We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We have had several outstanding stays at the Mandarin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C.

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C. to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C.
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1330 Maryland Avenue, SW, Washington DC, DC 20024   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Daily Dining / Spa Credit
Ranked #20 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
“We have had several outstanding stays at the Mandarin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

We have stayed at the Mandarin several times during trips to D.C., and, even though the hotel is not located conveniently located near D.C. attractions, we generally use a cab to get around D.C. and it is not any more expensive to get to theaters and restaurants from the Mandarin than from many other hotels in D.C. In some ways, we like the quiet location of the Mandarin. It is one of the few hotels in D. C. where we have actually enjoyed walking around at night. The view down to the Capitol is stunning, whether by day or night, and you have good views of several other monuments.The rooms are immaculate, the restaurant serves delicious food, and the spa is first class, although expensive, like everything else at this hotel. Check the website regularly, rates can vary quite a bit, especially on weekends. We like the rooms on the river side for their views.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    297
    107
    62
    28
See reviews for
221
245
54
393
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

We usually stay at other hotels in the District but the event we were attending was at this hotel. The rooms are nice and large, clean and the staff was amazingly helpful and courteous. We enjoyed staying on one of the Club Level floors and the Tai Pan lounge was great for grabbing breakfast, afternoon snacks and drinks. Well worth the slight extra cost. Although the restaurant we had lunch in wasn't great, the overall experience at this hotel was very good. We wish it were a bit closer to the other restaurants and tourist destinations.

Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOWashingtonDCHotel, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C., responded to this review, June 14, 2010
Dear Okcathy124,

We are delighted to hear of your positive experience and we thank you for sharing! It is unfortunate that the location did not contribute to your overall satisfaction and for this we do apologize. There have been others that have not particularly enjoyed our location as well and it seems a bit odd considering the many marvelous Washington D.C. treasures at our doorstep. I hope you will indulge me for just a moment as I wish to point out the many attributes of the Washington Waterfront.

It is most definitely true that during the late evening hours, the area around the hotel tends to be very quite. The sleepy streets are welcome to some but not all and we certainly understand that; but the overall location offers something for everyone, be it convenience to air travel, unique Washington experiences on the water or ease to popular tourist destinations.

We built here in order to take advantage of the proximity to Capitol Hill, airports and Union Station, the Smithsonian Museums and the Washington Waterfront, and of course, the incredible views. Nowhere in the city can you spy the monuments quite like you can from Mandarin Oriental; the Washington Monument greets you upon arrival, the Capitol Building is framed beautifully by cherry trees from our front cul de sac, and the Jefferson Memorial is just steps away via our own private footbridge. The Jefferson Memorial’s adjacent Tidal Basin is a marvelous place to picnic or paddle boat, and the neighboring DC Fish Market, a series of large boats stretched along the channel, sells fresh and cooked seafood to locals and tourists alike. Quick access to Metro and all of the cities major arteries including 395 & 295, 14th Street and Rock Creek Parkway converging at our back door.

So we hope guests will consider exploring our unique location and allow us to assist in navigating this small and lesser known quadrant of the city; there truly is a great deal to offer.

I would be delighted to discuss any of the above. Feel free to call 202-787-6112, my direct line, or speak with the hotel concierge to learn more about the neighborhoods of south west Washington. We look forward to your next visit and again, thank you for your candid feedback!


Warm Regards,

Robert Lowe
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

My husband and I stayed one night after our anniversary dinner at Cityzen. We live in the area so we weren't staying for the location and the sightseeing, but as many others have noted this is not a good location for anything other than the cherry blossoms. One look at a map should help one to figure this out though. That said, the hotel itself is very nice, and bit large and a bit impersonal but that is sort of the nature of a hotel this size. The rooms are luxurious, not the best I've stayed in at this price range but the bathrooms are huge and luxurious and everything is clean and as it should be. I had heard the spa was very good and it definitely lived up to my expectations - the facilities are top notch, with a large locker area that was spotless, and very nice treatment rooms. I would definitely come back just to do spa treatments. The restaurant, Cityzen, was excellent and is consistently named as one of the best restaurants in DC, but you need reservations well in advance. The other restaurant where we had breakfast was only ok - it seemed like they wanted to push everyone into having the buffet so they didn't have to bother with serving you. We ate a la carte for half the price of the buffet and without getting up and down to get everything ourselves. As I said, I do live in the area and I've been a few times to the jazz nights they have in their lobby - very fun, a little loud, and good but expensive drinks. If you don't mind taking a cab everywhere from the hotel this isn't a bad choice.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

The Mandarin in DC is a great hotel with the best rooms in town, but its in an odd location. I wouldn't recommend walking around the area at night because the streets are empty. For people who want to walk around in the evening or have restaurants near by I would recommend looking at hotels near Dupont or even right by the White House.

Otherwise the hotel is great. The rooms are large and well appointed. Hands down the best shower at any hotel (except maybe the Mandarin in NYC).

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

We spent one night at this hotel because we were dining at CityZen -- one of our favorite restaurants in the US. I splurged by reserving a corner room with a river view to enjoy before and after dinner. They didn't have any of those rooms available when we checked in, and it turned out to be hours before we finally got into an acceptable room. I was shocked at how badly the front desk handled the whole situation. Kudos to the bellman and (eventually) the manager for resolving things.

The room we finally received was beautiful and the location of the hotel is great. But the visit was definitely soured by our check-in experience. I agree with the comments that the staff here needs training and a better attitude.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

NO ONE SEEMS TO CARE ... POOR BUT ARROGANT SERVICE: Had problem securing reservation within block of conference rooms [needed seven attempts], had problems with room on check-in [several broken items that needed repair ... including broken door security latch, broken lightbulbs that were never repaired, missing washcloths], had problem after check-out [a minibar charge posted day later to my credit card after checkout ... however, I never used minibar and could not even get it open on check-in ... one of the items that needed repair (e.g., wedging up unit) ... ergo, probably not checked after departure of previous guest(s)], problem with room charge to credit card [two identical holds put on card for same charge], expensive business center with limited hours of operation [$10 for 15 minutes], banquet food service terrible [plates were yanked away without asking, if you were talking to someone, even if you had a fork in your hand], small spots in room carpet [that certainly could have been spotted-out], after first night wrong side of bed turned down [should have remembered from first night], Front Desk did not care when I mentioned all problems, etc.

Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOWashingtonDCHotel, Resident Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C., responded to this review, April 28, 2010
Dear Sir,

I am happy that we had a chance to talk through the challenges you experienced while staying with us; it was a pleasure speaking with you. It is this important feedback that allows us to adjust our services to ensure guest’s needs are met and experiences exceed expectations.

We are looking forward to your return visit and thank you again for your constructive feedback.

Kind Regards,

Robert Lowe
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palisades Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

Hotel staff were friendly and accommodating but overall stay disappointing for MO brand hotel. We were there for the Cherry Blossom season and it's perfect location for quick walk to the tidal basin area but a little tricky to navigate across bridge by railroad and under the railroad and definitely not recommended at night. Views from rooms facing south were ok but highway and active railroad right next to the hotel. We were able to see the fireworks show on the river. Walk to the National Mall probably 5-10 minutes but there is no decent options for food and entertainment in the area. Probably better off in hotels north of the mall if you're looking for entertainment options. Breakfast buffet was mediocre and service very slow in the Sou'Wester restaurant. Spa was in need of repair so steam room out of service and luke warm 'plunge pool' had tiles falling off. Overall disappointing stay but no other good options for hotels near the tidal basin so if you want to stay at a decent hotel for the blossoms, this is it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
National Mall
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 807 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Willard InterContinental Washington
Downtown / Chinatown
Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,457 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Park Hyatt Washington
Park Hyatt Washington
#6 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,197 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#17 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C.

Address: 1330 Maryland Avenue, SW, Washington DC, DC 20024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C. 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel's unique location on the southwest waterfront makes Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C. The only hotel offering views of the Jefferson Memorial and Washington Monument, Tidal Basin and Washington Marina. In addition to exceptional accommodations and gracious service, the hotel features the Forbes Four-Star Spa at Mandarin Oriental, Muze, with locally sourced, Asian-inspired fare and fabulous views, and the AAA Five Diamond CityZen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Washington d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Washington Dc
Mandarin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.