We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somethings great, others not so..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C.

Save Saved
You added Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C. to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Mandarin Oriental
and 6 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C.
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1330 Maryland Avenue, SW, Washington DC, DC 20024   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Third Night
Ranked #34 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Princeton
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Somethings great, others not so..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The team working here is terrific, and they go out of their way to make your stay special. Tai Pan in particular is a great hotel lounge.The suite we had was oddly shaped; there were no comfortable sofas or seating locations in general. The bathroom had the shower enclosed in the tub area.The food is very good, especially CityZen.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    352
    203
    81
    50
    24
See reviews for
139
168
46
235
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This property was an awesome place to spend my sister's landmark birthday! We enjoyed great jazz in the lobby bar area. The property is close to lots of good food, fun and gorgeous waterfront views! We really loved the entire experience;)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I first must admit that I do not regularly stay at 5 star hotels on my travels so perhaps I am not the best person to write this review. I thought this hotel was very nice. The lobby is lovely and everyone who I worked there that I came in contact with was friendly. However, nothing stood out to me about this hotel that really would justify paying what they are asking (my husband had to go for work so we did not pay for the night we stayed here).

What I enjoyed: Again, everything is nice and the location is convenient and safe. Newspapers are delivered in the morning. The bathrooms are quite large and the shower is outstanding - excellent pressure. The beds were also very comfortable. It is also a very, very quick trip from Reagan airport as well (less than 10 minutes).

Not what I expected: The location, while safe, is isolated. I enjoy being more in the 'action' (and I know that downtown DC tends to be a lunch town) and this felt a bit away from everything. But if you prefer quiet, it is very quiet as there is nothing else around it. It is not a long walk to other places but it is also not right outside your door either (which I tend to prefer). The doormen were not very friendly either. I took the super shuttle from the airport (perhaps they do not get many people at this hotel arriving via super shuttle?) and the doorman pretty much ignored me, did not offer to get my luggage, briefly said hello and then proceeded to dress down my driver for pulling up in front of the hotel instead of to the side. I suppose for such a hotel I expected better service.

I didn't check out the spa which perhaps would make a difference in choosing the hotel. If I had my preference (and price was no object), I would prefer the Willard or Hay Adams - I think the locations are better. Again though, when I travel, I really just require a safe and clean hotel. To me it is a place to sleep and keep my stuff. Hotels are not what I am interested in when I travel. Please keep that in mind as you read my review.

Room Tip: If you want a view be sure to ask (and I am assuming, be prepared to pay). But many rooms just face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldwell, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Pick up the phone, they pleasantly greet you with your name "hello Mr. XxxX".
Valet and Bellhops know you by name upon returning from your excursions.
Rooms are typical 5-star. Good quality furniture and fairly sized rooms. I've had nicer 5-star hotels rooms though. Furnture is great quality and very comfortable. Good creature comforts.
Gift shop lacks the staple junk food. 2.5yr old little girl isn't going to eat gourmet chocolates and fancy rootbeer.
Pool, courtyard, and etc are exactly what you expect from a 5-star. Bathroom tub is sizable and provides a great relaxation.
Movie nights for kids and board games.
Room service is the best I have ever had. Received food in less than 20mins. Food quality bests than any in-room dining in other 5-star I've been to.
Was expecting the lobby to be more grand.
Overall, extremely pleasant stay. Will visit again when back in D.C.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Elegant hotel and what you would expect for the price and reputation (my first time at this hotel group). Helpful staff and great service in all areas. My room was upgraded to a large 1 bed room with separate sitting area at no additional cost ($850 a night for the regular room - so not inexpensive!). Bathroom was roomy with rain-type shower, tub, and separate toilet area behind a glazed door. Had my shoes polished at no charge and returned in 60 minutes! I did not use the Spa, but walked through it to get to the gym. Nice gym equipment and clean with water, towels, and a trainer if you pay extra. I took a peek in the brightly light pool area. The hotel is within walking distance of the Mall and Smithsonian museums. Bed was just right and mostly soft pillows. With the curtains closed it was dark and I could control the temperature in the rooms for a great sleep. I had in-room breakfast of eggs, bacon, toast and coffee and it was warm and done right ($38). Also ate at the main lobby bar one evening and had a tasty burger, fries, and a coke for $30. Had to pay for internet at $15 a day and this is pricy and should be included for free. I would stay here again but the room is expensive but worth it if you can afford the price.

Room Tip: I was in suite 400 well away from the elevators and it was quite (fairly lond walk to get back to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The hotel location is not great, just too isolated. Check in was a bit disorganized and no newspaper request was taken, although this was corrected without an issue the next morning. My room was a one bedroom executive suite with a rather odd layout, poor view and now looking dated and showing wear and tear. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom large and adequate and towel and sheet quality was excellent. Ordering room service for breakfast was not a very pleasant experience with an abrupt operator with a little too much attitude taking the order and incorrcetly at that, and then the order arrived 30 minutes late, again with an unsatisfactory interraction with the room service crew. When breakfast did arrive it was average, the fruit plate 80% melon, the only herb in the herb omlette was parsley, and the coffee was quite bitter. The hotel had a high traffic rather than overwhelming luxurious feel. The staff could do with soem direction as they are a little rough around the edges, and it shows.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

It's not as "5 star" as you would expect from a typical Mandarin, but this property is nevertheless very good. The bar/lounge is a bit small, but expensive (typical of a mandarin) at about $18-20 per drink, and $20-25 per "small plate of food". The rooms are very good, and the view of the river is worth the extra $30-60... it's just more pleasant. They do a turndown of your room in the evening, adding "mood lighting and music", as well as a bottle of water per person and a glass next to the bottle, to boot (which was a nice touch). I loved that they put a little towel on the sides of the bed for you to "take off your shoes" and step on. Like I said, small touches made all the difference. I would have stayed longer, if I could.

The one thing that I was a bit perturbed about was that I was carded by the bartended at the lounge... which is fine... but he was actually rude, and did not want to serve me. I was trying to get some 18 year old Oban, a drink most under 21 year olds would not want nor appreciate (nor pay for!). I politely told the guy that my ID was at the wedding downstairs, and I am 41, rattling off my birthdate.

He still said "no way". The women around me were 42, and were not carded. They did not know whether to be offended, or to just be flat out confused. We even shared our birthdays and some personal information. Clearly, I bonded with the women WHO WERE NOT CARDED, around me, and THEY BELIEVED THAT I WAS 41.

When I finally trecked back to the wedding (which was, on heels, a bit of a hike) and showed the guy my ID, he resentfully poured me a TINY pour. It was definitely NOT two fingerfuls. Another customer (she was 42 and offended she did not get carded, while I was given the hardest time ever) also agreed that the pour should be two fingerfuls in length.

In any case, the lounge disappointed. It wasn't as well run as my favorite Mandarin (the MO bar and lounge in Manhattan's Columbus Circle was my go to spot in my early 30's). However, it is nevertheless a good property, and very reasonably priced for a Mandarin (only $300/night)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C.

Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Washington d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental, Washington d.c. Hotel
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Washington Dc
Mandarin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Mandarin
Washington Dc Mandarin Oriental
Address: 1330 Maryland Avenue, SW, Washington DC, DC 20024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#42 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C. 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel's unique location on the southwest waterfront makes Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C. The only hotel offering views of the Jefferson Memorial and Washington Monument, Tidal Basin and Washington Marina. In addition to exceptional accommodations and gracious service, the hotel features the Forbes Four-Star Spa at Mandarin Oriental, Muze, with locally sourced, Asian-inspired fare and fabulous views, and the AAA Five Diamond CityZen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.