We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inaguration Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University to your Saves list
Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Florida Ave. NE, Washington DC, DC 20002   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Inaguration Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed here during Inaguration while in town to work. Very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms were older but looked like they had been renovated. Comfortable beds and clean bathrooms were not an issue here.Great resturaunts on site for breakfast and dinner/drinks. A small area near the front desk with snacks, drinks (beer and wine included), and other small items was also convienent. Hotel is located in the middle of a campus for deaf students.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    51
    18
    6
    7
See reviews for
33
24
12
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St.Augustine
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

My 2 daughters and I stayed here for spring break, coming from Florida and wy, a little scary on the outskirts of the hotel/university, but inside it is very nice and clean and very modern, the people were very nice and arranged the shuttle for us both ways very appreciative, as you are better off not driving,crazy people doing really out there things, but hotel and surroundings and parking all are Great!! Lady in restaurant was hard of hearing but very Lilly problem..I would go back..

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Having read reviews of Washington hotels in our price range that were off-putting, to say the least, we were delighted to find this hotel. For once reality was better than the description. The room was fine but could have benefitted from a refrigerator. All the staff were pleasant and friendly but one of the staff on reception could do with support to improve his efficiency. The continental breakfast was delicious. The setting in the University was beautiful and it's worth spending some time walking round the campus. The free shuttle to Union station was regular and prompt, meaning that we could easily get to the museums and sights. Certainly one to be considered.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

A comfortable enough business hotel on a lovely peaceful campus with wonderful old buildings and cute squirrels (I do come from a country with none!).
The rooms were adequately furnished and clean but there is no mini bar nor drink maker in the room. I liked that the window could be opened for fresh air.
The lobby does have tea/coffee maker and some food available 24/7 and the reception staff are really helpful. There is no evening restaurant service on site - just breakfast and lunch.
The shuttle to Union Station was efficient and frequent. Taxi to Dulles (up to 1 hour) was about US$60 with a clear run off-peak though I was told it can be up to $90 when the traffic is bad.
It's not in a really walk-about suburb at night although the campus is secure and the Deaf students are very friendly when you are out walking around the place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Having read a few of the other reviews I am surprised as we found this a nice modern hotel with all the facilities and amenties as advertised on Hotels.com

When we arrived they had no reservation for us despite Hotels.com having debited my credit card with the full amount some 7 weeks beforehand, luckily for us the hotel wasn't busy and the receptionist took a copy of our booking & payment confirmation form that Hotels.com had emailed us and there was no further hassle - won't use Hotels.com again though as I had also phoned from the UK to confirm this reservation with them and they had confirmed it verbally as well as by email - waste of time, phone call and premium call charges.

There was a conference at the hotel the next morning and so we didn't have breakfast at the restuarant but caught the shuttle to the station instead and spent the day touring DC after which we caught the shuttle back again.

Very pleasant stay suited our needs perfectly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Prior to arrival I read reviews and I called for specific details about the shuttle. I was told that it was free, available for drop off and pick up and that it would take us to the airport. I had planned to land at Dulles, but I was told by hotel staff that the shuttle would only take me to Reagan. So, I changed airports. Kellogg was chosen over Westin (which was in a better location and less expensive). I thought the convienience of the shuttle was worth the extra money. To my suprise the hotel looked like the pictures on the internet. Alva (the clerk at the front desk) was friendly and she remembered my phone calls. Gerald the shuttle driver, was awesome. He was personable, dependable and informative. The first few days were great (minus a few minor issues that could have been much worse). After the 3rd day, problems started. Even when scheduled in advance, the shuttle was unavailable and no one told me. So, I came down strairs expecting a shuttle ride and was shocked when I would have to get a taxi or use the University shuttle to the train station and catch a cab from there. Small problems such as no coffee pot in the room caused some dismay but those problems were overshadowed by the kindness of Alva, Gerald and an African American female manager who called a museum for us and showed us how to get to the museum on the subway. At first Ms. Washington (a different staff member) was cold and somewhat unprofessional but her attitude later changed for the better. By the end of the week she was OK too. I left items at the hotel and they will be sent to me (at least that what I was promised) Overall, it was an OK experience. It definately could have been better but also it could have been MUCH Worse.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This hotel was a well appointed hotel with really nice rooms with everything you'd expect from a good quality hotel. Only gotcha was the free shuttle which runs to a time table and only goes to Union Station not anywhere we wanted in the city centre as understood and finishes too early in the evening. Taxis were no problem though. The uni setting makes for a very peaceful location. Due to nearby construction there was some noise across the street in the morning but obviously won't last. Free wifi was excellent.

Room Tip: For the remainder of 2012 ask for a room at the back of the hotel to be away from the construction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University

Address: 800 Florida Ave. NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kellogg Conference Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.