We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty but Damn Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of U Street

U Street
Washington DC, DC (Dupont Circle)
Improve this listing
Ranked #104 of 234 Attractions in Washington DC
Type: Neighborhoods, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Nightlife, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The U Street Corridor is home to some of DC's iconic foods. Ben's Chili Bowl, home of the half-smoke, is there plus an area referred to by some as "Little Ethiopia" due to the large number of Ethiopian restaurants.
Bacolod, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dirty but Damn Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

If you're into the whole "tofurkey" diet, I don't recommend this place for you. While they do have vegetarian-friendly options, it smells of greasy American diner that hasn't been thoroughly cleaned since when it first opened. I guess with the high influx of tourists and locals, the staff have little or no time to do a thorough wipe down of most things. But still- this place stands the test of time and has a lot of incredible history behind it. Not to mention it has the best damn half-smoked sausages I've had.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    21
    11
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“A late night must”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Just a cool place to visit while in DC. I always recommend Ben's to out of towners and bring folks there late night for the heart stopper food. Everything is tasty but nothing is outstanding. The best part of Ben's is the history, the people watching, and the hangover relieving heartburn. Have been here at least 100 times and will be back at least another hundred.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Late night run!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This place is great to fill your tummy late at night. A relaxed vibe and quality chili on your dog. Yum yum.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“I visit all the time.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

There are some nice pubs but it wasnt as great as I thought it would be. You have to dig deep and find the good rooftops.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“a classic with delicious food of artery clogging wonderment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

how can you not go to this long time local favorite, and imagine the days when U street was something else entirely. Plus it is yummy!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U Street also viewed

 

Been to U Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage U Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.