We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in DC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taft Bridge Inn

Save Saved
You added Taft Bridge Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Taft Bridge Inn
2007 Wyoming Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20009   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 49 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First time in DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I stayed in the room right next to the front door and didn't have any trouble with noise which was a very pleasant surprise! I like firm beds and this bed fit the bill wonderfully - I slept very soundly all three nights. I only ate breakfast there once because I was up and out very early most mornings but the breakfast I did have was delicious! Made hot and fresh just for me. If I end up back in DC I will definitely be staying here again. Wonderful atmosphere, great location and friendly hosts. And the price is pretty great, too!

Room Tip: I had a private bathroom which was great, but the place is so clean I don't think I would have m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    52
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
36
45
53
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Had a very good recent stay at the Taft Bridge Inn. It's in an ideal location on a quiet leafy street yet walking distance to Dupont Circle. Decor is Japanese influence and quite sophisticated. Excellent breakfast and service, beautiful rooms. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Took my niece to DC to visit colleges, etc. We stayed in a twin room with a shared bathroom. While the beds were terribly uncomfortable, everything else at the B&B redeemed this essential problem. Jennifer is a great host and made delicious breakfasts. Much appreciated were the afternoon freshly-baked goods. Never had a problem with the shared bath. The uphill walk to the B&B was hard to do in the summer swelter of DC but taking a bus or a taxi solves that problem.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaftBridgeInn, General Manager at Taft Bridge Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thanks for the kind words, quick note-as everyone likes a bed either hard or soft, and even in between, we can add or take away memory foam for your comfort, just please let us know as we hope you visit with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I stayed at Taft Bridge three nights during a downtown convention, because the convention center hotels were full. I will absolutely stay there again next time. The house is lovely, my room with private bath was very pretty and comfortable (and a third the price of the downtown hotels). Jen, the manager, was very helpful with all sorts of local recommendations, from transportation to a great park for running. The neighborhood was also fun.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I stayed there for 3 days on a business related trip from France, as I’m fed up with “branded” type hotels who all look and feel the same, with impersonal and lukewarm welcome.
Jennifer is a fantastic host, amenities are fine and you can still have your privacy if wish to.
What else can I say ? I’ll be back…

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaftBridgeInn, General Manager at Taft Bridge Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
It was great having you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Elmo, Minnesota, U.S.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The Taft Bridge Inn is a lovely mansion built in 1902 and since updated and turned into a bed and breakfast. The furnishings fit with the period of the house. My room was clean and comfortable. Jennifer and Louis answered all of my questions and provided very good recommendations when I asked for them. They went the extra mile in the niceties that make all the difference. The inn is walking distance from more good restaurants than I could sample in a week of lunches and dinners. The breakfast at the Inn was wonderful. I don't get to DC often, but when I do return, I will stay at the Taft Bridge Inn.

Room Tip: I stayed in the bedroom on the first floor. I wondered whether I'd hear people talking in the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed 7/6/13 through 7/11/13 - this is a great place! The manager, Jen, is the perfect combination of first class service and old friend comfort. The house is amazing and well located for anything you are doing in the city. Best advice we received from the staff - catch bus 42 around the corner, it will take you to the metro, save your walking for the fun stuff! Staying here made a wonderful trip fabulous! Don't miss out on the Taft Bridge Inn!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaftBridgeInn, General Manager at Taft Bridge Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind review and we loved having you stay with us! Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taft Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taft Bridge Inn

Address: 2007 Wyoming Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taft Bridge Inn is a carefully restored, turn of the century Georgian mansion located in the heart of Washington DC. The Inn combines the charm and beauty of an earlier era with the modern conveniences of home and office at your fingertips. Located in the fashionable Kalorama District within walking distance of the Dupont Circle Metro Station and downtown Connecticut Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Taft Bridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taft Bridge Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taft Bridge Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.