We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty but Damn Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of U Street

U Street
Washington DC, DC (National Mall)
Improve this listing
Ranked #119 of 249 attractions in Washington DC
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Neighborhoods
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Nightlife, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The U Street Corridor is home to some of DC's iconic foods. Ben's Chili Bowl, home of the half-smoke, is there plus an area referred to by some as "Little Ethiopia" due to the large number of Ethiopian restaurants.
Bacolod, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dirty but Damn Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

If you're into the whole "tofurkey" diet, I don't recommend this place for you. While they do have vegetarian-friendly options, it smells of greasy American diner that hasn't been thoroughly cleaned since when it first opened. I guess with the high influx of tourists and locals, the staff have little or no time to do a thorough wipe down of most things. But still- this place stands the test of time and has a lot of incredible history behind it. Not to mention it has the best damn half-smoked sausages I've had.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    17
    11
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A late night must”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Just a cool place to visit while in DC. I always recommend Ben's to out of towners and bring folks there late night for the heart stopper food. Everything is tasty but nothing is outstanding. The best part of Ben's is the history, the people watching, and the hangover relieving heartburn. Have been here at least 100 times and will be back at least another hundred.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Late night run!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This place is great to fill your tummy late at night. A relaxed vibe and quality chili on your dog. Yum yum.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“I visit all the time.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

There are some nice pubs but it wasnt as great as I thought it would be. You have to dig deep and find the good rooftops.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“a classic with delicious food of artery clogging wonderment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

how can you not go to this long time local favorite, and imagine the days when U street was something else entirely. Plus it is yummy!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U Street also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to U Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage U Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added U Street to your Saves list