We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased with this hotel - 5 star, great service and close to attractions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C.

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C. to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C.
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1330 Maryland Avenue, SW, Washington DC, DC 20024   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Daily Dining / Spa Credit
Ranked #21 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very pleased with this hotel - 5 star, great service and close to attractions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Our stay was July 20-22nd, 2012. There were three of us, my husband and I and our youngest son, 10 years old. The purpose of our visit was a mixture of business and pleasure.

We loved our room with a great view of the Potomac, the Pentagon and Reagan Airport. We were on the higher floor in a Tai Pan room overlooking the Potomac.

We found the room to be quiet, very well appointed and within an easy walking distance to the in-town Smithsonian museums.

It rained almost every day of our stay and the valets and doormen were always there with an umbrella when you went out to see the sights or to retrieve you from your car when you arrived or left the hotel by car.

We had both room service and ate in the Sou'Wester restaurant.

I had the river trout in the Sou'Wester and our business companions had seafood entrees. Our son was well accommodated with chicken fingers. Each entree was perfectly hot, well plated and tasted fresh and good. The service was fast and professional.

It is one of my peccadillos that I judge a hotel kitchen by the quality of the room service. MODC didn't fail in this regard: I ordered a tuna nicoise salad, which arrived as the most inventive and beautifully plated dishes I've had in or out of a restaurant, let alone room service! I won't spoil the surprise for you if you order it but rest assured the presentation will impress you. Our son had a cheeseburger and fries that was nicely presented with freshly fried hand cut chips. Hubby had another fish dish which didn't last long enough for me to sample but was also nicely plated.

Our room was conveniently located near the Tai Pan hospitality room, where they served various hot and cold snacks and drinks throughout the day. This made it easy for us to take short breaks between museum forays and to stay refreshed day and night. The Tai Pan staff were always pleasant and accommodating, even as much to have a small, cold, glass bottled coca-cola ready for our son when he popped in twice a day. I'm on a low carb diet, our son is very picky and my husband is a fruit and carb eater and the Tai Pan Club breakfast pleased us all. We even met some new friends in the Tai Pan Club - an unexpected surprise!

I've stayed a week in the Mandarin Oriental in Bangkok and despite the cultural differences of Bangkok and DC, I did feel that the MODC is just as good in service and food quality as the Bangkok MO. Yes, there are fewer restaurants and the spa is a little smaller, however the spa is also not across the Chao Praya river from the hotel! We didn't visit the spa for treatments but did venture down to the pool and spa area and it was lovely.

Our room was always stocked with fresh towels and cleaned at least twice a day. I've uploaded photos to show you the room, the view and the gorgeous bathrooms - the master bath had a separate tub and shower enclave and was well designed with very good lighting and plenty of room for two to maneuver and primp. Our room had a separate bathroom with shower that our son immediately commandeered as his own. He also made good use of the free wifi in the Tai Pan rooms to play computer games (!) in the evening.

Beds were very comfortable and the pillows were fresh smelling and clean (another peccadillo of mine: I demand fresh linens and good pillows). I usually bring slippers for the room but didn't feel I needed them in this room as the carpet was very clean.

All in all, we felt that we got good value for money and had a lovely time.

Room Tip: If the desk staff don't offer you a free upgrade, ask for a paid upgrade which will more than pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    294
    107
    61
    28
See reviews for
217
243
54
387
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Hotel is beautiful and most of the core services are top notch, but customer service took the weekend off. General observations: took multiple attempts for someone to answer the main operator number (appears the hotel was understaffed at the front desk and in other front line service areas), wireless internet not working in our room nor in the Tai Pan club, complete lack of follow up from the on duty manager over two nights, and white dust/dirt all over the driver side floor mat/console area of our vehicle at valet checkout. Background: called main operator number regarding wireless internet problem, transferred to an offsite help desk (between hold and trouble shooting time wasted almost 30 minutes), an unidentified hotel employee called the room around 2100 and told us IT was unable to repair the problem and we would need to change rooms for internet access (move my 9 month pregnant wife at that late hour? after more back and forth, told it would be resolved the next day), after a relaxing morning at their beautiful spa returned to the room and still no internet, stopped at the front desk on way out of the hotel for the afternoon (no knowledge of the internet problem and the lady explained it was probably my fault for not accepting the charge during the wireless configuration process...she had no clue and clearly did not understand anything about the issue, but assured me it would be resolved and someone would follow up....NO follow up...NOT even an explanation after my third contact). I finally gave up and did my business over the telephone. Upon checkout, my driver side vehicle floor mat was covered in a white dust/dirt. Valet was very apologetic and explained someone probably made the large mess the night before during a rainstorm...valet cleaned up the best he could with some towels/water and I departed with a very messy vehicle. Only plus for their weekend customer service was their Club Concierge who was pleasant and helpful. Minus that positive impression, a complete customer service failure! We selected Mandarin for relaxation, but departed with frustration. We will definitely consider going back to Georgetown Ritz before spending another $1,500 weekend at this Mandarin location. Not the norm for Mandarin's other properties...

Room Tip: Avoid low floor on train track side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

I am ususally a big fan of MO's. This one is clealy two notches (at least) below any other at which I have stayed. It has a poor location, but the problem goes beyond that. It appears as if they are operating it to not lose money instead of the usual high touch high quality hotel. Frayed carpets on the door jam in my room, shower drain loose, never got the W Post I requested for the two mornings I was there. Just an OK hotel and that is not aceptable for their reputation.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Check-in was prompt and we were upgraded to a water view room. The view was amazing, especially at night. The room was wonderful, inviting, fresh smelling and very quiet. My only suggestion would be to add a coffee maker in the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

no one greeted us as we drove in. no one offered to take our bags. it was late afternoon and we were the only car in the (hard to find) driveway. the lobby was undergoing noisy construction.
the room was small and had the most uncomfortable sofa for casual seating. it has spoiled our opinion of all future mandarin oriental bookings-- even though we have stayed at other hotels with that name.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stayed 4D/3N and I could have stayed longer. Check-in was prompt and I was automatically upgraded to a water view room. The elevator arrived quickly and as I walked to my room, I admired the lavish carpet and the details in the hallway. I immediately knew that I was in a high quality hotel as each room had a door bell, electronic do not disturb buttons and daily turn down service.
The room was immaculate with a view of the water, but I fell in love with the bathroom. It was fit for a queen; marble throughout the floor and shower and I love huge tubs and huge walk in showers surrounded by glass. As a frequent traveler I can appreciate the small things like the amenities that you normally have to request at other hotels…..at the Mandarin they’re already available in the room: cotton balls, ear swabs, nail filer, shoe buffer, all of the hair and bath necessities and drawers to store your items (grooming and clothing). I particularly loved this as I don’t like to leave my hair irons or personal items on the bathroom counter so, I normally store them in the suitcase or tuck them underneath the vanity if there is space. There is plenty of drawer space and huge mirrors throughout the room. I also liked that the television had so many channels and most hotels will skimp on this, but trust me the channel selection is great. There is also a dvd player and a small cd/radio player.
I didn’t experience what other travelers did-feeling like they had to tip or forced to be serviced. When I asked the bellman for advice on taking a taxi or train to the airport, he suggested the train as it would save time and money. The staff was great. They always smiled and if you forget your phone charger, like I did, the concierge has a charging station available. You will notice that the staff holds the property in high regard due to its name and the crop of guests that stay here. As others mentioned, there aren’t many places to eat or grab things, only Potbelly, Starbucks and a CVS.
As it was time to check out, what I liked the most was that I didn’t get the bill underneath the door and I didn’t feel rushed to leave. I asked the concierge to charge my phone while I walked to get breakfast prior to checking out and I was asked about my stay and if I was being pampered enough. I happily replied: yes. I would recommend this hotel and I would return.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view/upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This was my first time staying at a Mandarin Oriental property and it was wonderful! I was greeted warmly when I arrived - they gave me a little lavender scented towel upon check-in. When I got to my room, I had an amazing view of the Potomac River. There was a bathrobe and slippers in my room - also, the bathroom had a tv. It was amazing! I ordered room service and they rang the bell on my door to alert me that they were there. Very cool! I definitely want to stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOWashingtonDCHotel, Public Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C., responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear MnPremo,

Many thanks for your positive feedback regarding your stay! We appreciate hearing that you enjoyed your visit and all of the service nuances that we strive to provide.

Please come back and visit us soon!

Kind regards and safe travels,
Mandarin Oriental, Washinton D.C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
National Mall
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 801 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Willard InterContinental Washington
Downtown / Chinatown
Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,449 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Park Hyatt Washington
Park Hyatt Washington
#6 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,189 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#17 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C.

Address: 1330 Maryland Avenue, SW, Washington DC, DC 20024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C. 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel's unique location on the southwest waterfront makes Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C. The only hotel offering views of the Jefferson Memorial and Washington Monument, Tidal Basin and Washington Marina. In addition to exceptional accommodations and gracious service, the hotel features the Forbes Four-Star Spa at Mandarin Oriental, Muze, with locally sourced, Asian-inspired fare and fabulous views, and the AAA Five Diamond CityZen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Washington d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Washington Dc
Mandarin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.