We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taft Bridge Inn

Save Saved
You added Taft Bridge Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Taft Bridge Inn
2007 Wyoming Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20009   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 49 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Houston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Even though we visited during the Government shut down and were very disappointed, the staff at the Inn had many suggestions for things to do and see. Our room was lovely, breakfast was always very good and it was nice to hear what the other guests were finding to do since everyone's plans had to be modified. The owner of the Inn and her staff were very friendly and were there to help whenever needed. If we ever get a chance to come back to DC I would definitely stay here Again. Beautiful old home in a great location, well priced and very close to public transportation.

Room Tip: Room 11 is on the first floor for easy access. Helps if you have larger prices of luggage. It also h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaftBridgeInn, General Manager at Taft Bridge Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for the kind review and we are so sorry that the shutdown was happening during your visit. Hopefully you can come back and see Washington at a better time-we would love to have you visit again with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    241
    51
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
36
45
52
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I was lucky to end up at the Taft Bridge Inn in late September 2013 after I found that I couldn't get a room for under $200/night at the Hilton or Doubletree in Dupont Circle. My room (18) was spacious and had a tasteful Asian motif. The bed was big and firm, although the pillows were flat and lumpy and could use replacing. The shower in the large en suite bathroom had perfect water pressure. The highlights of my stay: (1) a gourmet breakfast prepared every morning by Yoshie, the inn's charming owner, or her lovely assistant, Jennifer, and (2) the inn's location. The Taft Bridge Inn is on a quiet street just a few minutes' walk from the shops and restaurants of Adams Morgan and Dupont Circle. The Dupont Circle Metro stop is about 10 minutes away by foot. The next time I go to DC on my own or with my husband, I'll happily return to this cozy and centrally located B&B.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed here in September and were impressed with the friendly staff and generosity of the owner and manager (they lent us their Metro cards). Also the guests of like mind from across the US and overseas who contributed to great breakfast conversations. The room was comfortable but we would have liked to have opened a window as the aircon was noisy.
The overall atmosphere is fantastic and the breakfasts were the best we had during our tour of the US east coast. It is very conveniently located for public transport and good restaurants within walking distance (especially the French). We will definitely stay here again if we're back in Washington. Many thanks to Yoshi, Jennifer and Louis. Helene & Lindsay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaftBridgeInn, General Manager at Taft Bridge Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thanks so much for the kind words and we hope you make it back this way someday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at the Taft Bridge Inn for four nights the last week of September. We were warmly greeted by Louis, and given a beautifully presented delicious breakfast the next morning by Yoshie, the owner of this lovely inn.
The inn is well appointed with comfortable sitting areas, dining room and relaxing bedrooms. Our room had a terrace where it was great to enjoy a glass of wine and some relaxation after busy days sightseeing.
Metro, buses and a variety of restaurants are in close proximity and Jennifer answered any questions we had in addition to providing excellent breakfasts and home-made banana bread.
We enjoyed great breakfast conversations in the morning with other guests and were pleased to meet repeat visitors, which in itself speaks volumes regarding this B&B.
Yoshie, Louis and Jennifer, thanks so much again for you warm hospitality and making our stay in D.C all the more enjoyable. We look forward to meeting again.
Warm regards,
Kathie & Bob

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We needed a place to stay for a couple of days in DC and decided on Taft bridge inn. That was a good choice. Great location, parking (for a reasonable fee), close to the metro, lots of restaurants within walking distance.

The host was very friendly and we enjoyed the breakfast. Rooms were very nice though the AC was a bit noisy.

We highly recommend this place and will go back next time in DC!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

It has been a pleasure staying at Taft Bridge Inn. Perfect location, very friendly ownership, good breakfast. I had the shared bathroom, which was absolutely fine. My room was tiny, but clean and well kept. I particularly enjoyed the bench on the front porch - a perfect way to end the day.

Room Tip: 21 is very small, but good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was our first trip to DC and decided on a B&B instead of a hotel. I can't say enough about our stay at the Inn. From the historical home to the people who made our visit so special. Jennifer who prepared our breakfast each morning, always helpful with places to see, how to get around town, and making us feel so welcomed. We met so many interesting people from around the world each morning at breakfast. The hardest part was saying goodbye on our last day at the inn. It was like spending time at a good friends home. Thank you all at the Taft Inn for making our trip so special. Already miss the delicious breakfasts. Pam & Ruben

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaftBridgeInn, General Manager at Taft Bridge Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
You two were just the best! We loved having you stay here and hope you make it back to Washington some day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taft Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taft Bridge Inn

Address: 2007 Wyoming Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taft Bridge Inn is a carefully restored, turn of the century Georgian mansion located in the heart of Washington DC. The Inn combines the charm and beauty of an earlier era with the modern conveniences of home and office at your fingertips. Located in the fashionable Kalorama District within walking distance of the Dupont Circle Metro Station and downtown Connecticut Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Taft Bridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taft Bridge Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taft Bridge Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.