We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up and coming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of U Street

U Street
Washington DC, DC (Dupont Circle)
Improve this listing
Ranked #108 of 242 Attractions in Washington DC
Type: Landmarks & points of interest, Neighborhoods, Sights & Landmarks, Other
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Nightlife, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The U Street Corridor is home to some of DC's iconic foods. Ben's Chili Bowl, home of the half-smoke, is there plus an area referred to by some as "Little Ethiopia" due to the large number of Ethiopian restaurants.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Up and coming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Okay, I have to admit I was expecting a little more glitz, but this is definitely the new shabby chic corridor of DC. In fact, that's what's so charming about it... no need to bring out the Armani suits... just be yourself and have fun.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    22
    11
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“still sketchy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

a lot has been done, to make the area nicer and safer. but there are still some "strange" people around and some of the bars are really filthy.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hip neighborhood with a lot of weekend/evening life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I live in this neighborhood so I wish you would all stop driving here and parking on residential streets. Otherwise, it's a great place to hang out. Something for everyone. Ben's is overrated (even though I still go there after 10 years for the occasional overpriced food). Go to Florida Avenue Grill for a more authentic U Street experience.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacolod, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dirty but Damn Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

If you're into the whole "tofurkey" diet, I don't recommend this place for you. While they do have vegetarian-friendly options, it smells of greasy American diner that hasn't been thoroughly cleaned since when it first opened. I guess with the high influx of tourists and locals, the staff have little or no time to do a thorough wipe down of most things. But still- this place stands the test of time and has a lot of incredible history behind it. Not to mention it has the best damn half-smoked sausages I've had.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“A late night must”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Just a cool place to visit while in DC. I always recommend Ben's to out of towners and bring folks there late night for the heart stopper food. Everything is tasty but nothing is outstanding. The best part of Ben's is the history, the people watching, and the hangover relieving heartburn. Have been here at least 100 times and will be back at least another hundred.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U Street also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to U Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage U Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.