We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“$50 for parking. Great experience otherwise.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C.

Save Saved
You added Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C. to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C.
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1330 Maryland Avenue, SW, Washington DC, DC 20024   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary 3rd Night
Ranked #36 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“$50 for parking. Great experience otherwise.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Shame on you for charging $50 to park my car. Seriously. I advise guests to use the garage next door for $20.

Otherwise, had a nice anniversary mini-vacation. Alex at the front desk was awesome and gave us a spectacular room vs the original room on the 2nd floor facing the train tracks. We booked through Amex Platinum and enjoyed the benefits. Service was excellent mainly. Pool is one of the nicest in the city but could be kept warmer (it was cold, probably for lap swimmers). Dinner at City Zen was just OK; breakfast at SouWester was great. Drinks in the Empress Bar were perfect - try the Sake-tini which is not on the menu but available.

My one complaint: I didnt sleep that well - mattress was worn in. Felt lumpy and cheap. Perhaps time to replace them. Compared to the Westin, W, Four Seasons mattresses, it was far inferior.

Room Tip: High floor away from train.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    383
    228
    89
    52
    25
See reviews for
155
186
49
260
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was a combination business and romantic getaway. I've always heard about the Mandarin Oriental experience and this was my first opportunity to try it first hand. To be honest I was skeptical at first about how suitable the hotel would be for a romantic getaway but I could not have picked a better hotel. For the business trip: the hotel is centrally located and not a nightlife scene so I could walk to my meetings during the day and could come back to a quiet but nice hotel. For the romantic getaway: when I booked my stay I mentioned that we were booking for a romantic getaway and had the hotel order roses for me. The staff was gracious enough to give us complimentary champagne and chocolate dipped strawberries as a way to welcome us!! The service was impeccable and really the only suggestion I have for them is that there should be more than one person to check guests in and out of the top floor. I booked one of the deluxe rooms with an amazing view of the various landmarks and on the floor there was only one associate for checking in and out. We ended up waiting nearly 20 minutes to check in as the attendant was helping a guest with something else.

TIP 1: when you book, get the room with the view of the Jefferson Memorial as that will let you see up to Congress and down to the Lincoln Memorial and almost everything in between.

TIP 2: if you want to visit the spa, don't wait till the last minute or you won't be able to get in.

Room Tip: Go for the Taipan floor and the view to the Jefferson Memorial.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Mandarin Oriental in DC lives up to the chain's reputation. From warm cider at check-in to hotel security confirming that I woke up by knocking on my door, when I didn't answer the wake-up call, this hotel will not disappoint. For business travelers: room service is efficient, delicious, and most of the menu is available 24 hours. I've not found a more relaxing ending to a long business trip. The DC location is out of the way a bit and not Metro accessible, but cabs are always out front.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The team working here is terrific, and they go out of their way to make your stay special. Tai Pan in particular is a great hotel lounge.The suite we had was oddly shaped; there were no comfortable sofas or seating locations in general. The bathroom had the shower enclosed in the tub area.The food is very good, especially CityZen.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This property was an awesome place to spend my sister's landmark birthday! We enjoyed great jazz in the lobby bar area. The property is close to lots of good food, fun and gorgeous waterfront views! We really loved the entire experience;)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I first must admit that I do not regularly stay at 5 star hotels on my travels so perhaps I am not the best person to write this review. I thought this hotel was very nice. The lobby is lovely and everyone who I worked there that I came in contact with was friendly. However, nothing stood out to me about this hotel that really would justify paying what they are asking (my husband had to go for work so we did not pay for the night we stayed here).

What I enjoyed: Again, everything is nice and the location is convenient and safe. Newspapers are delivered in the morning. The bathrooms are quite large and the shower is outstanding - excellent pressure. The beds were also very comfortable. It is also a very, very quick trip from Reagan airport as well (less than 10 minutes).

Not what I expected: The location, while safe, is isolated. I enjoy being more in the 'action' (and I know that downtown DC tends to be a lunch town) and this felt a bit away from everything. But if you prefer quiet, it is very quiet as there is nothing else around it. It is not a long walk to other places but it is also not right outside your door either (which I tend to prefer). The doormen were not very friendly either. I took the super shuttle from the airport (perhaps they do not get many people at this hotel arriving via super shuttle?) and the doorman pretty much ignored me, did not offer to get my luggage, briefly said hello and then proceeded to dress down my driver for pulling up in front of the hotel instead of to the side. I suppose for such a hotel I expected better service.

I didn't check out the spa which perhaps would make a difference in choosing the hotel. If I had my preference (and price was no object), I would prefer the Willard or Hay Adams - I think the locations are better. Again though, when I travel, I really just require a safe and clean hotel. To me it is a place to sleep and keep my stuff. Hotels are not what I am interested in when I travel. Please keep that in mind as you read my review.

Room Tip: If you want a view be sure to ask (and I am assuming, be prepared to pay). But many rooms just face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldwell, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Pick up the phone, they pleasantly greet you with your name "hello Mr. XxxX".
Valet and Bellhops know you by name upon returning from your excursions.
Rooms are typical 5-star. Good quality furniture and fairly sized rooms. I've had nicer 5-star hotels rooms though. Furnture is great quality and very comfortable. Good creature comforts.
Gift shop lacks the staple junk food. 2.5yr old little girl isn't going to eat gourmet chocolates and fancy rootbeer.
Pool, courtyard, and etc are exactly what you expect from a 5-star. Bathroom tub is sizable and provides a great relaxation.
Movie nights for kids and board games.
Room service is the best I have ever had. Received food in less than 20mins. Food quality bests than any in-room dining in other 5-star I've been to.
Was expecting the lobby to be more grand.
Overall, extremely pleasant stay. Will visit again when back in D.C.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C.

Address: 1330 Maryland Avenue, SW, Washington DC, DC 20024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#53 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C. 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel's unique location on the southwest waterfront makes Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C. The only hotel offering views of the Jefferson Memorial and Washington Monument, Tidal Basin and Washington Marina. In addition to exceptional accommodations and gracious service, the hotel features the Forbes Four-Star Spa at Mandarin Oriental, Muze, with locally sourced, Asian-inspired fare and fabulous views, and the AAA Five Diamond CityZen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Mandarin Oriental, Tingo, Expedia, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Washington d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Washington Dc
Mandarin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.