We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable room.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University

Save Saved
You added Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Florida Ave. NE, Washington DC, DC 20002   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean, comfortable room.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The room was clean, the beds were comfortable. It's a quiet location on the college campus, away from traffic noise. Parking is in a garage and was included in a package we purchased, otherwise I think it would be $18/night. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    48
    17
    6
    5
See reviews for
32
23
12
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We just attended the Open House at Gallaudet University and had the pleasure to stay a such a clean, quiet and convenient hotel. I was going to stay in the outskirts of Washington DC but I realized that the location of the hotel was close to the Metro via the University shuttle bus. The shuttle ran all day long and dropped you off at union station. The beds were very comfortable, and I slept very well. I booked the Holiday promotion and received free parking (in a covered parking garage) and breakfast but I checked out many reservation sites to find the lowest price. The continental breakfast was always fresh and included a variety of different pastries, fresh fruit, cereals, bagels and oatmeal. All of the staff were pleasant and accommodating.All the rooms had a Sorenson VRS phone and a TTY device. The Campus is gated, safe and I felt very comfortable on the campus. The hotel did not have a pool but we could have used the University pool located in the Field House but we did not have any time. We definitely will be staying at the hotel in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Calm hotel area. Nice personnel, clean room. The breakfast was good, we got vouchers at time of booking the hotel and also free parking. That is significant when comparing other hotels in Washington. Normally the have a fee for parking, but there are deals out there. The area outside the university area is not ideal for a stroll. Recommend the excellent shuttle service which took us where we wanted to go. For free!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed here during Inaguration while in town to work. Very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms were older but looked like they had been renovated. Comfortable beds and clean bathrooms were not an issue here.Great resturaunts on site for breakfast and dinner/drinks. A small area near the front desk with snacks, drinks (beer and wine included), and other small items was also convienent. Hotel is located in the middle of a campus for deaf students.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Augustine
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

My 2 daughters and I stayed here for spring break, coming from Florida and wy, a little scary on the outskirts of the hotel/university, but inside it is very nice and clean and very modern, the people were very nice and arranged the shuttle for us both ways very appreciative, as you are better off not driving,crazy people doing really out there things, but hotel and surroundings and parking all are Great!! Lady in restaurant was hard of hearing but very Lilly problem..I would go back..

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Having read reviews of Washington hotels in our price range that were off-putting, to say the least, we were delighted to find this hotel. For once reality was better than the description. The room was fine but could have benefitted from a refrigerator. All the staff were pleasant and friendly but one of the staff on reception could do with support to improve his efficiency. The continental breakfast was delicious. The setting in the University was beautiful and it's worth spending some time walking round the campus. The free shuttle to Union station was regular and prompt, meaning that we could easily get to the museums and sights. Certainly one to be considered.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

A comfortable enough business hotel on a lovely peaceful campus with wonderful old buildings and cute squirrels (I do come from a country with none!).
The rooms were adequately furnished and clean but there is no mini bar nor drink maker in the room. I liked that the window could be opened for fresh air.
The lobby does have tea/coffee maker and some food available 24/7 and the reception staff are really helpful. There is no evening restaurant service on site - just breakfast and lunch.
The shuttle to Union Station was efficient and frequent. Taxi to Dulles (up to 1 hour) was about US$60 with a clear run off-peak though I was told it can be up to $90 when the traffic is bad.
It's not in a really walk-about suburb at night although the campus is secure and the Deaf students are very friendly when you are out walking around the place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University

Address: 800 Florida Ave. NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#74 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kellogg Conference Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.