We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent atmosphere - highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University to your Saves list
Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Florida Ave. NE, Washington DC, DC 20002   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent atmosphere - highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

A place we can only but recommend; very nice atmosphere and safe surrounding at the university area; friendly and helpful staff; quiet and clean room; free and fast Internet; good breakfast you have to pay for; free regular bus service to train station which was great; expensive parking. We definitely will book in again when coming to Washington

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    65
    27
    9
    17
See reviews for
56
30
13
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

This small hotel is situated at the Gallaudet University campus. It is a very unique university, as it is university for mute and deaf students. The staff is very helpful. There is a shuttle to Union Station, which takes about 15 minutes drive. There is a parking place for your car, but you will have to pay extra for it. I will stay there again next time I will be in Washington DC.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

I stayed here with a friend who was in town for a conference at the university. The hotel is nicely appointed. The room was on the smallish side, but clean, crisp and new feeling/looking. The cafe seemed to have kind of strange hours, couldn't seem to catch a meal there, so can't speak to it. Also didn't have a car, but I bet there's free parking. That would be a major bonus. The internet was high speed and free. The grounds of the university are beautiful. It's a nice short walk to H Street with some great places to eat. We really like Ethiopian so that was a plus to be able to walk there. Capital Hill neighborhood is also a nice walk.

The negatives: the shuttle (maybe b/c it's summertime) was nearly always late and unreliable. The walk to the metro is through a depressed area and maybe dicey at night. The service is not like a regular hotel. There is one person who staffs the desk and it's a kid! They looked like maybe early 20's. The guy had no clue about anything, including what building the pool was in and wasn't about to try to find out. There was a young woman on staff later who had her act much more together, was professional and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

Very good hotel with friendly staff, big comfortable rooms in a quiet environment. The neighbourhood around the hotel didn't look safe to me but they offer free 10-minute shuttle service to union station which is great.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

I stayed at this hotel because I had a conference there. I had a large, spacious suite (though one of the two televisions didn't really "work"), and I was very comfortable. The hotel is not in the greatest location if you want to walk out the door and see D.C. *however* they offer a very convenient 10-minute free shuttle service that takes you right into the heart of D.C. This is a terrific option. The staff was friendly and pleasant. I didn't take advantage of the little bar, but it looked nice. They have a very well-stocked 24-hour "convenience store" right next to the front desk that cleverly offers things like sandwiches, wine, and potato chips. They did a very nice job with the conference and the conference dinner. It's not what I'd call a luxurious hotel, but it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

I checked in, everything was fine I had a nice sleep and the next day I went out to get breakfast. When I came back my fridge was gone. I knew I had a fridge to begin with because I put my drink in there. There was only an empty space. I went downstairs and said my fridge was missing. They said they took it becuase it wasn't included in the reservation. I told them they can't give someone a room with a fridge an then take it out the next day while I'm gone, shady people. I told them that the reservation doesn't say I get an iron, coffee maker, hot water, air conditioning and internet. But nonetheless all of those are included and no one took those out. It's becuase I booked for a lower price than most when I checked out the rates the day of. Never go to a hotel that changes its mind on what amenities they give you one day and then take it when you're gone.

Room Tip: look to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
74 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

The hotel is nice...large rooms, clean and comfortable. Gallaudet is a really pretty campus and the Kellogg Center is located there...however, as stated in other reviews, the area around campus is pretty sketchy. The person at the desk was very nice but a bit disorganized. Free high speed internet worked great. The exercise room is pretty small and limited but was fine for a quick workout. No food service available after a certain time, however breakfast and lunch at their resturant were very good.

Overall, very pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Days Inn Washington, DC - Connec...
#108 of 135 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 1,017 reviews
Windsor Park Hotel
#112 of 135 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Windsor Inn
Windsor Inn
#111 of 135 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 stars 229 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#101 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 213 reviews
Capitol Skyline Hotel
#102 of 135 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University

Address: 800 Florida Ave. NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your event deserves the best. At the Kellogg Conference Hotel, we understand. We've earned an international reputation as one of the most respected convention center hotels in Washington DC by going beyond the expected with award-winning conference facilities, gourmet catering and the five-star accommodations and service of a leading Capitol Hill hotel. As you explore the location of your next event, discover why the Washington DC's leading corporate, government, wedding, social and third-party planners have made the Kellogg Conference Center the location of choice for outstanding corporate, educational and government conferences, destination weddings, family gatherings, recognition events and family celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kellogg Conference Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.