We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money and the shuttle bus was great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University to your Saves list
Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Florida Ave. NE, Washington DC, DC 20002   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good value for money and the shuttle bus was great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Calm hotel area. Nice personnel, clean room. The breakfast was good, we got vouchers at time of booking the hotel and also free parking. That is significant when comparing other hotels in Washington. Normally the have a fee for parking, but there are deals out there. The area outside the university area is not ideal for a stroll. Recommend the excellent shuttle service which took us where we wanted to go. For free!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    64
    26
    9
    16
See reviews for
52
28
13
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here during Inaguration while in town to work. Very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms were older but looked like they had been renovated. Comfortable beds and clean bathrooms were not an issue here.Great resturaunts on site for breakfast and dinner/drinks. A small area near the front desk with snacks, drinks (beer and wine included), and other small items was also convienent. Hotel is located in the middle of a campus for deaf students.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Augustine
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

My 2 daughters and I stayed here for spring break, coming from Florida and wy, a little scary on the outskirts of the hotel/university, but inside it is very nice and clean and very modern, the people were very nice and arranged the shuttle for us both ways very appreciative, as you are better off not driving,crazy people doing really out there things, but hotel and surroundings and parking all are Great!! Lady in restaurant was hard of hearing but very Lilly problem..I would go back..

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Having read reviews of Washington hotels in our price range that were off-putting, to say the least, we were delighted to find this hotel. For once reality was better than the description. The room was fine but could have benefitted from a refrigerator. All the staff were pleasant and friendly but one of the staff on reception could do with support to improve his efficiency. The continental breakfast was delicious. The setting in the University was beautiful and it's worth spending some time walking round the campus. The free shuttle to Union station was regular and prompt, meaning that we could easily get to the museums and sights. Certainly one to be considered.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

A comfortable enough business hotel on a lovely peaceful campus with wonderful old buildings and cute squirrels (I do come from a country with none!).
The rooms were adequately furnished and clean but there is no mini bar nor drink maker in the room. I liked that the window could be opened for fresh air.
The lobby does have tea/coffee maker and some food available 24/7 and the reception staff are really helpful. There is no evening restaurant service on site - just breakfast and lunch.
The shuttle to Union Station was efficient and frequent. Taxi to Dulles (up to 1 hour) was about US$60 with a clear run off-peak though I was told it can be up to $90 when the traffic is bad.
It's not in a really walk-about suburb at night although the campus is secure and the Deaf students are very friendly when you are out walking around the place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Having read a few of the other reviews I am surprised as we found this a nice modern hotel with all the facilities and amenties as advertised on Hotels.com

When we arrived they had no reservation for us despite Hotels.com having debited my credit card with the full amount some 7 weeks beforehand, luckily for us the hotel wasn't busy and the receptionist took a copy of our booking & payment confirmation form that Hotels.com had emailed us and there was no further hassle - won't use Hotels.com again though as I had also phoned from the UK to confirm this reservation with them and they had confirmed it verbally as well as by email - waste of time, phone call and premium call charges.

There was a conference at the hotel the next morning and so we didn't have breakfast at the restuarant but caught the shuttle to the station instead and spent the day touring DC after which we caught the shuttle back again.

Very pleasant stay suited our needs perfectly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Prior to arrival I read reviews and I called for specific details about the shuttle. I was told that it was free, available for drop off and pick up and that it would take us to the airport. I had planned to land at Dulles, but I was told by hotel staff that the shuttle would only take me to Reagan. So, I changed airports. Kellogg was chosen over Westin (which was in a better location and less expensive). I thought the convienience of the shuttle was worth the extra money. To my suprise the hotel looked like the pictures on the internet. Alva (the clerk at the front desk) was friendly and she remembered my phone calls. Gerald the shuttle driver, was awesome. He was personable, dependable and informative. The first few days were great (minus a few minor issues that could have been much worse). After the 3rd day, problems started. Even when scheduled in advance, the shuttle was unavailable and no one told me. So, I came down strairs expecting a shuttle ride and was shocked when I would have to get a taxi or use the University shuttle to the train station and catch a cab from there. Small problems such as no coffee pot in the room caused some dismay but those problems were overshadowed by the kindness of Alva, Gerald and an African American female manager who called a museum for us and showed us how to get to the museum on the subway. At first Ms. Washington (a different staff member) was cold and somewhat unprofessional but her attitude later changed for the better. By the end of the week she was OK too. I left items at the hotel and they will be sent to me (at least that what I was promised) Overall, it was an OK experience. It definately could have been better but also it could have been MUCH Worse.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Days Inn Washington, DC - Connec...
#108 of 135 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 1,009 reviews
Windsor Park Hotel
#112 of 135 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Skyline Hotel
#102 of 135 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 879 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#101 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Dupont Circle
Windsor Inn
Windsor Inn
#111 of 135 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University

Address: 800 Florida Ave. NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your event deserves the best. At the Kellogg Conference Hotel, we understand. We've earned an international reputation as one of the most respected convention center hotels in Washington DC by going beyond the expected with award-winning conference facilities, gourmet catering and the five-star accommodations and service of a leading Capitol Hill hotel. As you explore the location of your next event, discover why the Washington DC's leading corporate, government, wedding, social and third-party planners have made the Kellogg Conference Center the location of choice for outstanding corporate, educational and government conferences, destination weddings, family gatherings, recognition events and family celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kellogg Conference Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.