We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Mandarin redeems itself” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C.

Save Saved
You added Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C. to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C.
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1330 Maryland Avenue, SW, Washington DC, DC 20024   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Daily Dining / Spa Credit
Ranked #35 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The Mandarin redeems itself”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at the Mandarin when the DC area suffered a major power outage and it was an unpleasant experience all round as the hotel was slammed and under staffed. We were given a "do - over" due to the circumstances which I appreciated and we took advantage of it recently. The room was as requested with a rollaway. The bar experience before dinner was excellent and the service was what we expected on the first stay. The front desk was extemely hospitable and we felt much, much better after the second stay. Yes, $40 (mandatory) concierge and $15 internet (I hate that one more) is expensive after you paid full rate for the room - I do wish they would look at that. However it is the Mandarin Oriental after all and if the service is up to par, it won't sting that much. We all have the opportunity to stay somewhere less expensive if that is the prime motivation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    368
    219
    86
    51
    24
See reviews for
149
180
48
245
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed at the Mandarin a couple of months ago for a short work trip and was very impressed.

The service was excellent. I left my computer charger at home and the concierge (I believe her name was Lynn) was kind enough to loan me her personal charger.

The property itself is beautiful. My room had a stunning view of the Potomac and was well furnished The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was incredible. I also had access to the Tai Pan club, and enjoyed a very nice breakfast there.

The only downside is that the location is somewhat removed. Also, the room service lunch I had was mediocre (but quite pricey). I should mention that the ABA rate I got was pretty reasonable, so make sure to check that rate if you are a member.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed here over the holidays for one night. We had a premium water view room which was small and had stains on the furniture. The bar in the lobby was nice but freezing. Room service was just average. You have to pay for wifi and it is not very strong! Parking $50 for one night! Did not feel like it was the luxury experience you would expect from the mandarin. We will try the ritz or four seasons next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Mandarin Oriental here in Washington DC for New Years Eve. The hotel is beautiful, however the service was surprisingly bad. We stayed at the hotel soecifically for their New Years Eve Party, however the hotel concierge nor the hotel staff had any information about their New Years Eve event despite posters being placed throughout the hotel advertising the event. After we waited 20 minutes for an answer, the concierge told us the event was sold out. Later on I called the hotel lounge manager and was able to make a reservation for the party which WAS NOT SOLD OUT. The concierge apparently just told us the event was sold out because she didn't want to go to the trouble of finding out what was going on in HER OWN HOTEL. The service at the New Years Eve event was horrible. We were seated for about 15 minutes without being acknowledged by a server. I ended up going up to a waiter and asking for someone to be sent over. Apparently there was a mixup and our waitress didn't realize our table( #123) was her's. The food was decent, but later in the evening my wife ran into our waitress who was coming out of a stall in the restroom. The waitress was apparently very busy because she left without washing her hands. We have no idea what she did in the privacy of that stall, but she should have washed her hands no matter what. Needless to say, we called it a night. To top things off, the hotel charges $42 per night for parking. They don't bother to share that with you until checkout so beware. We won't be returning to this hotel....EVER

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

If you have a family DON'T stay here. We booked two nights for our NYE trip to DC with our kids. We splurged and booked concierge so we wouldn't have to buy breakfast and we would have some snacks. Well... imagine our surprise that on check in, we were told that the concierge lounge was closed for a month AS IT ALWAYS IS from Dec 15 - Jan 17 and to "compensate" us, the hotel was going to comp two breakfasts and give us $50 resort credit. I'm like "what about our kids - they were on the reservation too..." They didn't care - just cited the $50 resort credit. However, the thing is - this credit did not go far. It was $100 for 2 adults and 2 kids to eat breakfast buffet in the Sou'wester restaurant. $100. Seriously? The breakfast buffet consisted of scrambled eggs, potatoes, meats, french toast and bagel/pastries and was $32 for adults and $16 for children. That's it. There was a charge for juice, and an "upcharge" for omelet. Since when? The prices were ridiculous. Even though we were on concierge, we were still charged $15 a day for internet, and this had to be taken off our bill at check-out. $40/day Valet is mandatory. Also, each of the concierge rooms had an "honor bar" (makes no sense why this wasn't comped, because the concierge lounge was closed) and the drinks were $4/soda, $12 nuts, etc.

We did feel "nickeled and dimed" at the hotel. Everything was a charge, an upcharge, or additional fee. The hotel was just not family friendly --- this may be a plus for some guests or business travelers. We took the kids to the bar for dinner after a long day at the Smithsonian and there was very little "family friendly" dishes. We ordered the cheese plate to share ($23) and the antipasta plate - the cheese plate consisted of two types of blue cheese and brie, and the antipasta contained cured meats that were foreign to most elementary school kids. Our kids just stared blankly and ate 5 grapes.

The hotel was inconveniently located. It was not close to anything, even though all of the employees there acted like it was a "quick 2 block walk from the Smithsonian..." It isn't. You pretty much need to take a cab anywhere - but the good news is that it isn't pricey. Cost us $10 for our family of 4 to cab to the Capitol - not bad at all. The doormen and staff were all extremely friendly, but the hotel is NOT family friendly. Let's just say that the hotel TV has Al-Jazeera but not the Disney Channel or Nickelodeon.

Despite the constraints, the staff truly tried to help. We returned from a very windy day with kids with chapped lips. We called down to the front desk and asked if they had any chap stick or blistex - the concierge had security unlock the gift shop in order to send it up. However - they didn't sell it! What hotel store doesn't have chapstick for its guests? The CVS closed early, so hubby went over the next morning.

That said, I must say that we had an excellent room. Had a wonderful view of the Washington Monument (Note: no fireworks on NYE) and the bathroom was among the best we have had, wtih marble walls/floors and a TV next to the giant soak tub. The beds were doubles, but five star quality with down duvets and pillows. In short, an excellent and very comfortable sleep. We were welcomed the first night with marshmellows, M&Ms, chocolate and water bottles - but we did not see any of these items throughout our stay, and the water bottles were not replenished the next night (that was a surprise - everywhere we have ever stayed, we have had our water refreshed.)

There is now a Starbucks across the street, and a new sandwich shop just opened - but it looks like it is only open for lunch. It would be worthwhile for it to stay open later and compete with the ridiculous offerings by the Mandarin.

We look forward to going back to DC next year with our family... As for the Mandarin, we won't be back.

Room Tip: Go for concierge level over 4th of July to have incredible view of Washington Monument.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

I went on a business trip in December to Washington DC. My firm rented out a majority of rooms at the Mandarin. The check in was very nice as was the staff. The room was impeccable with a great big bathtub and separate shower. The bed was comfortable and I appreciated the writing desk and chaise they had in room. You have a great view of the city

The only two issues I had were the restaurants and location. I would've expected a restaurant with perhaps all oriental food but the one that had any oriental food was closed Sunday and Monday. It also had food that was all fluffed up and not regular oriental. The lounge had only 3 or 4 oriental items and the other restaurant has none.

The location was a bit off the beaten path but when you see the view from your window you will forget that part. They have a CVS across the street for any needs you may have (that's a perk).

All in all enjoy your stay at the Mandarin Oriental and take a dip in the tub.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Beautiful property. Large, clean rooms with a fantastic shower! Courteous staff. Large, indoor pool. Good restaurants and close walking distance to the smithsonian museums, capitol hill and other attractions. I would definitely recommend staying here, with children or without.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C.

Address: 1330 Maryland Avenue, SW, Washington DC, DC 20024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C. 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel's unique location on the southwest waterfront makes Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C. The only hotel offering views of the Jefferson Memorial and Washington Monument, Tidal Basin and Washington Marina. In addition to exceptional accommodations and gracious service, the hotel features the Forbes Four-Star Spa at Mandarin Oriental, Muze, with locally sourced, Asian-inspired fare and fabulous views, and the AAA Five Diamond CityZen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Mandarin Oriental, Travelocity, Otel, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Washington d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Washington Dc
Mandarin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.