We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, safe and cozy place to stay in DC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taft Bridge Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Taft Bridge Inn to your Saves list
Taft Bridge Inn
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2007 Wyoming Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20009   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 33 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Maine
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful, safe and cozy place to stay in DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I have stayed at the Taft Bridge Inn on three separate occasions and each time it has been a great place to stay. The Inn itself is classic and beautiful, including the front garden. There is a nice variety of attractive rooms to choose from, depending on your taste and budget. The location is in a safe and handsome neighborhood full of foreign embassies and the architecture and lush trees and plants in the area make for beautiful walks. I love the Taft Bridge Inn and wholeheartedly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    55
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
37
52
55
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

This is a wonderful place to stay while staying in the downtown DC area. It's located a short walk from the Dumont metro station and is a great alternative to the nearby Hilton.

This B&B is a warm and charming place. The rooms are clean and well appointed, the staff very friendly, and breakfast is nicely done (and tasty!). The Inn is quiet and I found that any question I had was quickly answered. They have a membership with a local gym which is free for guests to use.

On a minor downside, the room I stayed in was lacking enough electrical outlets so you may need a powerstrip if you have several items that need to be plugged in. Also, they tend to go a little too much with low power lightbulbs - I had to have all the lights on to get the room bright enough.

I heartily recommend a stay at the Taft Bridge Inn. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaftBridgeInn, General Manager at Taft Bridge Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thanks so much for letting us know about wanting power strips, We read this and immediately went and purchased some for the rooms that needed them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

was concerned when first booked that may be too far out but only 10 mins to dupont circle metro and 10 to 15 more to main sights. Lots of restaurants to chose from within same distance. Lovely old inn, Jennifer and Yoshie very welcoming , nothing too much trouble. I was not feeling well when arrived so Jennifer did me fresh fruit for breakfast whilst hubbie tucked into fresh pancakes one morning quiche another, nice size , have often felt overwhelmed at breakfast in other American stops but excellent quality. Rooms elegant and bed supremely comfy, hot water took a while to come on but as long as patient no issue. WI if was a bit intermittent so made looking stuff up more difficult but if we had asked at the desk sure they would have done this for us. A far cry from bland business hotels and would highly recommend if you are ever in washington

Room Tip: as on a quiet street so even facing the road was not a problem , all rooms are very individual ours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Taft Bridge is a lovely B & B in a great DC location. Breakfasts were delicious and everyone was so helpful. It's perfect for walking to restaurants and DuPont Circle, yet set on a quiet street. Our room was very comfortable and we would definitely stay here again. What a wonderful break from big hotel chains.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaftBridgeInn, General Manager at Taft Bridge Inn, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
It was an absolute pleasure having you stay here and we hope you come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I stayed at the Taft Bridge Inn recently and it was just the perfect place to stay. Everybody was extremely friendly and helpful - whenever I had a question or needed advice they were happy to help out!
My room was a single bedroom with a shared bath. Sharing a bathroom wasn't a problem at all. Not only that I never had to wait or line up - the bathrooms were also very clean. My room was nicely decorated and felt like a home during my stay in DC. The house itself is very quiet. I never had any trouble with noise. But if you are looking for company there is a great common room downstairs where you can meet people or just read one of the many books and magazines they have. The impressive mansion has a historic character with very lovely antique furniture and a lot of charm.
The neighborhood is quite but Dupont Circle and the whole Adams Morgan bar/restaurant neighborhood are in 10 to 15 minutes walking distance. The are also several buses that go downtown but if you just want to explore the city you can easily walk to the main tourist spots (White House, Mall...) within 30/40 minutes. Two metro stops (Dupont Circle and Woodley Park - both red line) are in walking distance.
So, if you plan to stay in DC and don't want to live in characterless hotel - Taft Bridge Inn is the place to choose.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Taft Bridge Inn is my "home away from home" whenever I visit DC for an overnight or multi-day stay. Located on a quiet street just a 10-minute walk north of Dupont Circle, Taft Bridge Inn offers very comfortable lodgings in lovely rooms. The breakfasts are outstanding and can be tailored for individual preferences. The Washington Post is always available in the morning for guests. The staff is exceedingly friendly and works hard to make one's stay pleasurable. And you cannot beat the price.

Room Tip: The shared bath arrangements work very well and will save you money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaftBridgeInn, General Manager at Taft Bridge Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We so appreciate that you have been staying with us all this time and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I recently stayed at the Taft Bridge Inn while waiting for furniture to arrive at my new apartment in DC. I have stayed at several B&Bs in the district before on short trips and this one is by far the best that I have been to.

The historic mansion is beautiful with a lot of character in the common areas and the rooms. Someone obviously spent a lot of time making sure the decor and design of the interiors was as welcoming and comfortable as possible.

I originally booked room 19 (one of the cheaper options) with a shared bathroom. Upon arrival I was offered a room upgrade to a room on the second floor with a private bath for only $10 extra a night (The room I was upgraded to would normally have been $60 more a night). While I don't mind having the shared bath the cheap upgrade was certainly appreciated.

The inn seems to draw an interesting international crowd. I had breakfast with an orthopedic surgeon from Luxembourg and his family and a Norwegian oil driller...all of whom provided excellent conversation to start off the day.

The breakfasts were phenomenal and the staff genuinely cared about making something each morning that the guests wanted to have rather than just imposing a fixed choice. Pastries and drinks were set out in the afternoons and were a tasty and refreshing addition.

All in all I have nothing bad to say about the Taft Bridge Inn and will definitely recommend it to anyone visiting the District.

Room Tip: Room 18 is beautifully decorated with an oriental theme, wall panels, and deep red walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Taft Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taft Bridge Inn

Address: 2007 Wyoming Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Taft Bridge Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taft Bridge Inn is a carefully restored, turn of the century Georgian mansion located in the heart of Washington DC. The Inn combines the charm and beauty of an earlier era with the modern conveniences of home and office at your fingertips. Located in the fashionable Kalorama District within walking distance of the Dupont Circle Metro Station and downtown Connecticut Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Taft Bridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taft Bridge Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taft Bridge Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.