We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip neighborhood with a lot of weekend/evening life” 5 of 5 stars
Review of U Street

U Street
Washington DC, DC (Dupont Circle)
Improve this listing
Ranked #124 of 346 things to do in Washington DC
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The U Street Corridor is home to some of DC's iconic foods. Ben's Chili Bowl, home of the half-smoke, is there plus an area referred to by some as "Little Ethiopia" due to the large number of Ethiopian restaurants.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hip neighborhood with a lot of weekend/evening life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I live in this neighborhood so I wish you would all stop driving here and parking on residential streets. Otherwise, it's a great place to hang out. Something for everyone. Ben's is overrated (even though I still go there after 10 years for the occasional overpriced food). Go to Florida Avenue Grill for a more authentic U Street experience.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank badmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    25
    15
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bacolod, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dirty but Damn Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

If you're into the whole "tofurkey" diet, I don't recommend this place for you. While they do have vegetarian-friendly options, it smells of greasy American diner that hasn't been thoroughly cleaned since when it first opened. I guess with the high influx of tourists and locals, the staff have little or no time to do a thorough wipe down of most things. But still- this place stands the test of time and has a lot of incredible history behind it. Not to mention it has the best damn half-smoked sausages I've had.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank PensionBacolodPRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
174 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A late night must”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Just a cool place to visit while in DC. I always recommend Ben's to out of towners and bring folks there late night for the heart stopper food. Everything is tasty but nothing is outstanding. The best part of Ben's is the history, the people watching, and the hangover relieving heartburn. Have been here at least 100 times and will be back at least another hundred.

Helpful?
1 Thank lunarluau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Late night run!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This place is great to fill your tummy late at night. A relaxed vibe and quality chili on your dog. Yum yum.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tangelo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I visit all the time.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

There are some nice pubs but it wasnt as great as I thought it would be. You have to dig deep and find the good rooftops.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U Street also viewed

 

Been to U Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing