We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent atmosphere - highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Travelocity
and 10 more sites!
Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Florida Ave. NE, Washington DC, DC 20002   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Stuttgart
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent atmosphere - highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

A place we can only but recommend; very nice atmosphere and safe surrounding at the university area; friendly and helpful staff; quiet and clean room; free and fast Internet; good breakfast you have to pay for; free regular bus service to train station which was great; expensive parking. We definitely will book in again when coming to Washington

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    46
    17
    7
    5
See reviews for
25
20
12
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

This small hotel is situated at the Gallaudet University campus. It is a very unique university, as it is university for mute and deaf students. The staff is very helpful. There is a shuttle to Union Station, which takes about 15 minutes drive. There is a parking place for your car, but you will have to pay extra for it. I will stay there again next time I will be in Washington DC.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

I stayed here with a friend who was in town for a conference at the university. The hotel is nicely appointed. The room was on the smallish side, but clean, crisp and new feeling/looking. The cafe seemed to have kind of strange hours, couldn't seem to catch a meal there, so can't speak to it. Also didn't have a car, but I bet there's free parking. That would be a major bonus. The internet was high speed and free. The grounds of the university are beautiful. It's a nice short walk to H Street with some great places to eat. We really like Ethiopian so that was a plus to be able to walk there. Capital Hill neighborhood is also a nice walk.

The negatives: the shuttle (maybe b/c it's summertime) was nearly always late and unreliable. The walk to the metro is through a depressed area and maybe dicey at night. The service is not like a regular hotel. There is one person who staffs the desk and it's a kid! They looked like maybe early 20's. The guy had no clue about anything, including what building the pool was in and wasn't about to try to find out. There was a young woman on staff later who had her act much more together, was professional and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

Very good hotel with friendly staff, big comfortable rooms in a quiet environment. The neighbourhood around the hotel didn't look safe to me but they offer free 10-minute shuttle service to union station which is great.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

I stayed at this hotel because I had a conference there. I had a large, spacious suite (though one of the two televisions didn't really "work"), and I was very comfortable. The hotel is not in the greatest location if you want to walk out the door and see D.C. *however* they offer a very convenient 10-minute free shuttle service that takes you right into the heart of D.C. This is a terrific option. The staff was friendly and pleasant. I didn't take advantage of the little bar, but it looked nice. They have a very well-stocked 24-hour "convenience store" right next to the front desk that cleverly offers things like sandwiches, wine, and potato chips. They did a very nice job with the conference and the conference dinner. It's not what I'd call a luxurious hotel, but it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

I checked in, everything was fine I had a nice sleep and the next day I went out to get breakfast. When I came back my fridge was gone. I knew I had a fridge to begin with because I put my drink in there. There was only an empty space. I went downstairs and said my fridge was missing. They said they took it becuase it wasn't included in the reservation. I told them they can't give someone a room with a fridge an then take it out the next day while I'm gone, shady people. I told them that the reservation doesn't say I get an iron, coffee maker, hot water, air conditioning and internet. But nonetheless all of those are included and no one took those out. It's becuase I booked for a lower price than most when I checked out the rates the day of. Never go to a hotel that changes its mind on what amenities they give you one day and then take it when you're gone.

Room Tip: look to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

The hotel is nice...large rooms, clean and comfortable. Gallaudet is a really pretty campus and the Kellogg Center is located there...however, as stated in other reviews, the area around campus is pretty sketchy. The person at the desk was very nice but a bit disorganized. Free high speed internet worked great. The exercise room is pretty small and limited but was fine for a quick workout. No food service available after a certain time, however breakfast and lunch at their resturant were very good.

Overall, very pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University

Also Known As:
Kellogg Conference Hotel
Address: 800 Florida Ave. NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Otel, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University to your Saves list