We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University

Save Saved
You added Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Florida Ave. NE, Washington DC, DC 20002   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Chesapeake, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A nice business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

I just returned from a week's stay at the Kellogg Conference Hotel for a conference that was from Tuesday to Friday morning. I drove right onto the Gallaudet campus in my personal vehicle, so have no insight into the Metro or getting to the hotel from the airport.

Check in was a breeze and I was delighted to learn that the parking fee for the hotel was a paltry $18/night. Compared to other DC hotels, that's a steal. I was directed to my room on the 4th floor. The room size was smaller than I am accustomed to. It was a two queen bedroom, but the room was sized to hold the two beds and nothing much else. I did have a nice desk chair to work from and bureau for my clothing, on top of which was a Samsung flat screen television (32", is my guess). I prefer rooms that might hold one queen bed, plus a table and sitting chair or two. I do not like using a bed as furniture for watching television or having a conversation with a visitor to the room.

Internet in was free and freakishly fast for a hotel. I had both wired and wireless available to me in my room, but did learn that others in my conference did not have the wired option in their rooms. Luck of the draw, I guess. My business issued laptop only takes wired. I was told the other rooms were as well wired, but they were "turned off".

The food in the hotel at their breakfast and lunch bistro was fantastic. Both meals were buffet style with different prices for the options available. Lunches were especially non-traditional and flavorful. Being the school is for the deaf, the staff in the restaurant was as well deaf. I still managed everyday of my stay to get wonderful meals and learned to say Thank You in sign language.

A very nice stay for this conference.

Room Tip: Rooms are wired for internet (not only wireless), but are turned off. I was told that the front des...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    47
    17
    6
    5
See reviews for
32
23
12
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Fossil I really enjoyed my stay here, the hotel rooms are clean and well appointed, only a few years old I think.

The staff are really nice and the facility are good.

As its on a University campus it was pretty quiet and felt safe.

It’s a conference centre so you will have a loot of business types getting around but that’s no problem.

Parking was in a multilevel secure car park about 300m from the Hotel. No worries with walking from there to the Hotel at night as its well lit and patrolled by Uni Police.

If you are looking to stay out of the City but not to far and have a clean, well appointed Hotel with lovely staff then this Hotel is for you.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

I have known of Gallaudet University as the first American institution for deaf-mute persons and wanted to try out Kellog Conference Center as Gallaudet is reasonably close to Union Station, and therefore to downtown D.C. This is true--but I would advise against walking (certainly not at night) through a depressed area. The free shuttle runs very often and is mostly on time (though not during rush hour)--it's the easiest way of getting to the hotel. There is a parking garage near the hotel, but parking is something like $ 18.00 for 24 hours--not exactly cheap.

The Conference Center itself is nicely furnished, clean and inviting; the rooms are on the small side but perfectly adequate. Breakfast is very good and generous--and your servers will be deaf-mute (only the supervisor can speak). But that is perhaps the most astounding--and exhilarating--experience: To see how happy and perfectly functioning this group of students is, who would not consider themselves "handicapped."

I would recommend the Kellog Conference Center for anyone who wants to gain insight into a world that will normally be closed to most of us.

Room Tip: No preference--rooms are on the upper floors, above the conference rooms, anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

A place we can only but recommend; very nice atmosphere and safe surrounding at the university area; friendly and helpful staff; quiet and clean room; free and fast Internet; good breakfast you have to pay for; free regular bus service to train station which was great; expensive parking. We definitely will book in again when coming to Washington

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

This small hotel is situated at the Gallaudet University campus. It is a very unique university, as it is university for mute and deaf students. The staff is very helpful. There is a shuttle to Union Station, which takes about 15 minutes drive. There is a parking place for your car, but you will have to pay extra for it. I will stay there again next time I will be in Washington DC.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

I stayed here with a friend who was in town for a conference at the university. The hotel is nicely appointed. The room was on the smallish side, but clean, crisp and new feeling/looking. The cafe seemed to have kind of strange hours, couldn't seem to catch a meal there, so can't speak to it. Also didn't have a car, but I bet there's free parking. That would be a major bonus. The internet was high speed and free. The grounds of the university are beautiful. It's a nice short walk to H Street with some great places to eat. We really like Ethiopian so that was a plus to be able to walk there. Capital Hill neighborhood is also a nice walk.

The negatives: the shuttle (maybe b/c it's summertime) was nearly always late and unreliable. The walk to the metro is through a depressed area and maybe dicey at night. The service is not like a regular hotel. There is one person who staffs the desk and it's a kid! They looked like maybe early 20's. The guy had no clue about anything, including what building the pool was in and wasn't about to try to find out. There was a young woman on staff later who had her act much more together, was professional and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

Very good hotel with friendly staff, big comfortable rooms in a quiet environment. The neighbourhood around the hotel didn't look safe to me but they offer free 10-minute shuttle service to union station which is great.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University

Address: 800 Florida Ave. NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kellogg Conference Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.