We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“staff and management terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University to your Saves list
Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Florida Ave. NE, Washington DC, DC 20002   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“staff and management terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

I checked in, everything was fine I had a nice sleep and the next day I went out to get breakfast. When I came back my fridge was gone. I knew I had a fridge to begin with because I put my drink in there. There was only an empty space. I went downstairs and said my fridge was missing. They said they took it becuase it wasn't included in the reservation. I told them they can't give someone a room with a fridge an then take it out the next day while I'm gone, shady people. I told them that the reservation doesn't say I get an iron, coffee maker, hot water, air conditioning and internet. But nonetheless all of those are included and no one took those out. It's becuase I booked for a lower price than most when I checked out the rates the day of. Never go to a hotel that changes its mind on what amenities they give you one day and then take it when you're gone.

Room Tip: look to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    51
    18
    6
    7
See reviews for
33
24
12
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

The hotel is nice...large rooms, clean and comfortable. Gallaudet is a really pretty campus and the Kellogg Center is located there...however, as stated in other reviews, the area around campus is pretty sketchy. The person at the desk was very nice but a bit disorganized. Free high speed internet worked great. The exercise room is pretty small and limited but was fine for a quick workout. No food service available after a certain time, however breakfast and lunch at their resturant were very good.

Overall, very pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
653 helpful votes 653 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

Panasonic was the lead sponsor for Gallaudet University's First World Deaf Cinema Festival (WDCF). When I checked in I was told the hotel was over booked. I was offered off site accommodations, which I declined since as the lead sponsor and exhibitor I needed to be within close proximity. I finally agreed to stay in a room with only a pull-out sofa, which was not very comfortable. The WDCF event was great, but, my hotel stay was less than great.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

This hotel is situated in the university grounds some way from Union Station,our arrival point; although once we found the free shuttle bus( it leaves from the upper level car park timetables are provided by the hotel) then it is easy to get to and from. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was huge, very clean,light and airy. The beds were most comfortable affording a good nights sleep. The bathroom was spotless and of a good standard. Be aware that out of term time the only transport available to and from town after about 6pm are taxis so if on a budget then this may prove expensive. The metro though only a few streets away was not recommended after this time. A good hotel but probably not for the average tourist given its location.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

The number one issue about this hotel is the service. There is only one person at the desk and it will take you about 30 minutes to an hour to check out. The employees there take their sweet time to do their duties. Another thing is that the hotel is pricey. It should be around 100 dollars a night.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

Let's go with the plusses: the room was very clean and well-furnished, with bed frames, and bedding of high quality, and the bathroom fixtures were of equally good quality; nothing in the domain of what was in the room itself, including noise levels and so forth, would merit anything but appreciation and even praise. Yet what the Kellogg lacks is what a good hotel by definition contains/offers, namely the amenities that are in fact so necessary, they really cannot be called "amenities," beginning with a round-the clock restaurant, a full-service bar/cocktail lounge (or at least the full range of alcohol in lieu of actual wait staff / bartenders), and 24/7 room service. The "cafe" put forth as a substitute is exceptionally meager; it would amount to a gesture were it free, but as a paid service, it is woefully substandard and available only at certain times, e.g. certain hours of the day, and on weekends more or less defunct. To fill in the gap, Kellogg offered a range --again very substandard-- of overpriced, gas station-quality & variety wrapped sandwiches and salads that would not really have been wholly edible at half the price, but at full price were hard to swallow, pun intended.

The absence of any meaningful food service at Kellogg is all the more significant in light of the fact that the Gallaudet University, where the Kellogg is located, is in a bad area wherein one most definitely does not feel safe; to reach areas featuring restaurants or grocery stores, one has to traverse these bad areas to get to the metro station. The sole place to eat within walking distance is a Burger King; BK is not exactly appealing in any event, but what slim appeal it might have, is sharply diminished by the very unpleasant neighborhood. So, at Kellogg, you're faced with ordering what amounts to junk food, or eating gas-station type sandwiches and chips, or taking 45 minutes to get to some district where it's safe to walk around to look for something to eat. This by itself puts Kellogg out of the running, for me.

But there is more: whoever is responsible for this hotel is definitely not keeping on top of things, because the information handed out by the staff is patently erroneous, and I mean information with respect to "amenities" offered by Kellogg. At each and every point, I was misdirected, sent on really frustrating wild goose chases to eateries that did not exist in the locations listed on the brochures the staff gave me, and that were not open at the hours listed on pamphlets that the staff gave me. The same can be said of the pool that supposedly is offered for guests' use: in this instance, frustrated by my inability to find the pool using the map that was given me --the map, of course, proved wrong-- I doubled back to the front desk, and on the second mission in search of the pool, was accompanied by front desk staff. Yet even she was totally defeated, unable even to locate the pool. So, not only did we never find the pool, we were told that in fact it was not open anyway! More wasted time, more wasted energy.

PS: don't be fooled by the claim of a "fitness center." It's a lot like the exercise equipment corner at the Salvation Army or Goodwill store. The stuff is a joke, the atmosphere dismal.

The left hand clearly does not know what the right is doing at Kellogg, and it needs be said, as well, that they need MORE staff, too.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

Was apprehensive based on reviews of this hotel. Glad to say that the hotel was great! The rooms were very clean, bedding was very comfortable (comparable to a Marriott), the staff was very friendly. Hotel is located in the conference center of Gallaudet University gated (which is a deaf campus). Free parking w/ 24 hour security. The area is an urban city area. The metro is several blocks away but the hotel offers free shuttle service to any location in DC as well as shuttle service back and forth to Union station which has many restaurants and shopping. Hotel has a small restaurant w limited hours no restaurants within walking distance. We had a car but also used the shuttle.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University

Address: 800 Florida Ave. NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kellogg Conference Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.