of the staff are deaf, in keeping with the surrounding university. I thought this quite an appealing aspect, as it's an example of people who might have difficulty in some working environments making a real success of it - it's not problematic as there are normally staff with hearing around, though sometimes you may need to point to a menu choice etc.
* The lobby area has two PCs for guest use as well as the coffee etc. mentioned in another review.
* It's tucked away in the campus and not that easy to find - certainly not an easy stroll to anywhere except the leafy university. Not a problem if you have a car and don't mind DC's traffic, of course. Conversely it's quiet and peaceful with zero traffic noise.
* The air conditioning works well.
* European visitors may be surprised to find no bathplugs, though reception can organise one if you don't like showers.

I'd recommend it if you have specific business in DC and just want somewhere pleasant and reasonably-priced. Because of the location it's not ideal as a tourist base.

My background: British business visitor.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The room was clean, the beds were comfortable. It's a quiet location on the college campus, away from traffic noise. Parking is in a garage and was included in a package we purchased, otherwise I think it would be $18/night. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We just attended the Open House at Gallaudet University and had the pleasure to stay a such a clean, quiet and convenient hotel. I was going to stay in the outskirts of Washington DC but I realized that the location of the hotel was close to the Metro via the University shuttle bus. The shuttle ran all day long and dropped you off at union station. The beds were very comfortable, and I slept very well. I booked the Holiday promotion and received free parking (in a covered parking garage) and breakfast but I checked out many reservation sites to find the lowest price. The continental breakfast was always fresh and included a variety of different pastries, fresh fruit, cereals, bagels and oatmeal. All of the staff were pleasant and accommodating.All the rooms had a Sorenson VRS phone and a TTY device. The Campus is gated, safe and I felt very comfortable on the campus. The hotel did not have a pool but we could have used the University pool located in the Field House but we did not have any time. We definitely will be staying at the hotel in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Calm hotel area. Nice personnel, clean room. The breakfast was good, we got vouchers at time of booking the hotel and also free parking. That is significant when comparing other hotels in Washington. Normally the have a fee for parking, but there are deals out there. The area outside the university area is not ideal for a stroll. Recommend the excellent shuttle service which took us where we wanted to go. For free!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed here during Inaguration while in town to work. Very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms were older but looked like they had been renovated. Comfortable beds and clean bathrooms were not an issue here.Great resturaunts on site for breakfast and dinner/drinks. A small area near the front desk with snacks, drinks (beer and wine included), and other small items was also convienent. Hotel is located in the middle of a campus for deaf students.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Augustine
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

My 2 daughters and I stayed here for spring break, coming from Florida and wy, a little scary on the outskirts of the hotel/university, but inside it is very nice and clean and very modern, the people were very nice and arranged the shuttle for us both ways very appreciative, as you are better off not driving,crazy people doing really out there things, but hotel and surroundings and parking all are Great!! Lady in restaurant was hard of hearing but very Lilly problem..I would go back..

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University

Address: 800 Florida Ave. NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kellogg Conference Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.